Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
    6. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    J

    I will not return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Reviewed by J on Dec 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not come here. My number one reason for picking this place was for the heated pool that is advertised. Sadly there is no heated pool and it is too cold to swim without it. There are very few people in the pools and each time someone goes in they make that face of shock from how cold the water is. The service is no where as good as I've recieved in the past in Mexico. Many of the staff have poor English skills so it's hard to communicate sometimes. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel. Paying for the upgrade to privileged makes you think you get a special Beach and bar as advertised but it's not true. We have been to these areas and there are full of non privileged guests. The staff do not monitor who is using these areas. Why was I charged for this service that everyone else is getting without paying for?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11751 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing place

    Reviewed by michellevastin(Burnley, United Kingdom) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just spent 10 days here and it was AMAZING. Loved everything about this place, staff lovely polite and will do anything for you, food not one complaint loved all different restaurants and Buffett’s. pools,loungers great never had a problem getting one, room we went premium and was worth it spotless and cleaned every day. Entertainment great something on all day and at night. All bars brilliant. Spa amazing best massage Iv ever had.. First time in Mexico and I was not disappointed loved the place and will definitely be back.. well done to all at this resort for making my holiday the best.

    Great Vacation

    Reviewed by travelingman300952() on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned from 2 fantastic weeks vacation, the staff are really hard workers and will go out of they way to help. the rooms are clean and tidy, the buffet was good with a good selection, the beach had a lot of see weed so spent all the time in the pools but you had to arrive early to find some loungers, i could not understans why the bars closed early. We had a great time and will return again in the future.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great time

    Reviewed by Maps17074992968(Yellowknife, Canada) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our time at the resort. Location is close to Playa del Carmen and public transit is pretty easy. The staff were great and good food. We were limited on how many times we could eat at the themed restaurants but the buffet was good. THe only downside was the beach. It was seaweed season and so the water was not swimmable and the smell was strong. That meant the pool was packed and you had to wake up at 5am to get a pool chair. Also the bars closed early in the evening. The rooms were great and even though the resort was at 95% capacity it didn’t feel crowded. It was small enough that you ran into people you met regularly. We may come again but definitely not in May. It was too hot and the seaweed season is apparently from Late April to September.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Very pleasant hotel in gated resort

    Reviewed by Kira W(Pontypridd, United Kingdom) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This isn't a luxury, 5 star hotel but it is very pleasant and was appropriate for the money that I paid. There are 2 sister hotels next door to each other and they feel as one allowing for a bit more space to wander around and choice of bars and pools. There is a small beach area but the seaweed is a large problem so you are more likely to swim in one of the few pools. The gardens are very nice and lead up from the beach to the low-rise blocks of rooms and the main building. As well as the buffet restaurant in each hotel there are some A la carte restaurants with a number of visits allowed per week.. Food was pretty good in the buffet with choice of mexican and international meals. We enjoyed the show cooking in the Japanese restaurant, but I don't think the main course was quite authentic. The food in the Mexican A la carte was fantastic! Very worth going and an atmospheric restaurant as well. Our room was simple but quite comfortable and we had a pleasant balcony that overlooked the gardens. Overall it was a very enjoyable holiday. The location of this hotel is also very good as it is in a quieter area than Cancun but still within a gated community of hotels, holiday apartments, bars and restaurants. There are also dolphins being trained down the road, which you can walk to and watch without paying to enter a water park.

    Wouldn’t recommend

    Reviewed by Trek68020395687(North Vancouver, Canada) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Too many issues throughout the week - felt like we were majorly catfished by the photos and website. Pools are small and crowded, entertainment was terrible, beach wasn’t useable. The food was good, so if that’s your main focus then give this place a shot I guess.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX