Hyatt Ziva Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 9634 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good Hotel, Great Location, Awesome Staff

    Reviewed by shackrock(Cincinnati, Ohio) on Oct 19, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First, mandatory "we went during COVID-19" note... COVID/MASKS: The hotel was at ~25% capacity due to Covid-19 and government regulations in Mexico. I assume this meant less staff, but of course also far less guests - which was welcomed for our relaxing stay. The hotel had sanitzer available throughout which was nice. We are very conscious about mask wearing as we don't want to contribute to the virus spread and do our part. The hotel required masks on the property. The staff was excellent about proper mask wearing - I never saw a single employee without one. The customers, however, were not. I'd say 95% of people on the property didn't wear their mask after they got there on the property. Of course I would expect this when dining, drinking, or at the pool with proper social distancing, but otherwise I was expecting mask wearing especially indoors. It was not enforced very well and I would say we were one of the only groups to wear the mask when walking around or indoors (except for dining/drinking). I wish that was a bit more enforced, actually, or that people were just more respectful when you're walking or sitting near others. THE PROPERTY/LOCATION/GROUNDS: Considering there was a hurricane a week ago, the property looked great. They were still cleaning up and repairing some things, but it didn't bother the stay or trip. The view is probably the best on the coast there, as the property is on the corner and has 75% views of the ocean. 2 large pool areas. 2 beach areas. One beach area is quite large and has a lot of chairs and umbrellas. The water and beach/sand is immaculate. The hot tubs (there were 2) did not work, they were the same temp as the pool, that was also a disappointment. THE STAFF: Amazing. Super attentive, super nice and respectful, as I noted always wearing masks, and genuinely great people that are nice to talk to! 5/5 for the staff. THE ROOMS: Quite clean. I am probably most picky about the rooms in most places I stay as the properties tend to age and maintenance/cosmetic repairs are hit or miss as time goes on. The room was in decent shape. It was a suite, and it had a balcony with a Jacuzzi on it. The windows didn't open which was a total bummer, but I think that must be common for the area due to high temp and humidity and AC costs. The Jacuzzi had a broken drain but it was fixed within 2 hours on request. The lights randomly wouldn't turn on one day, and maintenance fixed it, then it failed again, and they fixed again and it seemed to stay on. It was a problem in the electrical panel which is slightly concerning though. Nevertheless no real issue there besides not being able to use the restroom while the lights were broken (no windows, it's pitch black in the bathrooms). As is common in most hotels, the ventilation covers are pretty filthy. The bathrooms are a bit like a dungeon, I think in general the property is an old build/design and thus is quite simple/blocky/plane overall. The bathroom rooms did not have fans which I also think it a must have on vacation properties, HA! THE FOOD AND DRINKS: It's an all inclusive, and you can upgrade various drinks (wines mostly) and food options (like filet, lobster, some speciality things at the various restaurants). The food was hit or miss unfortunately, which is my #1 thing on these types of vacations. I'll try to go through each of them that we tried: * Moongate/Tepenyaki - this is basically your typical hibachi restaurant. Nothing too special. I thought the food was pretty poor here actually. The experience was OK overall. I give this a 3/10 and was not impressed with any of the food even though I typically love this style even though it's a bit corny at times. * Tradewinds - this is your steakhouse type restaurant. We upgraded to filet, and it was quite good. Cooked very nicely and the sides were decent. I would give 6.5/10 in the outside world, also had a great salad here. * Chef Table - this was the best experience of the vacation. Essentially a private dinner (up to 12 can book, but you will have your own table depending how ytou book it). It's an upcharge, ~$100 USD/ea after tip. I highly recommend doing it if you're a foodie. There are 6 courses and wines are paired to them. It was interesting, engaging, unique, and attempts to mimic a special fine dining experience for half the cost - and does a pretty good job at it.I'd give 8/10! * Lorenzo's - Italian. Great presentation but overall just OK. The hommade noodles were actually quite well made, but overall most of the flavors of each dish were lacking and needed more richness for that classic italian feeling. 5.5/10. * Habaneros - Mexican and Tacos - Really well made, everything on the menu we tried was excellent and authentic (obviously...) awesome flavor pairings and well executed. Also it's outside next to the beach in open air and is the perfect atmosphere. 8/10. * Chevy's - American - just typical american fair, inside it's like a 50's diner. Nothing impressive but they do execute the dishes just fine. I'd give it a 6/10. Nothing special though. * Other - There is Saasil which is the mixed-drinks bar. This is the best place to get any decent mixed drinks, they are all pretty good although quite sugary - but that's typical of any bar honestly. Not a ton of high end alcohol options. There is also the tequila bar downstairs which has a large tequila selection. The open restaurants/bars rotated due to COVID-19 and reduced capacity. THE SHOWS: There is something each night, some are kid-based. We watched the michael jackson one and the dancers must have been professionals. It was surprisingly well choreographed. We caught a glimpse of disney and others but weren't interested. The one thing I will say above all else is that the music is painful to my ears because it's all a 128 kbps MP3 or something. I highly highly highly recommend higher quality audio files since it's blasting over some pretty decent loudspeakers. It would really add to the experience. With the tingy audio coming from the speakers it really "Cheapened" the performances we saw/heard. An easy fix there would go a long way. THE ACTIVITIES: We participated in the workout-type activities each morning. One was yoga/palates on boards in the water. Very awesome. They also did a cycling class, it was OK but a lot easier and so it wasn't as much for us - also the bicycles had sticky feet pads and left our feet blue for a good 2 days. THE GYM: Very nice, well equipped. During COVID its 15 people only. I would recommend they block 2 treadmills and other cardio equipment in between instead of just 1, because nobody is doing that with a mask on and it s a great chance to spread germs. THE SPA: I didn't partake but wives did. It was nice they said, although not the best massages ever. Also highly priced ($120-$160 for 50 minutes vs. $60 back home). We also had to pay an extra $90 for a 2nd car to the airport since we departed at a different time from our friends. We stayed in a 2BR suite (at higher cost vs. 2 individual swim up suites), whereas if we booked 2 rooms separately it would have been included AND cheaper, thought that was a bit scammy but it is what it is. Overall, would go again, but likely at a cheaper price - I felt even with the 40% off discount it was a pretty pricey vacation. I wish the food was a bit better overall and we could get higher shelf drinks rather than unlimited quantity. I would like to pay the same for LESS of a HIGHER QUALITY in the alcohol department if it's all the same net costs to them. I may even pay a premium!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Lazy staff

    Reviewed by zyada15(San Diego, California) on Oct 19, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I really wished the staff was more accommodating. They move at a slow pace and occupancy levels are low. They are also rude. Rooms are not up to standard and are not clean. -Room wasn't cleaned for two nights that we stayed. Interestingly they took the tips we left but left everything dirty. We actually had to inform our butler to ensure our room was cleaned. -Room service food order was always missing actual ingredients on the dish. How do you forget the eggs and chicken on a breakfast dish that comes with eggs and chicken. Thanks for the breakfast chips! -Our clock and our tablet that you order in room dining for was down a whole day. When we informed the front desk they said we need to talk to our butler. Just fix it already. For the price we pay for each night you should just take care of broken things at your hotel. I shouldn't have to wait until the next day for my butler to fix it. -Rooms smell bad. Like a moldy, stale order. We had to request to change to another room and it wasn't much better from the first one. They ended up having to bring a diffuser to our room and a air humidifier. Ridiculous! -Rude staff at the bars. The main lobby bar we got completely ignored and they served others who came after us. The rooftop pool bar, had a server who sarcastically said see you in 5 minutes. We actually had to get up and go to the bar to get our drinks served. She should have been coming over to us with orders. Rude. I don't believe my husband and I will stay here again. Sad, because we've always traveled and stayed at Hyatt hotels in the past like Hotel Ziva in Montego Bay and the one in cabo. This cancun one left a bad taste in my mouth. Enough for me to take time out of my vacation in my room currently to write this review.

    Fantastic experience

    Reviewed by paintedfoxponies(Buchanan, Michigan) on Oct 18, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family went to Ziva on a last minute switch due to Covid closures. This resort was beyond exceptional. The staff is helpful and the most friendly we've ever experienced. The resort is beautiful and they clean constantly. The beaches are very nice and well maintained. Plenty of dining options available even with the rotation schedule. We had a TON of wonderful food and drinks. Both the waitstaff and bartenders are knowledgeable and quickly learn your preferences. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds. Mini fridge is well stocked and you can ask for extras as needed. We did attend several of the night shows and they were also very good. The staff did special decorations and champagne for my parent's anniversary ?. The care and attention to details is very apparent in every part of this resort. I highly recommend Ziva and will be a return customer

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best Wedding Preview Ever !

    Reviewed by suziloves2cook(Bronx, New York) on Oct 18, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Check-in I visited the resort for my wedding preview and was impressed from the moment I arrived to the property. I was greeted upon arrival by staff that welcomed me and walked with me to check in. At which point, check in with Ernesto was quick and easy and I was able to snack on fish fingers and other appetizers in the lobby. There is also a bar in the lobby (Club tower) and if you are so lucky, Alan will be there to prepare your drinks! Ernesto and Alan were so welcoming and eager to please that I could've stayed in the lobby with them all day and been very happy! Room & Amenities When we got up to the room (Club tower), we were blown away by the view! The view from the balcony was breathtaking and there was chairs and a table for us to sit out there and take it all in. On the table was a baggie with sanitizer and wipes which was so considerate but also a reminder that even in paradise we are still in a pandemic. The fridge had beer, water, soda and apple juice, fully stocked. The water at this resort was Bonafont, not Cristal which was perfect for me because I am not a fan of the strong taste in Cristal water. Bonafont is delicious! It's a minor detail but if you prefer Poland Spring to Evian, then you will understand. On day 2, we upgraded to the Turquoise Tower which was Adults Only. Our room was huge & absolutely gorgeous! The view from Balcony was even better than the Club Tower and the balcony was glass not cement like Club Tower. The bathroom had pretty amber lighting and prepackaged L'occitane products on the sink. The glass shower had rainfall shower head and about 5 people could fit in there! On your way in and out of the building there is a station with infused water and a turquoise drink... try it! Its delicious, coconut milk based i think. Pool & Beach We headed back downstairs to the pool and the water was warm, not cold. I loved that! The pool wasn't crowded, I could count on one hand how many people were in the pool. The beach was warm and shallow so we got to go really far out and still stand up. The resort offers jet skis by time or jet ski tours to isla mujeres or even a yacht for rental purposes! Bar & Restaurants The bar was well stocked! Hennessy was an included alcohol and it was at every bar, all the time, I didn't have to search for it (I have been to other resorts and they will offer Hennessy but only at certain bars at certain times). I had several mimosas and their house champagne was tasty! We dined at El Mercado for breakfast and I was impressed. Every station had plexiglass in front for covid purposes. There was fresh fruit, some I knew and some exotic ones I didn't recognize. Fresh fruit juices, pastry, egg station, traditional mexican dishes, pancakes, french toast, bacon and sausage were available. When I sat, someone with a hot chocolate and pastry station came around... delicious! We tried the hibachi experience at Moongate which was fun and tasty! I suggest the spring rolls and the steak and shrimp tapenaki. I visited Habaneros for lunch and wow! The fish tacos were yummy and fresh! I also tried the pork skin taco and I wanted more! We had Tradewinds for dinner and it was a true steakhouse experience. Excellent customer service from the moment you enter the restaurant! The sweet breads appetizer was small but very tasty! Casa cafe had amazing lattes and they decorated the foam, so talented! Pasteles was open late and had so many pastries to choose from. Wedding Preview This department is AMAZING! I planned my wedding preview way in advance and was in constant contact with Gabriella. She answered all of my emails promptly and she has extensive knowledge. I was welcomed with a mimosa and a welcome drink (Bob Marley) courtesy of Careasha, their most recent addition to the wedding department. She is experienced and an absolute gem! She is also Jamaican so I felt understood and right at home. Gabriella took us on a tour of the resort and showed us different locations for the wedding and reception. We passed one of the pools and were approached with a beautiful and tasty drink by one of the bartenders. We came back to the wedding office and met all of the vendors and saw what each had to offer. Careasha and Gabriella helped with ideas and tried to relay my vision to the vendors along with recommendations. Gabriella had a plate of pastries and lattes brought to the office which helped as a pick me up. After the vendors we went for our tasting and it was sooo good! The food was delicious and prepared in front of us at the chefs table. They closed out of preview with a walk through of the presidential suite and I was in love! I am sold on Hyatt Ziva! It is a must stay if you come to Mexico.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    MUCH NEEDED GETAWAY

    Reviewed by NellSuh(New York City, New York) on Oct 16, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our third time back to this resort-we went March 2019, came back in March 2020 right before COVID, and then returned in September 2020. Needless to say, it's one of our favorite spots. We came with our other travel family and the experience was amazing as usual. Traveling during a pandemic while pregnant and with kids may not be wise but with clearance from our doctors, we went ahead because we all needed a break. The hotel has really done a great job with taking the necessary precautions to make the guests feel safe. Reservations are required for all meals at the restaurants, which I thought would be an annoyance but it made it easier to not have to wait or run into other groups. We came to celebrate our son's 7th birthday and Alfredo at the Tower made sure he had a special day. They decorated the room with balloons and sweet Esperanza brought cake to our cabana-even the DJ gave him a shoutout. We were also celebrating our 8th wedding anniversary and Alfredo also made sure the room was decorated and provided us a bottle of champagne. Angel (Hibachi) is our favorite server of all time and he has always made sure we left the restaurant having had the best time---thanks to the shots! Jesus at Mercado is wonderful and he always took care of us with a smile. The staff at the dessert shop were so sweet and they tried to engage with the kids about Pokemon. We were able to book 4 massages for the adults and Lorena and Leticia were amazing. They made this prego feel so relaxed and even our friend who hates massages said that it was amazing. Finally, I have to shoutout Maria at the concierge desk. We had an issue with the cabana and she took care of it immediately. We were really happy with this trip and if you're able to go--book it and then quarantine for two weeks when you get home. It was the perfect mental break for us.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5