Planet Hollywood Beach Resort Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Planet Hollywood Beach Resort Cancun
    6. Planet Hollywood Beach Resort Cancun review

    What to expect (based on 118 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    New resort with not so new feel.

    Reviewed by Vrod25(Cleveland, OH) on Mar 04, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is a new resort that opened less than 30 days ago. We booked a two bedroom star class directors suite. It was only 4 of us, but the room is super spacious and can easily accommodate 6-8 guest. For a new resort, however my expectations were much higher than what we received. Our view was amazing (Oceanview) and the service was good... However I think the resort put more effort into technology that half works than the cleanliness. The large soaker tub in the master bath had black rings around the jets, letters were missing from the wall quotes, punctures in the bar stools and black spots in the bathroom. Also, we upgraded to star class as we thought it would have great perks. To my surprise really all you get is access to a private star class pool and you have personalized "concierge." All the concierge really does is reserve your dinner reservations. I've stayed at a sandals property and had a personalized butler. This by far was not even a comparable experience, nor can I justify the upgrade. Covid, coupled with just opening, I'd say the hotel is only running at 15% capacity with the majority of their rooms under construction and limited food and entertainment options. One thing I really didn't understand is why there is a liquor disposer in the room, however they will not stock your room with anything other than beer or wine. Let's talk the grounds. The not so "hot" tub is just a luke warm pool with jets that run for 10 seconds if you can get them to come on. The kids water area is a nice touch. There is also kids activity center that allows parents the opportunity to drop their children off for a few hours. There is lazy river on the resort with a bar along your route. If you are traveling international and are in need of a Covid test. The hotel does provide complimentary test for all passengers. The process was seamless, just remember to have your passport during the time of booking and testing. Overall I'd rate the hotel 3 out of 5. It was an average 4 star hotel that could use more tlc, since it's a new property.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Not pleasant check in, very poor food services

    Reviewed by vickypartridge(Houston, Texas) on Mar 04, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My husband and I arrived at 3:00 pm check in hour. We tried to enter our assigned room 3 times with no luck. We have to walked to the reception several times to reset the bracelets. After 3 hours walking to our assigned room finally we were able to go in. So we missed the time to be on the beach that afternoon. The hotel installations are not bad, but the beach is not clean, it has lot of plastic trash that can hurt your feet. The worst was the food and drinks. I don’t even have the words to express it, very, very , very poor quality for the price that you are paying. Even the flavor of coffee was awful! Probably made with I don’t not what but for sure was not coffee beans. Please make an effort to change all these concerns, because of you don’t... You are going to loose a lot of customers.

    Thanksss guys!!

    Reviewed by K9958YUmartinv() on Mar 03, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Awesome place to come at... Great entertainment, fun nights with Kevin, Alex Marco, Pao and all the crew Selza amazing energy with the kids. The place is a total knock out, it’s huge and has so much much stuff you can do, the silent party is hilarious you guys have to try it, as well the FlowRider is so much fun, we had a blast there with the instructors Alfonso and Mario, and well Kevin was always around making jokes and keeping the vibe cool. The pool staff was fabulous as well Roger kept the drinks coming and the party going all day, big shout out to him. Can’t wait to be back at Planet Hollywood

    Very little nightlife, slow service, watered down drinks

    Reviewed by Funfamily100() on Mar 02, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    It's a pretty resort..lots of potential but everything closes so early boooooo...if you have an excursion and come back by 8 well ALL the pools are closed and restaurants close by 9.. all other resorts we stayed had a buffet open until 11. Room service took 2 hours both times we ordered so order early. The food portions are small but you can order more... just expect to wait. The "extras" are pricey like the arcade and trampoline Park. Very disappointing because Moon.palace includes all of that. The dance club is mediocre only open from and Saturday boooooo. Drinks are watered down and we had no liquor in our room supposedly due to covid but when we booked it said we would have some. How the resort can improve: open the night club more nights and have later nights. Get a better system for room service..I can't imagine how long it will take when it's busy here! Have more late night activities...its vacation! We want to stay out until at least 1.. even karaoke closed at 11.. even bars in rural areas of the US stay open until 2 or 3. Have cheaper passes for the trampoline park and arcade. One more suggestion.. consider building a late night bowling alley like at the Grand. I wouldn't recommend this resort and many others staying here thatnhad stayed other resorts felt the same.

    Needs improvement

    Reviewed by statenislandmidland(New York City, New York) on Mar 02, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This Hotel opened 4 weeks ago; today is March 2021. I'll start with the good. I stayed in the Star Class Adult Section. The rooms are absolutely beautiful.building 12. The decor is so pretty. Food, entertainment, & staff are amazing, but they are all still learning. The bad is the AC is on ECO friendly; all the electricity shuts off when you leave your room. Be prepared to come to a sauna when you return to your room. No bathroom amenities, no shower cap, no razors, no sewing kit, or Q-tips. The mini fridge has only water & soda. No Beer. Room service is served in a paper bag in cardboard boxes. Beware the category you stay in Star Class. You get different amenities depending on the category, meanwhile their websites doesn't tell your this. Better amenities when youou are in a Producer or Executive Star Class. Best Server is ever DiDi!!! by the pool. Amazing, he made sure he took care of our needs all day long. Amazing Blanca server by the Cinima Bar, she was great. Mildred server by the pool is always helpful and getting you drinks, she is also great. Patrica (Toy Story)from Hotel Hospitality comes around and asks for feedback to improve their services very Helpful too. Don't expect top shelf liquor from this Resort. The only Vodka is Absolute & Stoli, No Titos, No Kettle One, No Coronas. No top shelf at all. This Hotel is 40 minutes from the Airport; cost is $50 taxi each way upto 4 people in the cab. I recomend bringing a toy that is battery operated so its constantly moving in your room when you leave so the sensor picks up motion & doesn't shut off your AC. Even when you sleep and you dont move the AC shuts off??????