Gran Muthu Imperial

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 94 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great resort, very quiet but fun and relaxing

    Reviewed by LarissaB677(Toronto, Canada) on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Initially our vacation started here, we arrived here june 14. Now that being said there is nothing wrong with this resort, the staff are great, people are friendly and rooms are nice. We did have a hiccup with our friends room, they had two doubles instead of one king ocean view, their AC has to be flipped, the safe had to be fixed, but it was not a deal breaker for myself. Resort itself was nice and clean, only thing i would say is beach in order to get a decent spot you have to walk to the opposite end where the rocks clear. Buffet was great, Jay in buffet did a great job, we had pizza, pasta and fresh meat for the 3 days we were there. Leo was great as well, thank you to the rest of the staff that helped us while we were there.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Solid 4 star Cuban resort and here’s why!

    Reviewed by bigprovolone(Toronto, Canada) on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My girlfriend and I just returned from the Gran Muthu Imperial in Cayo Guillermo, I have visited Cuba between 30-40 times over the past 25 yrs and I can say this is a solid 4 star adults only resort by Cuban standards. Before coming we read so many conflicting reviews and I am happy to write this review to set clear expectations for anyone planning to book this resort! THE RESORT The hotel itself is very nice, recently opened and in great condition, the grounds are beautifully maintained and the staff are friendly, helpful and pleasant to be around! The rooms are nicely designed and very functional, no matter which building you are in the location is convenient to access the entire resort, unlike many older Cuban resorts the pools are located in the center of the resort with the lowest pool being a beautiful infinity pool complete with gorgeous ocean views and pool bar. THE BEACH This was the biggest disappointment at this resort for me, the beach has corse sand, the beach is rocky, there are a bunch of palapas and decent loungers but the beach just isn’t great, i didn’t see anyone grooming, or maintaining the beach whatsoever during our stay and it’s shows! The biggest problem is that in order to enter the water you need to walk a few hundred yards down the beach almost to the end and even there your entry is rocky and tough on the feet, once you’re in it’s great but getting in and out sucks!! Bring water shoes, don’t listen to the people that say water shoes are not necessary, if you don’t bring them you will regret it!! The drink service on the beach is very much hit or miss, most days we would get service once in the late morning and then not again for many hours, this can be frustrating given the relative tough, hot, sunny and tiring walk down the beach to fetch your own drinks. THE FOOD We read many reviews with people complaining about the food and I have to say with all my experience in Cuba at mostly very high end hotels I though the food was substantially above average for Cuba, with that said the menu is limited and repetitive, breakfast and dinner take place in the main buffet and lunch is in the beach grill or snack bar, at least this was the protocol during our low season stay. The breakfast is typically the worst for me although I never went hungry, they had fresh made crepes each morning, eggs made to order and a variety of other items, lunch at the beach grill for us was by far the best meal of the day, mostly Cuban style dishes and a nice selection, it gets repetitive but I didn’t mind the food was very good at lunch!! The dinners weren’t great, not too many choices although every night you could get pizza and pasta to order along with grilled meats and seafood and some side dishes, quality was inconsistent. We tried one of the a la Carte restaurants (Chinese) we were very unimpressed with the food and left halfway through the meal and didn’t bother with our other reservations. One thing that is steady is the quality of service, the staff are excellent and try their best to make your experience a good one! NIGHTLIFE We didn’t do much in the way of nightlife, the shows were in the lobby and were just ok I would say, nothing mind blowing, the resort Is adults only and pretty quiet, the sports bar makes nice drinks though! CONCLUSION It’s a nice small resort, staff are great, management is always visible and the facilities are great, the big downfall for me was the beach, and the lack of extras, limited menu although I enjoyed the food, no room service, limited beach service, mostly bottom shelf type liqueurs. If you want a nice small clean adults only resort and you aren’t looking for a gorgeous beach then it’s a good choice at the right price, there are so many other resorts with beaches that are head and shoulders nicer in the area. We stayed in building 7 with an ocean view and I thought the location was great! If they can fix the beach and make a few improvements in the food and beverage program this could easily be a very good 5 star Cuban resort!

    Beautiful new resort with fantastic staff

    Reviewed by Roy C(Ottawa, Canada) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have just returned from Grand Muthu Imperial, we stayed from June 12-19th. in room 9017 Check in was instant, our room was cleaned promptly and was always immaculate (fantastic towel art) Rooms were faultless, grounds immaculate, and even though they were probably at about only 20% capacity and so were operating at less than full service, never went hungry. Sure there are some issues, we were told we had 4 a la carte dinners, in fact 2, (we were told we could book 1 other). In reality all the a la carte restaurants work on a rotation in the same location. The Chinese was not bad, but the Seafood restaurant was pretty abysmal! I was using a crutch to get round as my hip was very bad and the staff were so obliging. I hated having to bother them to take me to the beach buffet for lunch every day as the main buffet was closed for lunch. This was a long way away from building 9 up and down steep inclines! I did call for this service twice but the rest of the time we ate in the snack bar next to our room. They had great North American grub (Grand Muthu Imperial Burger) and no one would ever go hungry but the food did get very repetitive by the end of the week. For me the beach is a big downside, even though I was on crutches & would have been a challenge at any beach, this beach is a long way away (especially from building 9), even once you are there, the beach palapas are a long way from the beach buffet & bar. Our only other complaint was that there really were no shops on site. The 2 tiny stalls that were did not take credit card, no banking facilities either, so we had to have a (most wonderful) bell boy take us to the nearby Iberostar hotel, sadly their bank was "down" but at least the shops there all took plastic so managed to buy souvenirs. The staff were without exception wonderful & do whatever they can to please you. I can not stress this enough (in fact best staff & service we've had in our 10 trips to the Caribbean) I would like to particularly mention, Alexander, a wonderful tennis coach! Glendy and the girls Yuny, and her colleague in the snack bar. Jennifer and Yoandris at the swim up bar. Bell boys Alejandro, Kevin and Yorky the gardening staff especially Angel. So many others that we cant remember their names - every single staff member in the lobby, the buffet, Sports bar or a la cartes were outstanding. The staff alone would bring us back to this resort tomorrow. The company however does need to iron out some teething problems

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Never again

    Reviewed by Daze2(Peterborough, Canada) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I was there 9 days and a week before March break ... it’s sister resort beside it was a family resort.. but we wanted adults only which on their website said 18 plus... sounded awesome quiet time also payed extra for ocean view ..first 5 days where good no complaints but what we noticed was they kept sending people over from their sister resort because they had over booked ... all week this was happening but we didn’t care because they where adults coming over but by the end of week one and start of March break.. well they basically sent over 50 kids 16 plus so we went up to complain but they had printed a paper and posted it and said no it was 16 plus here .. ummm not on website.. so the resort again over booked and sent them over it was the worst experience... these kids where puking in halls in gardens .. walking along the infinity pools .. disrespectful to adults ... I felt sooo bad about the older adults that had to be around this ... we had to move 3 times and in one of our moves had clothes taken from my room from a cleaning person ??..I have been going to Cuba for many many years always has been my go place so what bothers me the most is they lied to us about the 18 plus to accommodate them at that time ... I got home and called my travel agency and wrote a letter to air transat which took 2 mths to get a response... when I did hear back air transat got ahold of the resort and they even lied then and said all the kids that where there where 18 plus .. they checked all their passports they said ..so air transat said they couldn’t do anything.... we talked to parents that where there with the kids and a lot where 16 .. some never drank before so u can image... this hotel never stood behind their written policy ... it’s too bad because I would have gone back ... $1690 nite mare ... I’m not even sure Cuba will be my go place anymore it left a bad taste ??

    Far from being a 5 stars hotel.

    Reviewed by PierreD1567() on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    As a start, we are going oftenly to Cuba but up to now this is the worst hotel that we went. On their web site they advertised 5 restaurants including the buffet like italian, mexican, sea food and asiatic but in fact you not gonna find those five choices every day it's by rotation one a day. At the buffet we had the feeling that the left over from the day before was kept and served the next day. The beach, where is the beach, they had boat fill with sand and they dropped it on rocks that they are present all along the hotel. The front of the hotel is still on the rocks, it's just a small part that they covered with sand and there is a jump of around 2 feets to get to the water it's dangerous. A brand new hotel with nice glass shower but when you take a shower there is water all over the floor in the bathroom because the did't make a silicon joint at the base of the shower, the TV is installed wrong way not on level from one side to the other and there's no way to fix it. The hotel open too fast last march 2019 and they did't inspected everything. If you are looking for a 5 stars hotel stay away from that one go to Memories Beach resort in Cayo Coco, it's a 4 stars hotel but with an incredible beach like you will see in Pillar Beach and the food is excellent every day. The buffet is close at lunch time and you have to go to the beach restaurant. The pool floor where very slippery and there was a lot of greasy stuff flooting on top of the water near the steps it's a lack of good filtration system. We were like 50 or 60 person in the hotel from June 8th to June 15th 2019. On Thursday night we were only two persons in the buffet between 19H30 and 20H00.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX