Gran Muthu Imperial

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 204 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    wonderful pools. food needs improvement

    Reviewed by willliam k() on Dec 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The infinity pools here are the best I've ever used. You feel like you're swimming in an endless lake. Best of all, they're opened from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm (other resorts take note) Great staff and spotlessly clean but the food--particularly in the ala cartes--really needs some spicing up. Also, no beach directly in front of the resort and the beach to the west is kind of weedy. There is a good beach to the right (east) where you can walk for miles but it's accessible only by walking through the sister Muthu Grand resort and no one tells you about this option.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Better Than Previous Hotel

    Reviewed by pleunn() on Dec 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We ended up at this resort after a no so pleasant experience at another location. The room was very neat, comfortable and most importantly, CLEAN! The staff were helpful, accommodating and polite. The food I would consider to be average or a little better, but repetitive. For the most part we waited a few minutes in line and had the staff cook, the meat, poultry or fish in view. The buffet was interesting but nothing exciting. The snack bar could use in help with food preparation. The one hamburger we had was cooked beyond recognition and not really edible. Went to the buffet to finish lunch. Again Cuba is a smokers paradise as you can virtually smoke anywhere. For a non smoker it is a tough place to get fresh air or not have the smell of smoke wafting in the air. We found it to be expensive given what the people are paid. The convertible currency is just a money grab for the government. Cuba will not be on my list of places to return. Boomer N

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Pleasant vacation but beach maintenance poor!

    Reviewed by Irene W(Mississauga, Canada) on Dec 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is a fairly new resort and on the whole a nice one. The resort itself is well kept and clean. The staff are very , friendly and helpful. Best staff is in the Sports Bar, so stop in and get to know them. As everyone knows you dont go to Cuba for the food, the buffet is fine but very repetitive. The al a carte restaurants were probably near the very bottom of the more than ten resorts we have visited in Cuba. The pools are really nice and clean but cold, we didnt see many people swimming. Be careful at night because the walk ways are not lite well. There is a very small market beside the resort that was nice. We also took a day trip to Moron, a town that most of the workers live in, approx. 2 hours away. I dont know about you but we go to Cuba for the beach. Our first visit to the beach made us cry. So much seaweed and plastic that you could not walk. It took them 4 days before they made an attempt to clean some of it. . Sad part is that management didnt seem to care. There are a lot of rocks in the water, so when it is wavy you cant go into the water because you will hurt yourself. Please bring water shoes. We did pay for a taxi to go to Palar Beach, which is approx. 5 minutes away, now that is a beautiful public beach. Now the question is "would we go back?". Hard to answer because the people and the resort are really great but the food and beach not so much.

    April 2019 wonderful trip

    Reviewed by dahluke(L'Orignal, Canada) on Dec 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Sorry about the delay. We were there at this wonderful resort April 2019. What can I say. It was the best. From the food the staff.the drinks. All was the best. The resort was very clean and to perfection. Thanks to liubis. And special thanks to Yoan at the sports bar and his lovely wife in the lobby, Jorge and Lily. We were upgraded to the romantic suite and it was superb. The 24 hr bar the shows all was A1. Coming back we booked again for Dec 27 2019. We are a group of 17 family vacation celebrating Christmas vacation together. Can wait.

    Grand mathu imperial cayo Guillermo cuba

    Reviewed by stevewilliams(montreal,quebec) on Nov 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First of all, we arrived here Saturday night on air transat from Montreal. (23 November 2019) and are still here! I could not wait until getting home,so here is what we have seen after 3 and a half days here. The bars are great, the drinks are pretty good. The 3 pools are nice although a little cold but after a few minutes we enjoyed them.the rooms.,well, again, nice, ac is nice and we have a ocean view(room 9109). The grounds are perfect and all the employees e and are nice and polite. They do serve drinks to you on the side of the pool and our favourite in Jenny/Jennifer. Now the bad part, the snack bar is pretty good but the cook needs a little bit of training, the hotdogs aren’t,t bad, but the bun is over cooked. In my opinion, this bun should either be lightly toasted or steamed. The hamburger and cheeseburger would also be better if the meat wasn’t,t so over good and prepared in advance. I would rather eat 10 minutes for fresh food that wait 8 minutes for warmed up dry meat. Now the buffet...wow...and I am being sarcastic. Breakfast, same stuff everyday, this resort is advertising a 5 star, breakfast is barely a Three star. Now breakfast potatoes, hash brows, ham crockets, real bacon, no orange juice for the first 2 days. Scrambled eggs are dry and look like little balls of fat. I usually Always eat the scrambled eggs in Cuba but not here. The rest of the buffer, lunch and dinner are repetitive, lots of rice, over salted meat or tough meat. I went for pasta tonight because nothing else appealed to me. Well, no spaghetti, just jumbo noodles and nothing else. Oh, before I forget, we waited for over 15 minutes to be served and I had to ask. When the boss is gone, the employees make there own meals on the grills and cover them with another plate and take off and eat somewhere in the back. The girl making the stir fry,made a big plate for herself and dumped in on a bed of pasta waiting for her with her friend at the pasta station and took off. 5 minutes later,the the guy making pasta also took off. The guy at the meat station tried to serve me but he didn’t,t have the pasta I wanted. Wewent to the snack bar, ate a poutine,hotdog,and a drink and went back to our room. I book a 5 star expecting fairly good food but this was not the case. I have stayed at other hotels in cayo coco, Cayo Guillermo and ate much better even at 3 stars. Also, this hotel has no beach. You need to go next door witch we did not. I hope the manager actually does something about the food or the administration above him. I have seen the responses from the manager when people make comments and the answer is. We will try to do better. Be better, hire 5 star employees, hire a 5 star chef, and bring in 5 star food. I paid more for this resort and would have eaten better in a 3 star. If I could leave here Tommorrow and go to the Melina, I would, remember mr manager, we are still here and will be for 4 more days. Also, one more thing, we ordered a lobster dinner on Monday night. This should be cooked only when we arrive, not an hour before sitting in a warning tray. Again, we were dissapointed. We went to Lenny,s bar and grill, ate a bigger lobster, a piece of fish and 12 shrimps for 15 pesos and is was the best one we ever ate. It was cooked when we ordered it. Steve Williams. Room 9109

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2