Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    I

    I would definitely recommend this hotel, you are guaranteed an amazing week with family friends & great food and service from the staff.

    Reviewed by Irene Marszowski on Jan 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed here for one week and had an amazing time with friends & family. The buffet has a wide selection, the hotel is very clean, the servers are so friendly. Chef Vagas is an amazing cook, we tried his lobster & seafood platter. We attended a wedding hosted by the hotel, which was so beautiful, and the food cooked by Chef Eduardo & Chef Vagas was outstanding! We also really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant, it was dinner & a show with incredible food made by Chef Pepillo. Hector the receptionist is always there to help with anything you need. Thank you so much for such a sweet & comfortable vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    We loved this resort!!

    Reviewed by Dapa81 on Aug 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed at the Iberostar Playa Pilar with two other couples in March 2017 and loved it. This resort is a real treat for any traveller, from the beautiful pools to the large boardwalk overlooking a rugged beach it has something for everyone. The beach area has plenty of room and seating available on the boardwalk as well as on the white sand behind it. There is also easy access to the water via the stairs or the sandy beach section by the nautical hut. We really enjoyed the good food at the buffet and there were plenty of selections to choose from, service was always with a smile and we were attended to constantly. The a la carte restaurants were all good and we found the Japanese restaurant is definitely worth a visit. As always when we visit Cuba we really enjoyed the wonderful staff we encountered during our stay, especially the bartenders and waitresses in the lobby area as well as the funny guys that handle your luggage and drive you around all week, you guys are great! I have no hesitation in recommending this resort for anyone wishing to relax in beautiful surroundings with the wonderful Cuban people. Cheers Dapa81

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3188 reviews):

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful beach

    Reviewed by Kimmy1975_20(England) on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A lovely beach and sea. Lots of fish. You can walk out quite a way. Sun loungers are cheap to hire and the toilets are immaculate.

    Play Pilar----- Honest review

    Reviewed by retirednewfie(Conception Bay South, Canada) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First impressions were not good. Met nice people at reception but no one offered to take our luggae and my 60yr old husband had to drag it up to the top floor after been pointed in the direction of the building. The resort grounds are amazing! The hardest working gardeners I've seen! The staff is hit or miss. We met a lot of friendly people ( Mely, Yenia, Janet, Yari)but a lot looked tired and never made eye contact or smile. The food is good, well cooked and beautifully presented. If there was air conditioning in the buffet it would be great. It was very uncomfortable eating most times. The room was clean and the maid was wonderful! Beds were a little hard, bring a pillow with you . The pool is beautiful. Too bad they don't stop people from smoking in it! Made it very uncomfortable for others using it especially children. The nightly entertainment was awsome. Would enjoy it more if it was a little less loud. I know we are older LOL but it is a small resort so it seemed really loud in the smaller area. The beach area was nice. We didn't go to Pilar. It was beautiful sitting by the boardwalk and going out into the water there. Very quiet and someone was always going around with drinks. I recommend the taxi ride and tour guide into Moron. The spa was nice. The people working there were very friendly. Outside the spa wasn't clean. I kicked aside cigarette buts and a thumb tack from the side of the chair. The loungers there were dirty and it just didn't have a nice clean spa feeling. Overall it is a good resort for the money. We might go back but we will bring lots of night snacks as there is nowhere to buy anything. Or bring an ice pack and a container to bring something back from the buffet. The mini fridge in your room gets very cold .

    One of the nicest beaches anywhere!

    Reviewed by bolas(london) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Worth the trip. Amazing Beach! Get a sunbed and 3 drinks for 10 cucs. Will worth the money. Great snorkelling right off the beach to the left.

    Nice quiet resort

    Reviewed by barrycostello48(Sydney, Canada) on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Loved Pilar the hotel is beautiful and the staff are so friendly.The entertainment was awesome.Really enjoyed the ALa Cartes especially Japanese.Our room was lovely and close to everything.There is no beach unless you travel by bus or walk the beach to get there.The boardwalk is lovely to sit on and watch the water and people.The ice-cream bars were great.The 24 hr food service was great with fries and pizza.The buffet always had great food.Love the omelettes.Staff and maids were always pleasant and rooms kept very clean.Loved having the st up bars for different variety of spirits and having them mix drinks for you.The internet service was perfect.Would go back to this resort again.

    Beautiful Beach

    Reviewed by Katelynn N(Brampton, Canada) on May 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Took the bus in to Pilar beach personally it is beautiful and the lobster lunch on the beach is incredible for just 15 pescos.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX