Sol Cayo Coco

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 5203 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great vacations !

    Reviewed by Voyager649401() on Nov 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stood there for 3 day All inclusive resorts with a super friendly staff , and good service ! Food's good but have to be early if you want it hot otherwise will be cold, Drinks are awesome but need more ice and mixers ! But overall was great !

    Great Birthday Stay

    Reviewed by NTap(Gosport, United Kingdom) on Nov 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My most recent visit to Sol Cayo Coco was from 11.10.19 to 27.10.19. With the demise of Thomas Cook it resulted in me flying to Cayo Coco via Montreal in Canada. This was my first visit in October and I wondered what the weather would be like in low season. I needn’t have worried, as the 16 days were glorious with just one morning of poor weather and a couple of night time rain storms. I booked my flights with Air Canada and the room through a Canadian agent, but with the help of Naivi, the Sales manager my normal room was available and check in was fast and efficient. The froom was clean with good air con and shower, clean bedding twice a week of more often if needed There is a new manager, Pablo Basla, his middle name should be customer satisfaction. He works really hard to ensure all guests are having a good experience at his hotel. The customer service team of Lizandra, supported by Lissett and Hayleen also ensure your stay is perfect. The Sol is excellently positioned and has two beautiful beaches, both well maintained and a beach bar on both, Alfredo and Erick do a great job and with the beach grill serving good fish and burgers at lunchtime it was a great venue. The bar on Playa Larga was not open every day because of low occupancy but an example of customer service; they ensured it was open for a few days as it is my favourite place on resort. The pool was clean and well maintained, and pool towels were plentiful. The Animation team work as hard as ever, with something for everyone in the programme, Yordanis, Yompi, Ariadna, Muca, Dayris, Aylec for the girls and Michel, Ruddy, Roberto and Jandy for the guys all working hard to make the stay enjoyable from zumba to riffle shooting to bingo all being efficiently organised. The food was of a good standard with no shortages in the buffet or other restaurants; I know the manager has worked hard to improve the buffet, and the quality of the food was very good. All the cooking stations were open breakfast was very good, and there was always something fresh for lunch and dinner. The standard in Don Diago the a la carte restraint was very high, with some friends not believing that you did not have to pay extra. All the bar staff work very hard, I love the coffee there was always plenty of beer and rum, there were shortages of sort drinks such as tonic water and diet cola, but that was all over cayo coco and not just the hotel. The highlight of my stay was my birthday party. The management did a really good job arranging a party on playa larga, with a Cuban band and food with a lovely cake, it will be a birthday I will remember forever. Overall the hotel and stay was excellent, all the management and staff are working hard to make the hotel great. I can not wait for my next visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    The Worst!!!

    Reviewed by X3099FAjims() on Oct 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We arrived from another hotel to spend the day. What a mistake!!! We asked the receptionist who faces us our bracelets where to get our towels. She directed us by the pool. The towel lady asked us where our slip from front desk were. I explained we just came from there and there were no slips. She called the front desk screamed at them and then told us to go back. I said no we were not going back. She said fine no towels for you. Disgusting service! The buffet is far to small for the people. There was people everywhere they had run out of plates and the food was horrific. Don’t let the lobby fool you! This place has bad workers, a crappy pool and a terrible buffet.

    We love Sol!

    Reviewed by Adina K(Toronto, Canada) on Oct 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just booked a visit to return to Sol Cayo Coco in January 2020 and I wanted to write a review to say why we return each year. We love Sol Cayo Coco - it's a great spot for us. It is not the fanciest, nor is the food the most elegant. But we always enjoy our time there tremendously, find more than enough food to enjoy, and eagerly return each year. Two beautiful beaches, one of which is shallow and quite calm even on windy days - perfect for our young child. 2020 will be our fourth visit - while many of the beautiful trees we loved on our first visits were lost in last year's storm, the resort is still lovely, though the pool area can get windy as its lost its natural wind barriers. The best thing about Sol is the people! The staff feel like family, and always make us feel so welcome. Many of them even impress us by remembering our young son's name after not seeing us for a year! We look forward every year to seeing staff who always go above and beyond to make our stay - people like Yanitza, Meylin, Raul, Geysis, Elvis (serving staff), Maite, Odelaisy, Henry (front desk, porter), Virgen (housekeeping), Baby (spa), and Yamilka (entertainment). In fact, Yami made such an impression on us and our son that he still speaks regularly about how much he wants to go back to Cuba to see his friend Yami. We can't wait to return in a few months and see all of our friends again and enjoy another great week at Sol Cayo Coco.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Truly awful

    Reviewed by SazeAlkin(Kelso, United Kingdom) on Oct 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Dreadful hotel, rooms leave a lot to be desired, very poor decor and maintenance. Do not even attempt to eat in the buffet restaurant, we we both ill due to the food and I lost over half a stone in weight, we asked the manager to temp test the food which he said had come back at 57 degrees, that is not even legal it should be 65 and above. Dire dire horrid place and do not recommend.