Sol Cayo Guillermo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4568 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Third time is "not" a charm.....more like three strikes and you are out

    Reviewed by Panda202(Scarborough) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My husband and I flew via Sunwing to Cayo Coco on Feb 20, 2019. We were original schedule to go out the previous day but our flight was cancelled due to technical problems with the plane. We were excited to return to Sol Cay Guillermo and knowing it needed some TCL but also know that their beach was big, expansive and amazing with the bluest and calm water. The staff are in my opinion what keeps this property going as it certainly is not Management. We experienced, no hot water, no water in the shower as well and no water whatsoever intermittently. This is Cuba but these disruptions to far too frequent. We went without clean beach towels for 6 days and witnessed all 3 swimming pools having a chemical imbalance which left it cloudy and somewhat scummy. It remained closed for a day but reopened while they were in equipment failure upon the instruction of Management. Anything, to do with personal hygiene is unacceptable. This property at this time does not deserve a 3 1/2 rating. I have written Sunwing on March 29\19 with no response except an auto-reply that indicated a file had been open for me. We loved this property and would love to see it brought back to its former self. In addition, we could not lock our patio door for the rust on the lock which was fixed with WD 40 or something similar, no bolt on the front door as an extra safety feature and didn't have a replacement on hand so the workman improvised so we could use 1/2 of the deadbolt. We heard the property was going to close for approximately 6 months from May 2019 for some upgrades and TCL which it needs. However, I see this property is still offered by Sunwing :(

    Spectacular Hotel, Rudy is the best

    Reviewed by Baby0120() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Love this hotel and special the animation staff , Rudy is spectacular , making everybody feel at home . I recommend this place to everybody . Food , rooms, restaurant, activity everything perfect . Go to this hotel and enjoy your vacation

    Mitch

    Reviewed by Conor M() on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a fantastic holiday all the entertainment staff, bar staff and chefs were excellent especially Mitch and ily. All round brilliant trip. Thank you very much would happily come back again. Hector is a legend too

    Amazing !!!

    Reviewed by Fionnuala M() on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Absolutely fantastic hotel and staff !!! I would highly recommend visiting this hotel with family or for a romantic get away the staff are unbelievably happy and bring life to the holiday. I would like to especially thank Ily & Mitch for being the best entertainers !!! Will be returning xxx

    Amazing Resort!

    Reviewed by MamaZer0() on Apr 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I can’t say enough wonderful things about this place. I truly believe that everyone saying negative things are just not accustomed to Cuba in general. This is not a 5* in Mexico; they do not have the same resources we do! They do fabulously with what they have available and always went the extra mile to make sure we had a great time. The staff at this resort 100% make the vacation; the only issue we had in that respect was that management was doing some kind of review when we were there which involved them lurking and barking orders at people and made the staff incredibly nervous. Otherwise, they’re all amazing. The wait staff, the men and women who make customized noodles/meat in the restaurant, the bar staff (especially Jorge!) the hamburger guys, the landscaper who brings you coconuts, the ladies who do the activities and watch the kids, the front desk guys, Frank the baggage guy, they’re all absolutely spectacular and they made our vacation unforgettable. The pool area is gorgeous, but the beach is absolutely where Cuba shines. What an unreal place to get to watch the sun rise and set. Our room gave us an excellent view of both and we were very spoiled in that regard. We had an absolutely wonderful vacation and will make a point of visiting again! Thanks for the memories!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX