Sol Rio de Luna y Mares

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    S

    Will not be back.

    Reviewed by Sandra on Apr 22, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    I recently went to this hotel with my husband and another couple. We knew ahead of time to have lower expectations about the food and the rooms. Well this was more than we expected. The food is okay. The problem is that they don't have enough options open at lunch and just before dinner. We had to wait almost 45 mins to get a drink or place an order at the sports bar (only thing open at 4:00 ish), each afternoon. Then we see people ordering 12 hamburgers and hotdogs only to put them in plastic bags to leave with. At one point in the week, we were told that there were 4000 Cubans in the hotel. The service went downhill very fast. They do not have enough people working there to ensure everyone was being served. Most of the staff seemed tired. Many of them did not want to be there or seem to enjoy their job. We did have a few really great staff that help to make the experience better. We were going for the beach and a relaxing vacation. The beach was fantastic. They say that they have snorkeling gear that you can borrow, but that is somewhat false. We went each morning to get gear and they were always out. We found out later that they only have five masks, 5 masks for over 4000 people. Sooo, bring your own stuff. We won't go back. Not a fan.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6669 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    5th visit to this amazing place

    Reviewed by Pauline B() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    So again sorry to come home after 2 weeks all inclusive at this wonderful place. Amazing private beech , 2 swimming pools, a la carter restaurants ( all included) as well as buffet restaurant. Staff all so friendly. In the process of updating the rooms, but they are all clean. Looking forward to returning.

    Things to change

    Reviewed by passttime() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Observations that I can't get out of my head since visiting this resort. Security guy at the main entrance Two ladies at the reception, in behind reception closed door another two employees Ten feet away gentleman selling internet at his own desk Just another few feet to the left guest services office with two employee's Few feet further tour office with another lady sitting there Across from her postcards and books store with another lady Across to the left variety store with two employees Across to the right currency exchange office with another employee Across to the left again tobacco store with another employee PHEW... Twelve employees within 250sq/ft area seeing handful of clients per day earning maybe let's say 100 pesos of revenue for the hotel Now why I'm writing all this, because hotel is falling apart, pools are dirty, wait times at the buffet and bars are ridiculous so if their employee just took a paint brush for 20min per day or cleaned the pool just for 5min or jumped in to help grill workers at lunch time things would not be so appalling at this resort. In Canada I work very hard for my money to afford this one vacation per year and when I get there and see this blatant fest of chronic infectious laziness's, it makes my head spin. Cuba is spiraling down and no one is to blame but their work ethics.

    Terrible vacation due to poor service and local Cubans overcrowding

    Reviewed by canpass127() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I visited Cuba 11 times prior to this trip with my family at various resorts all over Cuba, never felt compelled in the past to leave a negative review but this time we were so disappointed with this resort that we must warn others. I can not comprehend where all these 5 star reviews are coming from and Im starting to doubt if even genuine, I noticed especially on Google that many 5 star reviews are repeats? Location and the beach is great unfortunately hotel is a dump, service is non existent, many of the amenities we paid for a non existent for some time now but still advertised, but all this to a side as the biggest downfall of this resort is the local Cubans mixed with Cubans from Miami staying at this hotel. Nothing against Cubans and I always thought highly of them until this trip. To sum it up, there were dozens maybe even hundreds of drunk Cubans hoarding food and drinks all week long not just depleting supplies but rather occupying bars and restaurants from early morning till late late night. The biggest disappointment is their presence at the pools where they drink for long hours without ever leaving a pool to urinate and openly encouraging their kids to do the same. Hotel management is powerless and unwilling to deal with this turning a blind eye to all this, I imagine only because some of the locals mentioned are Cuban party elite or some sort of power figures? Staff looks appalled by all this I think they are tired as well, no smiles, no service they just however around performing basic service without any enthusiasm. Honestly they told me that Cuban clients are rude and demanding however they never tip and since foreign tourists are not getting any service they stopped tipping and coming here all together. Talking to other Canadian families on the way back who stayed at other resorts in Holguin we all pretty much shared the same experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-1

    Great family holiday

    Reviewed by 252jeanetteb() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Visited this hotel with family of 13 aged range 9-60. On arrival, met by customer service manager, and a welcome drink. Check in was quick and cases were taken to our rooms by porters. Rooms clean although dated. Food was varied and family always found something to eat even the fussy eaters!. Strange there were no potatoes so no chips but hey ho we’re on holiday so we can deal with that. Beach is beautiful and we spent a lot of time there. Pools are cleaned each morning and plenty of sun beds around. Very busy at the weekends with locals, but they are also entitled to holiday, but they were very loud, did it spoil our holiday? No, we went to the beach, and also went out of the hotel using the horse and buggy rides outside. The only creatures we saw around the hotel were crabs (it’s near the beach.....) and a few cats. We used the the atap for breakfast and lunch and the speciality restaurants at the weekend, when the hotel was at its busiest. If you speak to Ronald at the desk in the Luna Bar, he will do his best to help. It did seem that the Luna bar was understaffed at the busiest times of the evening with only 1 member of staff to serve, clear away and wash glasses and also wipe down tables, need 2 people to give the best service. We did have an issue with no water for a few hours which was out of the hotels control , but we were contacted by hotel/Thomas cook and offered an apology and given access to the wedding gazebo on the beach for a meal for all the family or vip at the airport for the outbound flight. All staff are more than happy to help and the service is excellent. This maybe a 3 star hotel, but it definitely has 5 star staff. We will definitely visit again.

    Stay away from this hotel

    Reviewed by Connector725299() on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Not a 3 star . Thomas cook should have a seriously review on their advertisement . pictures taken before 2007. room 4 floor, lifts broken carried a suit case up 4 floors. No electricity in room . No room change The room was grubby old, patio door didn’t fit . Plug socket hanging off wall, wires exposed. 2 mugs 3 tea bags and 4 sugars and kettle. Forget the milk, coffee and spoons . The mini bar fridge empty Thomas cook false advertise Buffet well what can I say, expect queues around 30 minutes, if you get down early you can miss the locals. The fresh cooked meat / pasta areas are taken over by locals getting piles of food on their plates. Allowing 6 members of their family to jump in food had been stripped .One buffet for both hotels two a la carte restaurants in one building more like one restaurant, one snack bar. locals will order 24 plates of food for 6 people, they will sit for ages at table. pool is in a terrible state with broken and missing tiles all around the edge . A 8 by 2 foot section of tiles on the pool floor are missing and it’s dirty, sun beds are old, bar area is old and tired . The activities staff were polite and helpful, load music around the pool area Foyer / bar / coffee area the only place you can get internet. You have to pay for it . areas is like a bus terminal or cattle market with load music and masses of people. 17 hours of no water in the hotel You will get upset stomach, Hotel staff unhelpful 10 coaches loads locals Government pays

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX