Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    N

    We had a very relaxing vacation and the staff are excellent.

    Reviewed by N. MacDonald on Dec 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just got back Nov.30th/17 for 1 week here. Beautiful resort right across the street from Waikiki Beach. Great location close to restaurants and shopping. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The renovations aren't completed so the infinity pool and a few new restaurants weren't opened but with the beach so close and so many choices of places to eat that didn't bother us at all. The Cheese Cake Factory is a great place to eat and close to the resort. We would love to return when the renovations are completed . We go to Honolulu every Nov. and I'm sure we will stay at The Alohilani Waikiki Beach Resort again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1103 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Mother and daughter trip

    Reviewed by 47HamishH47(Sydney, New South Wales, Australia) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great location, modern and clean hotel. Its a big hotel and if you are travelling during peak periods prepare to wait for elevators, front desk. The pool is small and overcrowded, lots of kids. Walls are thin, we could hear the person snoring next door while wearing ear plugs for three consecutive nights. The resort also has private events and closes the pool with one days notice. The restaurants stop taking orders just before 10pm and there is no room service.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Tiny bathrooms and lift queues

    Reviewed by 45viv(Sydney, Australia) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    It’s been interesting reading the reviews and the standard replies the management are giving which pay little or no attention to the problems that guests have encountered! Firstly I cannot see how this can claim to be a boutique hotel. It’s huge and overrun with tour groups. We were in the main tower and had a high floor,which was lovely, giving views over Diamond Head, but I didn’t expect such long queues for the lifts all the time. Yes it was school holidays but when they remodelled the hotel they should have added extra lifts to that tower or even a separate bank for the pool floor. The hotel is basically 30 or 40 years old and although the bedrooms have fairly new soft furnishings they have remodelled the bathrooms so that the vanity sink is outside of the absolutely tiny wc and shower room. I have never been on a cruise ship or slept on a train but I cannot imagine anything being as small as these bathrooms ! Also due to the era the hotel was built, the sound insulation is non existent. Not only from adjacent rooms but also from above (despite the 80’s artex ceilings!) and if you are on a lower floor from outside too. The pool was small, noisy and on the 5th floor which also led to aforementioned lift queues. It is a wind tunnel there as the pool is stuck between the 2 towers! However the redeeming features were the Longboard Club, giving a little bit of sanctuary and generally all the staff were very friendly. The location is also good being straight across the road from the beach.

    Great Staycation

    Reviewed by Sunshine690951() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our stay at The Alohilani Hotel...first time. Rooms are nice and clean. Staff is very helpful. Will definitely stay again and take advantage of the Local kamaaina specials. Loved the breakfast buffet.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful hotel. Extremely disappointing customer service and emergency response.

    Reviewed by nkatherine29() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My partner and I were so excited to spend our first three nights in Waikiki at the absolutely beautiful Alohilani. Our first two days there were so enjoyable. We loved the hotel, the location, and the helpful staff. In addition to planning to return back in the future, we were also remarking to each other about how we would highly recommend the hotel to our family and friends. This was up until our third night. After a sunset dinner at the Outrigger Canoe Club we decided to go back to the hotel for a post-dinner nap before enjoying more of Waikiki during our last night there. We arrived back at the hotel around 8 pm and woke up around 9:45 pm to inaudible arguing outside of our 28th floor room. Within a minute we heard what sounded like the phone. This was soon after followed by banging on our door. My partner rushed to open the door and he quickly ran back in breathless to tell me that we had to evacuate because there was a fire outside. I rushed out of bed and opened the door to terrified hotel guests and smoke filling up in the hallway. When I turned to the left of our room 2855, within 5 ft away I saw a small fire growing from the carpet and going up the wall. Some guests were yelling it was an electrical fire and that we had to evacuate. My partner and I quickly went back into the room to get water to try to extinguish the flame. After trying to extinguish the fire ourselves with water, we tried connecting to the staff on the hotel line, but had no luck getting through. We started to pack our belongings but more guests on the floor began banging on our door to evacuate the building. We then started our descent down 28 floors with the other guests. Once we got to the lobby, I knew it was important to notify the hotel staff exactly where the fire started. I calmly asked a receptionist to step aside in order to prevent any panic amongst hotel guests checking in and those who had evacuated after hearing the fire alarm. I informed the receptionist that there was a fire on the 28th floor outside of room 2855 and that my partner and I had attempted to extinguish it before evacuating. She looked in complete shock and went to phone the update immediately. Soon after I saw a man exit an office near the front desk, who the receptionist quickly went over to meet. He turned out to be the hotel manager on duty that night, and the second person I informed that there was a fire on the 28th floor outside of room 2855. Within 2-3 minutes we heard the sound of fire trucks arriving at the hotel. This is when the hotel manager went outside to meet the first responders. I also saw a valet man go up to meet the firecrews. This man was the third person I informed that there was a fire on the 28th floor outside of room 2855. After 20-30 minutes the fire crew began to exit the building. The hotel manager then announced that the fire department had extinguished the fire, the elevators were going to resume operations, and hotel guests could return to their rooms in the Seascape building. I went up to ask the manager what the guests affected on the 28th floor should do, especially in the case of me and my partner with the fire being outside of our room. The manager assured me that I could get a new room after checking in with reception. I then asked what we should do if all of our clothes now smell like smoke. And he said the hotel could arrange for dry cleaning. A bit alarmed by this response, I went back to my partner to tell him the update. This is when I overheard a little girl tell another girl that there was a fire on the 26th floor. At this point I attributed this to hearsay. As more fire crew began to start packing, my partner stopped one fireman to ask if they determined the cause of the fire. The fireman told him that there was a fire on the 26th floor and that they were still trying to determine the cause. This was when my partner told him there was also a fire on the 28th floor outside of room 2855. The fireman immediately picked up his intercom to report the second fire to the remaining crew. The fireman told my partner that they were not informed of a second fire in the hotel and this was the first time they heard about a fire reported on the 28th floor outside of room 2855. Within the span of the 40 minutes that we first saw the fire outside our room, evacuated, and reported the fire to 3 separate hotel staff, the fire department was completely unaware of a second fire in the hotel that night. The hotel staff had let guests back into the building even before the fire crew were able to investigate the second fire. The fire crew asked us if we would be willing to go back into the building and were all completely shocked that the second fire had not been reported to them. We gave our accounts to both the fire crew and policeman who finally made it up to the 28th floor. A firewoman was the person to suggest to us to try to get a fire discount from the hotel for experiencing the incident outside of our room. The only people who thanked us that night for extinguishing and reporting the fire were the first responders. We did not receive any thank yous from any hotel staff members that night or when we checked out the following day. In fact, when we went to go ask for a room change, we were given a smaller room than the ocean view king room that we had paid and worse it was located in the back of the hotel where the dumpsters were. My partner and I were very shaken up from the incident and restless our final night at the Alohilani. No hotel staff ever came to check in on us that night or the following morning. The only call we got the following morning was from the Honolulu fire investigator asking for our statement. We were never offered a late check out to help make up for the interruption of the previous night. We were never offered a meal to make the next morning’s start any easier. When I checked out and asked the receptionist to speak to the hotel manager, she first inquired why and after learning that we were victims of the hotel fire she offered to cover one night of resort fee. This was the first offer of any compensation and it was barely anything. When the hotel manager on duty that morning came out to greet us, I recounted my concern with the hotel’s emergency response the previous night and shock that the staff did not report the second fire to the department. The hotel manager’s first response after hearing this was, “well I have heard differently and we are still reviewing video footage to investigate the incident.” I had told her that I was not there to get any compensation, I just wanted to share my complete disappointment and sadness with the lack of hospitality, customer service, and common decency to check in on any of the guests directly affected by the fire, especially those who risked their lives to extinguish the fire and save other guests and the hotel property itself. The hotel manager did not show any sympathy or empathy. She did not even ask for my name. She did not provide her card or show any willingness to try to make up for the situation in any way. She then offered to cover the three full nights of resort fee. I told her that when people come to stay at a 4 star hotel like the Aloholini, they come for both a memorable experience and also to feel safe. We did not feel either staying at the Alohilani and even more so after the hotel management’s lack of response the night of the fire and lack of courteous human response the morning after. I asked her if we could at least be refunded for the Sunday night stay in which we were victims of what ended up being hotel arson (two additional nights of arson attacks happened in neighboring Waikiki hotels after ours). She said because we booked through a third party, there was nothing she could do. I asked her to at least try. I have not received any follow ups in any form from the Alohilani hotel since. What started off as a relaxing recharge turned into a complete nightmare to live through. We ended up not being able to sleep well the rest of our stay on the north shore after the arson attack at the Alohilani. My partner and I were both traumatized by the fire and the hotel’s lack of care for what we had experienced and helped to prevent from turning into what could have very well be a much more dangerous incident. In trying to preserve their image, the hotel management failed to recognize that hospitality and customer care are important in both good and bad experiences.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Water leak in Room 802

    Reviewed by aquamarine012019(San Francisco, California) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We had a room leak coming from the next floor up and maintenance knocked on our door to tell us the customer on the floor below us was complaining of water leak from our room. We had a leak as well so we let management know and they said they would check it out. They didn’t communicate the next steps on what to do and we just stayed in our room with a soggy carpet. This was never fixed for the four nights that we stayed there so I’m pretty disappointed with management and how things are handled. If you get room 802. Make sure they fixed the issue and the black mold on the closet ceiling or you’ll be waisting your money on a problematic room.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX