Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    N

    We had a very relaxing vacation and the staff are excellent.

    Reviewed by N. MacDonald on Dec 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just got back Nov.30th/17 for 1 week here. Beautiful resort right across the street from Waikiki Beach. Great location close to restaurants and shopping. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The renovations aren't completed so the infinity pool and a few new restaurants weren't opened but with the beach so close and so many choices of places to eat that didn't bother us at all. The Cheese Cake Factory is a great place to eat and close to the resort. We would love to return when the renovations are completed . We go to Honolulu every Nov. and I'm sure we will stay at The Alohilani Waikiki Beach Resort again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 675 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Too Many timeshare propositions, not enough elevators

    Reviewed by macczaddy() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel, rooms, pool, and restaurants are all incredible. However, there were only 4 elevators to service the 39-floor main tower. We had to consistently wait over 5 minutes every time we wanted to get an elevator to/from our room. Also, we were mislead by a concierge to stop by for a "welcome package" which turned out to be a sales pitch for timeshares at the Modern Honolulu (the sister hotel). I didn't appreciate the subterfuge in that interaction.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Nice hotel, rooms are lacking

    Reviewed by annelY5024YP() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This review speaks mostly to the quality of the guest rooms. The lobby and amenities were all up to par, beautiful aquarium and a nice pool and deck. The room felt like something I would expect from an “express” style motel or hotel. The duvet cover did not close shut, so after sleeping the actual comforter was exposed by morning, which is gross as this is the comforter others sleep with. The shower was tiny, didn’t have a door and had just one mini little corner shelf to use to try to balance toiletries and razor, didn’t work. After our first day, housekeeping came but left our dirty beverage glasses in the room which was odd. No robe or slippers available. Only trash can in the room was a little one by the toilet. $35/day resort fee which felt high, given the quality.

    wonderful hotel. good location and clean.

    Reviewed by gizmogaga(Chicago, Illinois) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    so glad we booked this hotel! the location is perfect as it is one block off the "main strip" but right next to the ocean and Kuhio beach park. it was nice being close to the action but 1 block away for reduced noise and chaos. our room was freshly updated with partial ocean view on a high floor. we had a great lanai balcony to overlook the city / water which we enjoyed in the morning for coffee and night time for sunset drink. the bed was very comfortable with pillow top, and the pillows were comfortable with fresh linens. the room had a mini fridge with ample space to house drinks/snacks. I also appreciated the daily tea and coffee with in room keurig machine, as well as the reusable water bottles given to us at check in. the pool area was nice and well maintained. we did not use the pool much but the service and poolside staff were outstanding. the lobby is grand with a nice bar inside with fish tank. the decor is well done, tasteful, elegant. the only "snafu" we had the entire time was a credit that was supposed to be on our room for food/beverage which was accidentally charged instead of placed as a credit. at the of our dinner at morimoto's restaurant (attached to hotel) it was pretty embarrassing that I had to leave the table to go to concierge and call 3 times to figure out the credit. finally a manager added the room credit as well as an additional $25 for our trouble. this was a nice touch and all was made well.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 star?? Maybe on a scale of 1-10...

    Reviewed by jamesTYG() on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Yikes...where to start. The Alohilani Resort bills itself as a 5 star property but it is anything but. What you see in photos does not represent the actual product once you are checked in. Some highlights and (mostly) low-lights from our stay: PRO: Happy Hours at both bars. Prices still a little high, but it's Waikiki. It is what it is. CON: The pool is abso-effing-ly freezing. During the day. With the sun up. The wind cuts through the two towers like a valley, creating a chilling wind tunnel that makes the pool deck unenjoyable. PRO: Sipping a craft cocktail or tropical drink in the jacuzzi or infinity pool watching the Hawaiian sunset CON: The infinity pool is FREEZING despite the fact that it's supposedly heated. Maybe if I was in Antarctica the pool would feel warm, but not in Hawaii. As others have mentioned, the jacuzzi is SWARMED with kids, despite posted signage. There is absolutely NO regulation or enforcement. The staff advised us that security has been told but they do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, so be warned. If you don't mind kids in diapers splashing pee and poop infested water into your drink, this is the place for you. PRO: Centrally located and right across the beach CON: So is pretty much every hotel in Waikiki, and most others don't overcharge you for a subpar product. PRO: Lots of dining options on property CONS: All of them are overpriced and not very good. Even Morimoto's two restaurants are underwhelming. You are better off walking a little ways from the hotel as there are much, much, better dining options (i.e. Tiki's, Arancino, Maui Brewing Co, Cheesecake Factory--yes, even Cheesecake Factory!) CON: Bathrooms are TINY. Like really tiny!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Devine property in Waikiki!

    Reviewed by Companion02498039463() on Feb 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just a block from Waikiki Beach, this property is so very welcoming. From valet, to the divine lobby scent, friendly registration and such very comfortable rooms. Very clean, contemporary design with great service. I look forward to my return-but this time for a vacation!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX