Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 268 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Happy to be checking out today 04/02/2021

    Reviewed by ritah139(Midlothian, United States) on Apr 02, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We spent hours researching the hotels and found the Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger that advertised a special discount in blue writing at the time of booking of a $20 per night per room resort fee rather than their standard $30 per night per room fee. They also showed they had an on site Polynesian experience performance and two restaurants and a pool since they were not beachfront which would make it more convenient while traveling with someone sight impaired and in case other entertainment was not open and available during our trip. We had booked two rooms for space, one room for us and one room for my father and teen son, our son was helping my father have a comfortable stay. We had our Covid tests and had checked about uploading via verifly and was told by AA that verifly did not support Hawaii. I was never told that we needed an email nor a smart phone for my father who has neither. So the airport staff helped us complete the rest of the process, getting QR code’s and showing lab results. Then there were no taxis, no shuttle service from the hotel, and no Lyft/Uber to be had. After almost 4 hours, we finally got to the hotel from landing and We were thrilled to be checking in, only to find out that they would not honor the $20 per room per day resort fee rate, even though I had the screen shot on my phone from the day I booked our trip, 3/4/2021. In fact the resort fee was now 34.49 instead of the $30 it once was... hmmm now I’m paying even more per night for two rooms. They stated that was an old rate/promotion, I said yes, back when I booked the trip. I tried to log in to AA Vacations now, 3/28/2021 and lo and behold the promotion was no longer there... surprise, surprise. Then we go to show the Covid info from the airport and the email the staff at the airport set up for my father does not work. We were also then told that there was a limit of 1 hour per guest per day for the hotel pool, closing an hour earlier available only 8a-8p, and could only be signed up on day of, the magic of Polynesia show was not open, and the main food grill place was closed not opening til a day or two after we arrived. Then the hotel staff claimed to have upgraded our rooms and they were not, so that was disappointing. The views were not impressive. We spent the next couple hours trying to find food nearby which was crazy since everything either had a waitlist or was by reservation only, also good info to know in advance. And finally around 9pm had to just grab something to eat from the grill next to Basalt. Each day had other issues from trying to get around difficulties, to whatever Waikiki shuttle that was supposed to be part of our hotel, being useless. I was never told about anything included to make going to the beach more comfortable, nor told how the Waikiki trolley worked or where it might go or even how to find it. I couldn’t get a cab that took credit either the entire time we were here. The concierge activity planner comes across like a used car salesman, but after spending the first two days of my trip trying to Google what was open and what wasn’t I was at his mercy. Apparently he gets kickbacks from something like TripAdvisor per another review I read so I’m sure you’re paying up for using him. This was by far the worst family vacation with a person with a disability and it cost more than Disney which is saying something. We spent nearly $10K for so much less, which is a shame. I realize there has been a pandemic since 3/2020, my husband and I have been essentials and have been working tirelessly throughout, but with all the safety procedures in place and following all the rules we felt confident Hawaii would be a welcome relaxation place, it was not. And quite frankly we are a year from the beginning of the pandemic and there was plenty of opportunity for the hotels to state they would not honor lowered resort fees or have other services available. At this point I’m just happy to go home. I will not stay here again nor would I recommend it.

    ?????????? SERVICE TRIP TO OAHU! ??????

    Reviewed by alejandrocJ6161JF(Lahaina, Hawaii) on Mar 27, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had to take a last minute trip to Oahu for business earlier this month. I’ve never been more accommodated for as I was at the Waikiki Beachcomber resort! Kiana assisted me in all my booking and COVID related questions for safe travel and made it so quick and easy. I’m very thankful to her and their staff for their service and Aloha. All I know is when I come back to Oahu there is only one place I’m staying!

    Amazing

    Reviewed by NitaFay2212() on Mar 26, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We will be back.. this place was like home away from home. Friendly staff, clean rooms and common areas, and 100 feet away from the beach. Next time we will need to get a room on a higher floor. Felt like I was missing some of the view from the 9th Floor...

    Amazing Kristina and staff.

    Reviewed by Roam230169(Chicago, Illinois) on Mar 25, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Awesome Awesome service with Kristina, amazing and friendly service and the staff are tremendous fabulous, we had an issue when we arrived at the other hotel ohana east hotel that the hotel was close, mind you I was traveling with my mom that’s 75 years old. When we went to the Waikiki beach comber Kristina took care of us right away and made us very welcoming. She was like a guardian angel and took care of us from the very first start To check us in. I was nervous but Kristy made it calm. Thank you Kristina you are an amazing. We have had a great experience staying at this hotel! From the start, front desk welcomed and took great care of us as we checked in. We got a beautiful room! And will be back with the whole family to this Hotel I give it more the a million stars to this hotel. ??????????????Thanks Kristina!

    Awesome stay!

    Reviewed by Ilovevacationsssssss() on Mar 21, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have had a great experience staying at this hotel! From the start, Kristina at the front desk welcomed and took great care of us as we checked in. We got a beautiful room! There is an awesome cafe attached to the hotel thru the lobby that serves delicious sandwiches, smoothies, coffees, and alcoholic beverages. Fun at night too with the live music and great drinks! Can’t wait to come back! Thanks Kristina!