OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    I would totally recommend this hotel!

    Reviewed by Heather on Jan 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    I stayed two weeks over Christmas, and had a wonderful holiday! I was impressed by the cleanliness of the room, and the friendliness of the staff. The hotel is located within walking distance of the beach and all the sights. I have absolutely no complaints, my room was quiet and even though there is construction going on next door at present, it never bothered my rest. In fact it was interesting to watch! I liked the idea of using the room card to operate the elevators for safety. I will stay there again next visit for sure....

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2145 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location

    Reviewed by John S(Adelaide) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    where to start, My partner and I stayed at Ohana East in March 2019, first of all the location is excellent we could get around on the pink trolleys for free. We arrived at 9am in the morning and was not expecting to get into our room that early, but hoping they would hold our luggage so we could have breakfast, we were told we could get into our room early if we wanted to pay 85 US dollars, otherwise check in is 3pm, the staff on the welcoming desk were unfriendly, and uncompromising, we had just travelled from Australia, so as you can imagine we were tired. Tracey at the desk said come back at 12 and we will try and get you in your room, we returned at 12 and we could get in the room, lucky we did not pay the 85 US dollars. (this is a rort), dont fall for it. The room is just what we saw on the net, so that was good. We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights, in the whole time we were there we were never greeted by the front desk staff as we walked past, asked if we were enjoying our stay, nothing. one of the elevators did not work the whole time we were there and the other 2 were so slow that we had to use the service elevator. after about 5 days of staying at this hotel, when they cleaned the room they did not leave coffee or toilet paper and we continually had to ask for them. we were unfortunate enough to have spring breakers on our floor and when we complained to reception about the excessive noise were were told "they paid to stay at the hotel same as you" very disapointed with their response. At the end of our stay we knew we had to pay the resort fee and we were aware how much it was, we were overcharged by $100 AUS dollars, We had to go back down to reception to sort out, the staff were not apologetic for the overcharge. The only friendly staff is the conceirge who helps to book tours for you.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Great Location but Old and Rundown

    Reviewed by psychprofessor(Starkville, Mississippi) on Apr 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My wife and I, along with our tour group, spent four nights at this hotel. It's in a great location in Waikiki, a couple of blocks from the beach and from what my wife called the "main drag." The lobby was interesting, and I took several pictures of it. On the negative side, I thought the bathroom was poorly made. Also, I found that the water from the shower was either hot or hotter; I was unable to make it cooler. I found that the head end of the bed was lower than the foot end; it should be the opposite. There were three elevators when we arrived, but by the time we left the hotel two were out of order. Early in our stay, a maintenance person suggested that we take the service elevator, which we wound up doing because it opened a few feet from our room. The only problem with the service elevator was that it smelled bad. The room had a mini-fridge, but it was so well hidden that it took a day or two to find it. The room had a lanai, but we didn't use it because it faced in the wrong direction and was too sunny when we might have used it in the late afternoon. Overall, the location almost made up for any of the hotel's negatives.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Nice Waikiki view room and central location.

    Reviewed by AussieGlennB(Melbourne, Australia) on Mar 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I stayed 7 nights in a Waikiki View Room which was on the 16th Floor. The room was large, with a 2 seater sofa, it was clean and nicely presented. The bed was super comfy. I'd say the bathroom was compact, but functional. The room had a small balcony, and I had a nice city view, and also included ocean glimpses. The only negative was the walls are super thin, I could hear the activity in the room next door, doors banging, toilet flushing, and snoring, yuk. If you stay on the 15th floor and above you have access to an express lift, I had no problem at all with lift wait times. The hotel is at the budget end of the scale, and lacks facilities, no restaurant or bar. The pool is small and lacks any ambience, I didn't use it, The hotel is nicely positioned, central to Waikiki and a 5 minute walk to the beach. I arrived very early in the morning from my flight and I was given access to a small room with a shower to freshen up, they then held my bags until I returned later in the afternoon for check in. All the staff I met were very nice. The room cost me around $240 Australian dollars a night, (170 USD).

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Well located

    Reviewed by Bert U(West Kelowna, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It had been 5 years since being back to Waikiki...something we did annually for over 20 yrs running.....our regular hotel was bought and renamed and the prices seemed rather high....so we decided to try Ohana East..the room was basic (coffee machine and fridge only) and a good size with a sitting area, table,chairs and king bed....seemed recently refurbished.... It is around the corner from our previous hotel and is very well located...the restaurant at street level has changed...(and improved)...service was polite and satisfactory...the price seemed reasonable in till the service surcharge is added in ( in fine print).. A ploy that all the hotels have taken to apparently in our absence....the whole block across the street is closed and blocked off (kings market) and slated to be torn down....the grocery store nearby is still operating but with reduced hours ( and is also slated to be demolished soon)...One should be aware of the potential construction mess for the next few years...ie 2020 to 2022...generally speaking the hotel is 2 star and satisfactory but overpriced..

    ALOHA SPIRIT

    Reviewed by DJspurg() on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the time we got to the hotel we were welcomed with that aloha spirit! In my opinion it’s in the best location!! Rooms are fine, nothing special. But the location, and the employees make it worth it!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX