Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Huatulco
    5. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
    6. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Loved it and can't wait to return!

    Reviewed by KK on Mar 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Stayed at this resort Feb 28 - March 11 - would absolutely go back! Staff are friendly and helpful. Always smiling and always willing to please. Waitress Karen at pool was so awesome! Restaurants are great, never a shortage of food or selection even when staying 11 days. Recommend you ask around resort first before booking excursions. Discovered a day late that snorkelling is provided at the resort instead of paying for an excursion and resort and tour guide snorkelling was much better. Can't wait to go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Loved it,staff excels at everything.

    Reviewed by Sue on Mar 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We just returned from our vacation at secrets in Huatulco! We had a great time. We hope to return next year. I will start with the weather. I awoke each morning and just had to look outside to check the weather. Each morning was beautiful, sunny and hot. The staff was amazing. The food was amazing and the no reservations needed for the al a carte restaurants was an added bonus. Our resort rep James was awesome. He was available everyday of our stay. He booked our excursions with amazing tour guides. I recommend the coast to the clouds tour. The nine bay tours which includes snorkelling and a speedy snorkel tour which allows one hour in the water. We saw lots of fish,coral etc. This resort did not seem to have regular live shows that we have enjoyed in other Mexican holidays. If you require privacy in the bathroom you won't find it here. The separate toilet area is small and has frosted glass with strips of see through glass. This is visible just inside your room door. So if your friends stop by your room to pick you up you will not want to be sitting on the toilet. Just saying!!!! Each room has a jetted tub on the deck, it's a waste of space. It only fills half way and was not shaped for comfort. Take your pesos everywhere you go.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    g

    Fabulous

    Reviewed by great time on Jan 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    we enjoyed our stay . The staff really looked after us . Food was fabulous. We arrived on New Years eve and the party was over the top . Excellant food and entertainment . Would definitley go back again . Met some very nice people .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Relaxing stay in a great resort. Would go back in a heartbeat!!!!

    Reviewed by Simply Put on Jan 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel is on it's own bay so very secluded. Makes for a very relaxing and wonderful vacation. All the restaurants are fantastic. The weather is fantastic with sun all day : We felt very safe and were treated like we were special everyday. All the workers were very engaged and happy. Our WestJet rep went out of his way to help us get a couple wonderful excursions. Would go back in a heartbeat!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5518 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    SECRETS Huatulco never disappoints! Superb All Inclusive Luxury Resort...

    Reviewed by Fermin-Mex(Atizapan de Zaragoza, Mexico) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Huatulco is one of the nicest beach destinations for it includes crisp, clean golden beaches and a great turquoise sea. In the middle of Bahia Conejos (Rabbit Bay) you will find this beautiful property that is a true gem. Wonderful food (four a la carte, first class restaurants: Asian, French, Italian and Mexican), great drinks and outstanding service from all their staff... they make you feel welcome and important. You will not be disappointed...

    Very nice stay

    Reviewed by Mike G(Kansas City, Missouri) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are members of Unlimited Vacation Club. We have had the opportunity to stay at a number of their resorts. Secrets Huatulco was a very nice place to stay. We had a beautiful swimout preferred club suite. The service was great. The beach was nice, however the surf was rough a bit so you had to go down the beach a bit to swim. The spa was soooo wonderful. The gym was great my wife and I went every morning and took advantage of the equipment. We took part in the romance package and it was wonderful dinner on the beach, breakfast in bed, It was all wonderful. The French resturant was just ok but all the others were wonderful. One of the things that made it nice was the resort was somewhat close to town. We walked down to Dreams from Secrets one morning it was a very nice walk (about 3 miles each way). The town was very nice. Its not like a typical resort town very friendly people. Depending on where your coming from it may be a little harder to get there but it worth it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    42 ANNIVERSARY

    Reviewed by John M() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This place was really awesome! This was our first time on the west coast of Mexico! Spectacular scenery! I am a very picky eater I basically I just like meat & every restaurant accommodated me. Castaway was my favorite every day for lunch the best Rib-eye I have ever had. My wife Kathy is not picky so she was able to try a variety of options that she enjoyed all of her meals! Absolutely great service by the entire staff! I would like to give a special shout out to some very special that made our stay so awesome! Angel Diosdado, Waiter Leyver, Hostess Laura Garcia Loez, Alma Adeaidg, Resturant Manager Ivone, & Soledad, Candy at the Spa, Our spa Girls! I am a travel Agent & I would highly recommend this place!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    BEST ANNIVERSARY EVER!!!

    Reviewed by 4EvrBeachlover() on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    To be honest, we were planning on going back to Aruba to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, as it's where we went on our honeymoon. However, last minute we got a couple recommendations for Secrets - Huatulco, and decided to give it a try. BEST DECISION EVER! The pools, food, adult beverages, and all things that you'd expect from an all-inclusive resort, were great. The water is so blue that it almost doesn't seem real. Were were able to snorkle and go deep sea fishing. However, for us, what set this resort apart from others, was the staff! They are/were amazing! Here's what they did for us. As I mentioned, we went to Mexico to celebrate our 20th anniversary. OUR PLAN was to renew our wedding vows on the beach each reciting vows we had written for one another. I had gotten a beachy dress, and Joe a beachy shirt. Very simple. Again, that was OUR PLAN. We had stopped at the concierge desk on Monday afternoon (2 days before anniversary), to discuss what we thought was a mix-up with our 'premier' vs. preferred status. No biggie. While there, I asked if there was a florist on site as I wanted to get a couple flowers for our vow renewal (1 for me and 1 for Joe). They said they didn't have a florist on-site, but would get me info on the one in town they use. Later, that day, we're asked to come to the concierge office Tuesday afternoon. When we did, they simply said, they would take care of the flowers for us. We should come to the lobby at 4:30 on Wednesday to get them. They also asked that we have our 'renewal' clothes on and bring our camera. Made sense to us since OUR plan was to be on the beach about 5. What transpired after that is unbelievable. We are forever grateful to Secrets and their amazing staff for giving us a magical vow renewal event full of memories that will truly last a lifetime, all compliments of Secrets fabulous staff!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    THE BEST VACATION EVER...

    Reviewed by MaxMarchese(Huatulco, Oaxaca, Mexico) on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I enjoyed my time in that gorgeous place, it was my first time and I will repeat again. All the employees are fantastic, well trained and they always satisfied any request. Lots of different restaurants, even though, the oriental was my best choice, with the beautiful smile of Fernanda. The rooms are very well mantained and multiple times a day, they were checked to leave everything perfectly in order. I miss a lot that place!!!!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX