Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa at Keauhou Bay

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    Very nice hotel, meals a bit of a challenge at times.

    Reviewed by Jim on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was generally a very nice hotel. The staff were excellent, the room was clean and well maintained, and it was beautifully situated on the big island. However, it's very expensive and they will likely charge for any extra that you may need or want. For instance, a roll-away cot in your room is listed at $65.00 a night seems very expensive and even though the breakfast buffet starts at $15.00 US and goes up from there if you want any eggs or bacon they will charge extra for apple juice if that's not what they've put on the buffet that morning. That seems a bit nickel-and-dimish. The greatest problem we had was finding supper. The only place on the property that had supper was Rays on The Bay which was a bit expensive for a family restaurant and always had live music playing, so conversation was very difficult. Going down into Kona town was a challenge in that parking is difficult to find and restaurants, while plentiful, are not always family friendly. And some highly reviewed rib and barbecue joints close at 5:00 PM!?! Crazy. We also found the WiFi on the property very hit and miss. It worked great for some but not at all for others.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    A beautiful location!

    Reviewed by Charmbelle on Mar 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel was nicely situated away from the busy downtown of Kona, but within a short drive to all the amenities and great restaurants. The rooms were spacious, modern and very comfortable. The pool was great. Hotel staff were very accommodating in providing recommendations and assistance. The restaurants were on the higher end price scale, but the food was wonderful. The luau is a must! Great entertainment and great food. The sunsets were spectacular. During our visit, we were able to watch the whales from our the balcony.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Nice place, good location close to Kona, variable food & service quality but ok, manta rays are the highlight.

    Reviewed by Islandhound on Jan 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nice hotel but still pricy. Some of the valets were rude but others were outstanding and very friendly and accommodating. Very good concierge service. Centrally located on the dry side of the island, so short distance to Kona for shopping and restaurants. Limited restaurant / bar choices at the hotel with only the pool bar food and drinks during the day. Restaurant open for breakfast then closes, diner restaurant / bar doesn't open till late afternoon so only pool bar open during the day with staff more interested in watching TV than keeping your glass full. Food ok but nothing spectacular returned a strip loin steak as it was like shoe leather . Cleaning staff very accommodating and helpful. The manta rays viewed from the hotel properties was the the highlight - observed every night. Loved the big island, great for the adventurer and relatively low tourist density vs Oahu and Maui.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3246 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Worthless better off throwing money down the toilet Stay at another hotel

    Reviewed by TONYIndianharbourbch(Melbourne, Florida) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This hotel was absolutely garage we had 6 rooms and every room and person had different issues with there rooms. Bathroom is old and everyones AC didn’t work it’s like they all blow warm air and the hotel didn’t do anything about it. The service was awful (that’s being nice) 3 days at this hotel was a nightmare and you can tell the hotel staff doesn’t care. The management was awful and didn’t care and you can tell that is the overall culture of the hotel. Don’t let them ruin your vacation find any other place but this hotel. The breakfast was garbage and no value for titanium elite members.

    Average accommodations--GREAT staff!

    Reviewed by Ernie S(Albuquerque, New Mexico) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This resort has something for every taste. The location is great--near water activities and shopping centers. A Walmart is 5 minutes away and a Costco around 15 minutes. Kona is a very short drive away. Prices at the onsite Holo Holo market are fair and has many gift and necessity items, including package liquor and a coffee counter. The building was once the old Kona Resort, and has been around for a while, but the views from the ocean-side rooms are still great. Separate adult and family pools. A poolside lounge, adventure tours, game room, luaus, and so much more, there is almost no need to leave the property. I recommend the lawn games and trying some of the resort activities. The staff at Sheraton is some of the best we've encountered. They seem happy and are very helpful & accommodating.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Utter Crap - You’d be better off in a tent

    Reviewed by NewYorkWaterGirl(Island of Hawaii, Hawaii) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I reserve a partial ocean view on a high floor in March for my July visit, hoping to upgrade to an oceanfront room upon arrival as I was unable to accomplish that online. Upon arrival I was shown to a nasty, noisy, dated room with incredible views of the vast parking lot and valet - directly below me. It’s noisy and not what I traveled 16 hours for. I spent the entire night on the phone with Marriot with no resolution. Their customer service is non existent. The woman who checked me in was beyond unhelpful with talons so long she was actually unable to handle my credit card. I will say that every employee I encountered other than the check in person was very friendly and pleasant, which was helpful since the signage at this hotel is useless - it took three tries before I found my hovel. I will never stay at a Marriot again anywhere.

    One of the worse experiences

    Reviewed by Taros(Calgary) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The check inn was super slow. Took them an hour to just help 2 parties ahead of us. It was late and we could not find the room that was hidden on the back of the building. Asked 3 staff members that walked around for help and they just walked away. No food to get after we finally got to our room. We had been traveling all day.

    Spacious rooms, great pools, kid friendly

    Reviewed by Lisa D(New South Wales, Australia) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    On arrival at this beautiful seaside resort we were greeted with friendly staff and given gorgeous shell necklaces. The resort is breezy with open plan buildings, it feels inviting and spacious and safe for our 3 kids (12,14 &16). We made use of the adult pool. And also the kids pool. One thing that was a little annoying. Food and beverages were available poolside. Thats if you can flag down a waiter. They were few and far between, so it was up to us to get of our lazy butts and order ourselves. We hired a car so we could travel the island our way. However, you don't need to as there are many tours available and a free service called THE KONA TROLLEY that comes and goes all day, drop of and pick up on various local shopping areas. You cannot walk to town from this resort. We also had Club Assess with our rooms. The club is breakfast and afternoon tea in a very big restaurant type room with sweeping views of the manicured gardens and ocean vista. The food wasn't great! We ate out a lot! The Hilo Hilo Market, is a gift shop/cafe/grocery store. It's great. Has everything you will need if you don't make it off the resort. And the prices aren't too inflated if you compare them to the ABC store. Free wi-fi was always working. Much to the kids delight! Lots of TV Channels, Or log into your netflix! All in all, we loved this stunning west side of the Kona Coast. Mahalo for reading

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX