Waipouli Beach Resort & Spa Kauai by Outrigger Condo

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Loved our suite and the beautiful grounds and pools. The Concierge lady was amazing! The staff were all so accomodating and kind.

    Reviewed by Josie Schmidtke. on Feb 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We loved our condo suite! Staff was very kind and helpful.Staff attended to our concerns quickly and went the extra mile to make sure our air conditioning was working properly. The Concierge lady was amazing and so helpful. The pools and gardens were so clean and so beautiful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Beach was clean but waves were too big and dangerous to try to swim in. The weather was amazing but beach was very windy.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1605 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Can't Go Wrong Here

    Reviewed by Gary K(Stockton, California) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Do I stay at the resort or check out the sites. It's a tough choice because the beach is right out your door.. Accommodations is first rate. Great location and comfortable rooms. My only complaint is that the condo could have some of the basic household items in the room. It seems seems odd to go out and buy large quantities of items just to leave at the resort room.

    Multi generation vacation

    Reviewed by grpandnana(Trabuco Canyon, California) on Aug 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was a really nice place to stay. Clean, comfortable, for the most part quiet. Well stocked with dishes, pots and pans. One item that would be nice is a colander for draining pasta, and another, a Keuriq, much easier to use when needs vary such as decaf/full cafe. Pool was lovely but at times not enough chairs, beach was nice, but again chairs were needed. Two master bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms although one shares a shower with the hall bath fir guests using the pull out sofa. Excellent fitness center, good location across from shops including a grocery store. Negative, traffic on the street is very busy all day into the night. Another negative, owner does not respond quickly to inquiries. Internet slow.

    Very Pleased with the Waipouli Beach Resort

    Reviewed by dervrak(Charleston, West Virginia) on Aug 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I stayed eight days in a 1 bedroom, 1 bath Ocean View Condo. I was flying solo this trip so was little hesitent to stay at a family resort. But Waipouli Beach was a LOT less noisy and crowded than similar resorts I've stayed in on Oahu and Maui (that pretty much goes for the Island as a whole). The Condo was beautiful, it looked like it had been recently remodeled with granite table tops and new appliances. The resort pool was abolutely breathtaking with a lazy river going around the entire property. The resort also had it's own private beach, although it really wasn't that conducive to swimming with rough surf, sharp rocks and a good bit of driftwood (although you can swim in it I guess, several people were). However if swimming in the ocean is what you are after, there are MUCH nicer beaches a few miles up the road (get a rental car). The hotel restaurant (there is only one) was nice and the food was top notch, however it was on the pricy side ($30 a person). I ate there twice but went off the resort for most my dining (again get a rental car). The hotel also had a spa and workout facilities, didn't try the spa, but the workout facilities were pretty good. The staff was pleasant and helpful, all in a all a good experience, I would definately go back, and maybe bring the family this time.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Excellent resort for a family

    Reviewed by abeachgirlmd(Annapolis, Maryland) on Jul 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from 9 days at this resort. We were a group of 6 (2 adults, 3 teens and an 11yo). We stayed in a 2 bd/3 ba ocean view unit - H303. I booked through Evolve Vacation Rentals (Kauai Pacific Real Estate). Our unit had a king in the master bedroom and 2 full beds in the 2nd bedroom. Everything was very comfortable and in great condition. They left a 4 pack of dishwashing detergent, 4 laundry pods, 2 paper towels, numerous toilet paper rolls in the 3 bathrooms, and starter shampoo/conditioner and soap. This was great to get us started. We don't usually spend much time at the resort as we sightsee and hit beaches on the island. However, we did stay at the resort one day and used the pool. Kids had a great time and everyone was very friendly. Location was great, Safeway is directly across the street. We also found a smaller restaurant across the street called Coconuts. Delicious! Cute atmosphere and the food was so good we actually went there twice on our visit. We had no issues whatsoever, and I would highly recommend unit H303.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful first stay in Kauai

    Reviewed by c_miles2008(Martinez, California) on Jul 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Waipouli Beach Resort. Reading some of the reviews ahead of our trip, we were a bit concerned about certain complaints we have read. We did not experience anything to complain about! Check in was super easy and the ladies at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. An issue we read about was the key code to get in your room and the pool. It was not a big deal. We all had it memorized by the end of the first day, even my 9 and 11 year olds. It was actually really nice not having to worry about a hotel key while at the pool or out and about. We knew ahead of time about the cleaning fee and resort fee (which covers parking too) and that was not an issue. We booked directly through Outrigger and it was communicated very thoroughly about the fees. Not having daily cleaning service was not an issue for us. The room was super easy to keep tidy and the added bonus of a washer and dryer was great. We used that multiple times! They do not provide laundry detergent, but sell it for $1 a pod. We had brought our own from home. They did provide dish soap and dishwasher detergent which was great! The room itself was SO spacious. We had a partial ocean view and a view of the pool, room C202. It was a 2 bedroom suite with two double beds in one room and a master bedroom with a king. The bathrooms were large and great! We loved the kitchen as well that had everything we needed. The large fridge was a bonus. The pool was wonderful and the girls who worked in the towel and wrist band areas were very friendly and great to walk around to let others know they couldn't play loud music or throw a football around (which was so nice!). I had read they were picky about outside food coming in the pool area, but never saw or experienced anything like that. In fact, we often brought in our own sandwiches and drinks and it was never an issue. We saw many others do the same. Our boys, 9 & 11, loved the pool and the slides. They also would let you grab pool noodles a the towel area, which our 9 year old loved. They also had a really nice sandy area for smaller kids and 3 hot tubs (we never checked out the hot tubs). All the staff at the pool were great! And a big shoutout to the employee we saw cleaning the pool every morning. It was super clean and we appreciated it! We also used the BBQs on the property. My husband said they were sparkling clean. Also a huge shoutout to the employee we saw cleaning the grills every morning. He took so much time and care cleaning, and it showed. We loved how convenient it was to walk to a lot of other businesses in the surrounding area. Right across the street was a Safeway, McDonalds, Subway, Panda Express, Starbucks, and a wonderful little bakery that sold fresh malasadas! VIP treats and sweets. Also recommend Taps and Hops restaurant. This is our third stay at a property type like this. We have stayed at Aulani in a 2 bedroom suite, and Hilton Kingsland on the Big Island also in a 2 bedroom suite. We really loved the room layout here at Waipouli. We also thought the rooms were very clean. I think the only thing we can even bat an eye at, is that maybe the mattress needs replacing in the master of our room. It wasn't terrible by any means. It did not affect our stay. Thank you to Waipouli and all the staff! We would visit again in a heartbeat!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX