Barceló Gran Faro Los Cabos

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    Our stay was awesome.

    Reviewed by Jo on Mar 12, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Aweosme hotel. Very good food. All bufets and a'la carte were excellent. Nice impression. Good location.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    consistant under performance

    Reviewed by moe on Feb 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    check in good,room nice,maid service poor,missing towels and bath mat was a regular thing,the mini bar was not restocked for over a week,1 day our room did not get made up until 5pm.pool service was ok, pool entertainment staff poor and lacking in activities. we got kicked out of the alacarte resteraunt because our shoes did not meet their rules after they had sat us at out table and took our drink order.we where not even given the option to g change our shoes,very unprofessional. the nightly entertainment was so so,there was a beach party scheduled for the beach twice during our stay but never put on.but the topper was when one of our travel buddies got wings from the snack bar and one still had a feather on it. if this is a 4.5 star resort I can not see how. will not go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Loved it here..Only downsize was if you didn't put your towel on a chair at pool before 8 a.m. you would not get a spot to sit.So many towel

    Reviewed by Cathy on Nov 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Had an amazing time.We would go back for sure.Great location,good food,excellent service and fun activities..

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Definetly we are considering going back next year for 2 weeks

    Reviewed by Lynda on Mar 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were there for 2 weeks. February 5 to 19. Hotel lobby service was great. We were in our room within 15 minutes of arriving. Pool/ beach bar service was fantastic. The buffet was very good. Never left disappointed. Maid service was sometimes later in the afternoon but always did a great job. No disco that was the only disappointing area. Not at all a party place if your looking for night life go to downtown Los Cabos for an evening. Buses run til 10PM & you can cab it home.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Disappointed and not recommended.

    Reviewed by Robinson on Feb 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    On first impression, this property seems quite nice. The location is in San Jose Del Cabo and is in walking distance to many things with a beautiful beach. However, as the week drew on we became increasingly disappointed with the hotel and it's services. It is not as it is portrayed on their website. Kids club very minimal and not inviting. Activity staff mostly inactive with only token effort. Restaurants slow and food mediocre. The pools are nice and the grounds well kept. Maintenance is slipping in many areas. Toilet seats missing, fridges not working, locks on doors broken etc. The staff do not seem to like their jobs and are not engaging as we have experienced in other resorts. We would not come back to this resort and perhaps not a Barcelo as this was our first experience with this group and it has disappointed us. From our 20 years of travel, what we have experienced in the last week is a 3.5 star at best.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    5

    Wonderful week in Los Cabos

    Reviewed by 55Going on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just returned from a week at Barceló Grand Faro. It is a beautiful location with well manicured lawns/flowers and stunning views of the Sea of Cortez. It is a 4 star resort but with excellent service, very good food for an all inclusive resort. The staff, entertainment and overall cleanliness of the property made for a great relaxing week. We would consider returning and felt it was excellent value for a week of sun.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    very good food and service, housekeeping was slow and lacking, nice location

    Reviewed by cold manitoban on Feb 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The service staff and food were very good. The housekeeping left a bit to be desired. Our room was not made up until 3 or 4 PM daily. The hotel seemed to have a shortage of hand towels, the first day we had 2, the second day no hand towel, the third day no towels at all just a bathmat , we did get 2 bath towels, 2 face cloths, ONE hand towel and another bathmat when we called housekeeping , the fourth day our hand towel was replaced with an extra bath towel, the fifth day we got 2 extra bath towels. The sixth day day we got an extra bath mat, no hand towel. The last day we lost 1 of the face cloths .... still no hand towel. Mid week when the the sheets were changed apparently they were short of king sheets as we got 2 double sheets over lapped for a bottom sheet. It got be that we would amuse ourselves trying to guess what we would get for linens today. We did try to to let the front desk know of housekeeping's short comings when we checked out but she was too busy typing on her computer to listen. Other than that we did enjoy our stay and would consider staying there again, but if ever got a full set of towels we would hide them when we left the room.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    G

    Great two weeks!

    Reviewed by Gail on Dec 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    A great location , very central for San Jose. The surf is very high so not for swimming, but beach is long and clean. Great for long walks. Staff were really friendly and accommodating. We requested a king bed room which was not available at check-in, we were moved the following morning as soon as one was ready. We travel a lot, know what to expect and would definitely recommend this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3737 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Awesome Holiday

    Reviewed by Meander25560493415() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Location was great very accessible to all local attractions. The resort was the perfect size, easy to get around with a disability, but still had 4 restaurant choices and nightly entertainment. Three different pools to choose from depending on your preference ie infinity pool, activities pool and the larger pool with the swim up bar. The staff here were the best, friendly and helpful, just ask and they would provide! We would definitely return!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Average cleanliness in food areas pool area very nice, food very good

    Reviewed by David L(Andover) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Pool area very nice, staff very nice, drinks watered down, nice room cleaned everyday, Please clean the table tops better, including the dining rooms with table coverings and areas that have placemats

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Stay somewhere else

    Reviewed by huumbug2018(Chico, California) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    It’s a beautiful resorts, our room was ok but we paid for the vip service, which seems we didn’t get! The vip lounge is a joke for the check in as it takes so long to check in and half the time the refrigerator is empty half the time! Everyone at the resort was friendly and service good but the food quality especially in the fine dining restaurant is not good! Most of the time the food over cooked! Housekeeping is not the best either! Half the time we had no towel had to ask for the turn down service which we paid extra for in the vip package only happened twice in 9 days after my husband complained! Even after that they only did it twice! 6 of us went and my brother room had a leak in the bathroom and had to fight to get room changed as it ruined all my sister in laws makeup! The sanitation in the buffets is not the best! Most don’t wear gloves and touch all sorts of things! Last day my brother got sick! I travel a lot and was very disappointed as it’s a beautiful resort in a great location right on the beach! Our manger gilberto in the fine dining restaurants tried very hard to make things right! He is a blessing to the resort!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Wonderful time at the Barcelo!

    Reviewed by krimobc(Vernon, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just came back from a stay at the Barcelo. Beautiful grounds and pools. We found the staff to be very hard working to help make our stay enjoyable. Our room was kept very clean and well stocked by our friendly housekeeper (Room 1510). The food at the buffets was quite good - always something to eat and the Italian and Mexican restaurants were excellent. We had upgraded to a premium ocean view room and we had a spectacular view of the ocean and grounds. Premium level did provide exceptional service (very quick check in, easy sign up for specialty restaurants, and excellent response to any other query we had). Also, was great in the morning before the buffets opened to be able to get a cappuccino and a snack from the Premium Lounge. The entertainment was actually quite good (the dancers were really good) - especially the Michael Jackson show. It was a little noisy in our room until the evening entertainment was over so we just went to the shows! It was easy to catch local transportation to downtown San Jose or to Cabo San Lucas. The only hiccup was that the shower handle was not working right so the first few days we only had lukewarm water. Other than that, we had a wonderful time! Would recommend!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Excelente!

    Reviewed by Kamabuki(Battle Ground, WA) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wonderful stay at the Barcelo Gran Faro. Exceptional staff. The grounds were clean and well maintained with walking paths through the beautiful gardens. We upgrading to Premium Level All Inclusive and enjoyed the food at all the restaurants and buffet's. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping, off site restaurants and downtown San Jose Del Cabo or for $1usd you can hop on one the many Urbano buses (an experience you won't forget) right in front of the hotel to take you in to town. The staff out front of the hotel will guide you in the right direction if you have any questions. We chose to stay in one the beach front rooms and were glad we did. It was wonderful to hear the waves at night while drifting off to sleep and then to be able to wake up in the morning and sit on our private balcony sipping coffee while watching the sun rise up out of the sea.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX