Sunscape Cove Montego Bay

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    k

    Wonderful family resort

    Reviewed by kr on Aug 05, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This is a great family resort, great beach, lots of activities. The waterpark was awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    A great hotel for families with a budget. The waterpark and pools for kids are fantastic.

    Reviewed by Travlgurl on Jul 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The resort was well kept and rooms are very spacious. Really enjoyed the beach front room. The staff were very kind and did their best to accomodate.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Really liked it

    Reviewed by Diane on Jul 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wow I have to say that for a value property it was awesome especially for family I would definitely good back for sure

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Ocean View was Fantastic!

    Reviewed by Di on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I loved this resort, it was very picturesque, there is something for everyone in a family, food was great, and the service was amazing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Fun for the whole family!

    Reviewed by Globetrotter on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wonderful family friendly resort. Great waterpark for kids. Clean and spacious room. Welcoming staff. Overall, great property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Great value for families

    Reviewed by Jen on Jul 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    beautiful calm beach - great for young children to play in - access to the water park but can also have the quiet area as well-

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Would stay here again

    Reviewed by Kelly Anderson on Jul 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Value Hotel

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Family fun for all!

    Reviewed by Sue on Jul 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel was fun and friendly. Something for everyone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1730 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Pretty Good

    Reviewed by Ashapy(Baltimore, Maryland) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    At first we got a room far in the back with no balcony so we upgraded for some extra dollars to a beachfront room. The new room was fabulous and directly on the beach. Worth the upgrade. We payed the extra 40$ to have a butler for 2 nights which was a waste of money. They don't really do much except help you get a reservation in the restaurants. It is actually pretty hard to get into the restuarants- people start to line up a half hour before. It's an annoying process. Speaking of restuarants- o.m.g. they take forever!!!!! I know your not in a rush but waiting an hour for your food each night gets annoying. The buffet is way easier but the restuarant food Is better. All the waiters were nice. The other workers at this resort are not very kind. The lady behind the grill was rude to my son when he asked for popcorn and never gave it to him. It's a great kid friendly resort is beautiful!!! But dont expect gold star treatment.

    Perfect place for a casual relaxing vacation

    Reviewed by Greg B() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great time at the Cove last week! Our room was comfortable and clean. Everyone at the resort were friendly and made us feel at home. This is a nice size resort as it is just big enough to have activities going on, but not so big you get lost trying to find them! We will be back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Loved It!

    Reviewed by PMtime82(Omaha, Nebraska) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 7th visit to Jamaica in the last 3 1/2 years. It was our 1st visit to the Cove. We felt like Family right away! Lenworth, Ricky and Juan at the Oasis Lobby Bar were terrific! Joy & Albert always greeted us with a great smile and warm welcome and Jameel gave us wonderful service at Da Mario and the Terrace. Enjoyed the room service! The pizza was a nice bedtime snack. The waterpark & activities pools were our favorite. Looking forward to our next visit! Ya Mon!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Mixed Experience

    Reviewed by 629keving(Montego Bay, Jamaica) on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I’m writing this as we are still here, and there are some great points about this place and some mediocre as well. The good: people are SO friendly. They go out of their way to make their guests happy I would give them a 10/10 in this regard. Our room, with the bunk bed, could use a refresh in style but has been great for the four of us. What has really taken away from our experience are a few things. First, waiting at the swim up bar is not fun. Today I timed it and it took 8 minutes for the person waiting there to come over ... and we (3 of us) were the only ones there. This has been frustrating and we are the not only ones to feel this way. The food isn’t bad, but not great either. Some advertised items (cheese sauce my kids love) have not been here for a couple of days and the options in the kids part of the buffet has some non-kid foods that make you wonder why they are there. The dining rooms frequently run out of the plastic cups for water or soft drinks and it can take a while until they get replaced. What I consider false advertising is the $200 USD that you are told when booking you get. What is left out, unless it is somewhere in the super-small print on the website, is that you can’t use it the way you want and is usable only across multiple resort services. Again, we are not the only ones to feel this way.

    Unfortunately, no

    Reviewed by worldtravelNYC(New York City, New York) on Mar 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    From the strange, awkward check-in service to the grounds that look like a sad elementary school met a grungy public pool, the Sunscape Cove, despite the best efforts of some wonderful employees, is the kind of vacation that teaches you that you get what you pay for. Relaxation is virtually impossible thanks to an undersupplied and understaffed motel. This is no resort. It's a timeshare sales pitch and horrible playground hidden inside a run-down two star motel with food that seems like it's a from a cafeteria where the cooks hate the customers. It's unfortunate. The beachfront itself is clean and nice. The staff seems to be beaten down to a point where they are unable to make kind or logical decisions. I was chastised for making my own dinner reservations. The staff decided to bang away at building a fence directly outside my door at 8am while I was trying to get some rest. A "mobile phone" is placed in your room without your consent and you are forced to sign a waiver that if it is lost you will pay $1000 in fines. The phone is used for your "butler" to be strangely aggressive. As someone who travels constantly (more than 75 nights a year in hotels for work and occasional leisure) I advise you to stay away. Some very nice staff, but when it comes to deciding on staying at this hole? Unfortunately, no.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX