Couples Negril

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    S

    Terrible would not recommend

    Reviewed by SynSyn on Feb 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Beach was spectacular, weather was perfect but the resort not so much. We were not informed while booking our vacation nor did it state anywhere on there website that the pool would be closed for renovations. We showed up to see the giant eyesore since the pool is located right in the middle of the resort, it was all boarded up and people were working on it around the clock. Service was hit and miss I found for the most part the people working in the restaurants were quite rude and slow. There sit down restaurants in the evening were terrible you waited quite along time to get your tiny portion of food and had to wait almost as long just for a drink. Hugely disappointed on Couples Negril, this was our first vacation away together and we wanted top notch which is what we thought couples negril was I would rate it more as a 2 star. They were giving 300$ resort credits for the inconvenience of the pool being closed, but they did not mention were heard from other people staying at the resort. I guess there theory was if they don?t ask we won?t tell. We went up to customer service and after 45mins of explaining and waiting we finally got our credit on the last day of our stay. Overall I was very disappointed and would most definitely not recommend this resort to anyone . I had friends stay at 2 star resorts in negril who had a better time than we did . If your young this is for sure not the place for you it was empty and most people were 50 and up nightly entertainment was boring. Was in bed every night by 9 double thumbs down

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4759 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Couples Negril - nice holiday

    Reviewed by TomCalgary(Calgary, Canada) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have just returned from spending five days at Couples Negril. Three years ago we went to Couples Swept away. We enjoyed our time there and thought we would return to Couples but try this resort. Couples Negril did not disappoint and seemed to match Couples Swept away in all areas. Without a doubt, the advantages of this resort are the beach, the water sports and their customer service. The beach is truly one of the nicest beaches we've stayed at....soft sand, clear/warm water and easy to walk along. (The downside...there are always vendors wanting to sell you their goods. Some people like this.). The food was very good. We really appreciated, compared to other resorts, the option for gentlemen to wear shorts to dinner in most of the restaurants at dinner. This made things more relaxed and felt more like a holiday. We did, however, see individuals turned away when trying to show up for dinner in bathing suits and wearing tank tops! (We were happy to see this occur, too!). During the day, there was lots to choose from either at their buffet or snack bar. Food was good, not great, but it certainly didn’t stop us from eating! Like Couples Swept Away, Couples Negril resort is all about customer service. Employees are very friendly. Regularly you will be approached to ensure everything is meeting your satisfaction. You are always invited to take part in resort activities...this earns you points that can be used in a weekly auction to buy some souvenirs. Rochelle with the activity team was very welcoming! The waiters and waitresses are also very attentive and personable. If you have any questions or concerns, individuals are always available and deal with you respectfully. We certainly didn’t feel the push to tip any individual like we have experienced at other resorts...but we still recognized good service! We loved the water sports that were included with this resort. We took advantage of the complimentary snorkelling tours and went out every day. We saw tons of fish, sting rays, eels and puffer fish. Sure don’t see those in the city! For those who desire, there are paddle boards, kayaks, sailboats, scuba diving and water skiing. The water sports offered is the best of any resort we have stayed at. As others have written, the rooms are not luxurious...in fact they are quite basic. BUT they are clean and room service staff do an excellent job. We had a beach front resort which was next door to the main restaurant and entertainment area. If you were making an early night of it, the bands and singers could be heard in your room. However, the longer we stayed at the resort and enjoyed the positives they had to offer, the less important the rooms became. Some individuals also didn't like the small swimming pools....not a concern for us; why be at a pool when you have one of the best beaches in the world at your fingertips? For those preferring to have a nude holiday, there is a beach for that too. This was never an issue for those preferring their swim suits as the nude beach is somewhat isolated. If we were to provide a star ranking to this resort, we would place it around a 4 out of 5. It is a very nice adult only get away. We would rate it the same as Couples Swept Away. Most importantly, we would be happy to return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Another great trip

    Reviewed by mayor1313(Paris, Kentucky) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just finishing our 17th trip in 16 years to Couples Negril. We have visited several other resorts but once we found CN we have never gone anywhere else. The Beach and staff are wonderful. Did I mention the BEACH. Only 234 rooms so it never seems crowded. The New GM is a great addition to CN. She is very personable and attentive. Very special lady. The pool was just redone and has a swim up bar although we haven’t been in it in a few years because of the beautiful beach. Rooms are nice nothing over the top but we aren’t in our room but to sleep and get ready for dinner. Restaurants are great. I think you can get food 23 and 1/2 hours out the day. Many waterspouts are included. The Catamaran cruise is a must. So if you are looking for a relaxing wonderful place to spend time with your significant other Couples Negril is it.

    Honeymoon to remember

    Reviewed by beaches_baby(Austin, Texas) on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We actually went to this resort in June 2007. It was so great and we often think back on this resort fondly. They had phenomenal food and drinks. We especially liked the dirty banana! We also enjoyed the fact that we can put our umbrella up and drinks keep on coming on the beach. It was glorious. We had the honeymoon suite which was large but not exactly the level of luxury I expected for the price. The beach was BEAUTIFUL and tranquil. We had a wonderful time.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A trip like no other!

    Reviewed by Jazmin R() on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved this place, it is our best trip yet. Lets start with the room, we loved the size, cable channels and the view that we had (partial ocean). The bathroom area was also nice and our room was cleaned regularly without issue. Its also a bonus that you are provided with 2 water bottles to utilize around the resort and your ice bucket is regularly filled by the staff. Amenities: We loved that majority of the water sports are included in the package so you can enjoy snorkeling, water skiing and sailboating just by being a guest of the property. There is a nice outdoor workout area where group classes taught by certified trainers throughout the day and the gym is a nice size with water,gatorade and towels available. The restaurant staff (all 4) are extremely friendly and accommodating. My husband and I personally love plaintains with every meal and there were some days that it wasn't offered in the breakfast buffet but the amazing restaurant staff would go in the back and cook them just for us. We found that this kind of treatment was present at each restaurant. Last but certainly not least we loved the entertainment that they offered. My husband and I love sports and participating in games and there were so many activities throughout the day that were well thought through. For example, the first night they hosted a paint and sip by the pool with an artist who then interpreted each couples paintings. It was amazing. They also had the piano bar every night which is a good time and amazing performers/singers throughout our week there. Literally, each day we engaged in a couple of the entertainment activities and they were all fun and added so much to our trip. We absolutely loved the entertainment staff they were so fun, kind, genuine and really made us feel at home. They were so personable and even sat with us for some of our meals which we have never experienced before. Thank you Tavoya, Ackeem, Fiona, Iesha and Rachel just to name a few who are apart of the entertainment team and really helped make this trip amazing for us. They also made sure we knew what activities were going on throughout the day since they knew we enjoyed taking part It was a home away from home without a doubt due to their hospitality. The fact that we know there names speaks to how much they interacted with us as guests! Our trip wouldn't of been the same without them.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    15 Year Anniversary trip was perfect!

    Reviewed by bbqwithjeff() on Jul 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have been planning this trip for almost a year and a half. We decided we wanted to go to Jamaica but didn't know where to start. I HIGHLY recommend contacting Ruth Demuth at tripguy.com. She is the absolute expert on Jamaica and will walk you through the process. And she's free! :) We thought we wanted to stay at a different resort but after talking with her she recommended Couples Negril. She walked us through the entire process and event sent us some beer coozies and Jamiacan flags before our trip. Very fun! Now on to the Couples Negril review... The resort is absolutely beautiful and everything we had hoped. With two small kids we don't get to travel very much, so this trip was a very big deal for us. We were on the van with some other couples and a few had been to Couples before. Upon check-in we were presented with a bottle of champagne for our anniversary. The returning people didn't get this...it was from Guest Services but I would bet booking through Ruth had something to do with that also! We booked a beachfront suite and were given a corner room in Bldg. 6 It was absolutely incredible. Had to have been the best room/view there. If you read reviews that a beachfront suite isn't worth it...it's because those people aren't staying in one. The mini-bar service as well as the cleaning staff were top notch. Never an issue and everyone was so nice. We found the food to be very good throughout the resort. My wife flat refuses to eat buffets....won't do it. She loved the food at Cassava Terrace. Some morning we had breakfast there...some mornings just did the coffee/cereal and pastries delivered to the room. Their Jamaican themed dinner on Thursday night (I think it's Thursdays) can't be missed. Curry goat and Oxtails...Yah Mon! Veronica at the Veggie Bar makes great sandwiches and the lighter meals during the day were really nice. Our anniversary dinner was at Otaheite. It was a bit confusing as we didn't realize you ordered your entire meal all at once, so we forgot to get the salad. Very very nice setting and they have it down. A couple of Grey Goose martini's for me during the dinner and the night was off and running. Lychee was ok. It was nice because it seemed you weren't at the resort any longer but stepped foot somewhere else. My wife's Pad Thai was really bland but my green curry duck was great! Having a late night grill option also was really nice. Sometimes you need a late night snack or 5th meal, so to walk down and get something real quick was a game-saver some nights. :) Drinks are poured stiff and we had a great time chatting up Charles and Hopeton one day at the pool bar. Charles was giving Hopeton the business the whole time and it was pretty funny to watch. I will drink whatever but my wife more prefers white wine. It was a Sauvignon Blanc from Frontera...heavy pours on the wine throughout the resort which was good for me because then I'm funnier and more attractive. :) Donovan was really great to watch in the Piano Bar. We went to his show with the band also...but he really shines when he's just by himself. Going to his show in the Piano Bar is a must. I can't say enough great things about Couples Negril. It is a pretty quiet resort but they do try and have a lot of fun activities during the day, so if you are looking for the huge party atmosphere...this isn't it. We walked down the beach to the Royalton...music blaring...they had a "Vibe Team"...I wanted to stab myself in the eyes.If you are looking for a fun and relaxing Jamaican vacation with good food/drinks and outstanding service then this is the place for you.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX