Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 3116 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Relaxing vacation

    Reviewed by GlobeTrotting790951() on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Overall it is a great and very relaxing resort. I'd call it all inclusive for people who normally don't do all inclusive. Number of rooms is limited, rooms are not sharing walls with each other, and surrounded by well manicured jungle. We've asked for the room in quiet location away from the road and the restaurant/pool, and were given one in 700 section. It was very quiet at night. Room was comfortable, had adequate storage and great shower. Water pressure was always good. Temperature was sometimes hot, sometimes warm, but always comfortable to take a shower. Best things about this resort are: beach, service, and food. All three were outstanding. Security at the resort and the beach was also very good. Restaurant did excellent job preparing traditional Jamaican dishes for breakfast and dinner in addition to standard resort "cousine". If you never tried this before, use this opportunity. You will not be disappointed. Beach grill is also excellent.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great first stay...will likely return.

    Reviewed by goddess of r(somewhere anonymous) on Feb 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at this resort from Jan. 28 - Feb. 4, 2019. I'd been reading reviews for months, so I wasn't surprised by the features some people seem disappointed about (of course there's no pleasing some people). I highly recommend future visitors read many reviews so they know what to expect. Of course one's degree of satisfaction depends not only on expectations but one's values. On both counts, this resort delivered for us. As Canadian cottagers, we found the rooms and grounds splendid. The photos don't really do it justice. It's a magical place. And a nature-lover/birdwatcher's paradise. If you visit, don't forget to say hello to Cheech the lizard who hangs out on the lightpost by the smoking area nightly. Service was excellent. Was every detail of the resort perfect? No. But we felt we received good value. We're grateful to ALL the staff for their hard work and friendly, helpful attitude. They do an amazing job of making everyone feel welcome, and it's clear how much love goes into every aspect of the experience. We hope to see you again! One general comment for travelers (not related to the resort), I found the drive from Montego Bay to Negril stressful - narrow, winding cliff-side roads and traffic chaos (compared to what I'm used to). So, if you have fragile nerves be prepared for that.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Perfect Destination

    Reviewed by Gary C(Salem, Oregon) on Feb 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from our two week stay at SATP. This was our third stay at this location in as many years. We traveled with another couple who were there for their second time. All of us had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to return. The Staff: First of all a tip of the hat to Stacey. What a wonderful way to start out the day. She is a gem. The same goes for Claudette. Both in the morning and at lunch, Claudette is there with her wonderful smile. Both of these ladies are the best. When we returned we were looking forward to seeing Vanessa again. We were not disappointed on our first night back. She is not only attentive and helpful, but a joy to be around. And then there is Duane. We met Duane for the first time last year and were thrilled to see him again this year. He just sparkled with his smile and laugh. He was so helpful and always there to make sure we had what we needed. And then there is Craig. From our first stay Craig has been a favorite and this year was no exception. All of the staff go above and beyond. There was also a young lady daily at the grill on the beach but I did not get her name. She was always so happy and friendly with a genuine smile and went out of her way to make sure we got what we wanted. We often ate our lunches there because of her. The food was again outstanding. We all truly felt there was something that put it above what we rememberd from previous visits. The food and selection were always great before, but there was just something this year that made it stand out. The prime rib on Italian night was the best I have had in years. The addition of the BBQ night at the beach was truly outstanding. The additional work all of the staff went to in order to make this happen was evident and it was wonderful. The resort and overall facilities were again clean and extremely well maintained. We had an issue when we first arrived with our air conditioner. We mentioned it and there was someone at our cabin within minutes to make sure it was taken care of, and it was. The beach was pristine. You walk either way on the beach and look as adjacent resorts to see beach debris all along the edge of the water. Not so at SATP. Everything is clean and freshly manicured in the morning and throughout the day. The same was true about the grounds at the resort. We were so happy so see Clinton again. Bottom line is, we are already talking about our return trip next year. We arrived towards the end of January 2019 and left February 7th.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Tranquil

    Reviewed by 144sonya(Mandeville, Jamaica) on Feb 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a very relaxing weekend. A quiet getaway for all workaholics. The beach is absolutely breathtaking and inviting. I would visit the Palms every month if I was able to. The staff is friendly and nice.

    Great Vacation

    Reviewed by jamaikafun(London, On) on Feb 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Celebrating a retirement. We give this resort a 5. Everything was Irie, very nice. Great food, service, ..... We had a great time. Everyone was polite and wanted us to experience a wonderful vacation. All you read on trip reports are true. We have no complaints. Our treehouse was lovely, but I do have one suggestion for better lighting at the bottom of the stairs room 714, seemed to be very poorly lighted unlike the other treehouses, and I experienced a few near misses. We loved the gardens, the beautiful birds, the tree frogs at night and the Jamaica sun and blue sky and water. The beach was the best on the bay. The craft market on the bay was also nice and had fair prices. Bring your insect cream or spray, as even though the resort is fogged, you must remember the Great Morass is just behind the resort. We enjoyed the specialty restaurants, and the main buffet. Beach grill and red flag service was wonderful. Even a superbowl party to enjoy. The resort is very clean ans well kept. Yes, this was a very nice vacation. Sunset at the Palms -thank you we had a wonderful time.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX