Beaches Ocho Rios - A Spa, Golf & Waterpark Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 5243 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Overpriced, horrible food, horrible service

    Reviewed by Hugs622(Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) on Jan 18, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We booked Beaches Ocho Rios as our first family vacation. Arrival was great and check in process was easy. There were a handful of employees there that were very friendly and provided great service. Rooms were also clean and well kept. The food however I thought was horrible besides breakfast at every restaurant they had. I ordered steak on two occasions and both times the meat was super tough and way over seasoned with salt to the point I had a few bites and had to stop. Secondly they beach area was small and not maintained well. Lastly, although as mentioned there were 3-4 people that was a pleasure to deal with, the majority of the staff was miserable. Every time we asked for something they seemed annoyed. We regretted paying so much for this trip and wish we would have just stayed home.

    great time at Beaches Ocho Rios

    Reviewed by BigCaribbeanLover(South Windsor, Connecticut) on Jan 16, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Went to this resort with my granddaughter. It's a long transfer to get there but it's worth it. Everyone at the resort was so nice. There were so many activities to partake in- and I think we did every one. The food was excellent. Davian and his team in Neptunes restaurant made my grandaughter feel so special with their fun surprise birthday greeting and cake. We're still singing their catchy song. We made wonderful memories which will last a lifetime.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Recent visit to Beaches Ocho Rios

    Reviewed by gclubbs2020(Panama City, Florida) on Jan 15, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Just returned from 5 nights at Beaches Ocho Rios with my wife and adult children / spouses. Resort is nice and reasonably clean and updated but it is an old facility. I would guess over 30 years. Food is ok but not great. Pretty much the same food in all the restaurants just with different names or maybe preparation ie jerk sea trout in one and grilled sea trout in another with different sauces. With a few minor exceptions...the staff was very nice and accommodating. Water sports included ended up being a big disappointment. Of the five days that we were there we were not allowed to use any of the diving, snorkeling, sailing, paddle boarding equipment. I grew up on the Gulf Coast of Florida and have spent a lot of time in and around the water. They said each day that the weather was too rough but it looked like 1-2 foot seas to me and less inshore of the barrier reef. After the first day or two we checked with the local dive shop in Ocho Rios and they said they were running trips everyday so not sure what the deal was with that but it was disappointing. This is more of a family with young kids resort. Not much to do for adults and especially not adult singles. You can visit the Sandals Resort and use their amenities, restaurants, etc. at no charge but it cost us $75 round trip for transportation per day. The Sandals resort is definitely more adult appealing but still not singles. Food and atmosphere are both a full point above Beaches but still only around a 4. Pretty much the same food just with fancier names and décor at Sandals. If you are looking for an all inclusive to lay on the beach and the pool and zone out it is not a bad choice but definitely not a 4-5 star experience.

    Highly Recommended for Family Vacations!

    Reviewed by 6666s() on Jan 14, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff are wonderful. They really do make this place worth the visit and value. We are already thinking about when we can return. Food was amazing. They accommodated our request for halal which was great. This is up there with one of our favourite family vacations. We have a 2 and 5 year old who just loved it too.

    Amazing trip with 15 people and it was Awesome!!!

    Reviewed by Nathan H(Martinsville, Indiana) on Jan 14, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beaches Ocho Rios Our family had a magical experience at Beaches Ocho Rios. We were there December 28 2019- January 4th 2020. We had 15 people with our group. The trip was to celebrate my 40th birthday and my Father's 66th birthday. I have never been to Sandals/Beaches with my extended family. My wife and two children have been to several Sandals/Beaches together. I was not sure how often a group of 15 would be able to sit together for dinner and be able to coordinate things as a group. Those fears were gone day 1. Jermaine helped us with reservations and was a pleasure to speak with all week. He is definitely a hard worker. Every time I saw him he was busy at work. He was always smiling and always said hi to me. The arrival was a breeze. We used Club Mobay at the airport. There airport was very crowded, but we breezed through security and customs. We barely had time for a drink before we were on a bus to the resort. The driver was very friendly and informative during the drive. It was a very comfortable trip from Montego Bay airport to the resort. Check in was great. Shelly helped us sort out a few things perfectly. She was such a pleasure to be around. She even went out of her way to get my father on a dive the next day that was full already. It is amazing how friendly and nice she was to me and our group. We spoke almost every day. We ate at Neptunes the first night and one of the servers Courtney came to say hello because he remembered our family from a trip there a year ago. He was so fun. He danced with the kids during dinner and even helped our server Kado keep our glasses filled. The service was amazing that night. All 15 of us sit together and had a blast. The kids even got to see Benji the barracuda at the end of the pier that night. The dive staff at the resort was amazing. The dives would fill up every morning very early. We had to sign up right at 8:30 in the morning for the next day's dives or they would fill up. Mouse ( One of the Dive Masters) was such a great help for us. He made my Father's entire week for all his dives. He went out of his way to help our group during the week. My 11 year old son, 13 year old daughter and 38 year old sister are fairly new divers and had some problems while diving. Mouse was excellent helping them along. He never rushed them to the bottom. He was an awesome Dive Master! He showed a lot of patience. Tom Cruise (Rushane) was such an amazing entertainer this week. He became part of our family. My mother and father both had a blast spending time with him. He is so great at having events for the kids. I was a little unsure if my younger sister would feel comfortable letting her 8 and 10 year olds run off with the staff without any of us tagging along. By the second day we let all the kids roam the resort on their own without a care in the world. That is saying a lot for how worried a few of our group were before arrival. Tom Cruise makes you feel so comfortable and safe. Our entire group will miss him so much until our next visit. We ate at the Venetian and the service and food was great. Vanessa W. and Michael were such great servers. Michael kept the kids entertained with puzzles and tricks. It was so great how well he was with all the kids that night. I thanked Michael later in the week and you could really tell how much he enjoys his job. He really seemed like he had a good time entertaining our group. Steve the head chef brought my son out a surprise that night and it was amazing as well. Steve was always checking in with us. He was a great chef. We had made reservations for the Venetian again for New Year's Eve. Mr. Charles Bratcher the hotel manager found me during the day and recommended that I eat at the buffet that was part of the New Year's Eve party. I was hesitant because we normally do not eat many buffets. I was so thankful that he made the suggestion. The food at the party was the hands down best buffet I have ever had. It was a seafood buffet. There were lobster tails, crab legs, shrimp, oysters, clams, salad bar, many desserts, local dishes and much more. Wow was the food great! We had ordered a cake that night for my Father's birthday and about 20-30 staff members came out and sang to my father. It was such a wonderful night. It was one of the best Ney Year's Eve nights I have ever experienced. Tom Cruise and Alex did an amazing job with all the kids dancing and speaking with all the guests. They both sit with us and ate that night. It was such a pleasure speaking with them and enjoying the evening together. They really made the event. Our server Tamika was great. She was a pleasure to be around and she spoke with me the next several days on resort. I enjoyed getting to spend time with Mr. Brian Roper the resort General Manager. He is really a good guy to be around. I was amazed at how much fun the staff had with him. He was always joking and kidding with staff members. You can really tell he is liked on the resort. He even made a deal with my son to get him his phone back from us that he was grounded from :). We might need Mr. Roper back at home because my son did everything he was told and was so happy to show Mr. Roper his phone the next day. Alex J. was a server for us at the BBQ restaurant for lunch and he was enjoyable to be around. He talked with us a lot that meal and made us feel at home. Latoya at Loyalty and travel remembered our family from the year before. She spoke with us several times and her and Peter Gaye helped us book a couple future bookings. I sit with Latoya and the returning guest meal and a Diamond guest breakfast. She was a lot of fun to be around. Our last meal was at La Parisian and it was awesome. The servers Shandee and Dania were fabulous. They even played a trick on our group about running out of lobster and then brought a double plate to our table. They did an outstanding job! Our room was always meticulously cleaned. Our housekeeper Venicia was so friendly. She always spoke to me by name. She was great at accommodating my kids that slept very odd hours while on vacation. She even helped my daughter track down a few things while there. It was a fantastic trip. I really feel part of the family at Beaches Ocho Rios. We can't wait to return again. I was amazed at how kind the staff was to everyone on resort. Mr. Roper and Mr. Bratcher have things figured out at this resort. I can't wait to see them both next visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5