Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    V

    Not much nice to say: great beaches.

    Reviewed by Viktor Madarasz on Mar 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Ended up in a mold infested room. Slept on the balcony for 2 days before we were moved. The place is more and more rundown every year. If you are looking for a second rate motel atmosphere with ripped carpets, not working ancient elevators, 10000 times repainted furniture in restaurants, disinterested staff that only perks up for tips, boring same everyday cafeteria food and non stop sales pitches in timeshares than this is your dream vacation spot. The wi-fi is spotty at best { after you payed for it}. The "entertainment" would have been better if it was provided by a group of 10 year olds. The one and only thing going for this place is the beaches. If you can go anywhere else, do it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    It was my first time traveling to Jamaica but fell in love with the place.

    Reviewed by Nellie from Nova Scotia on Nov 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    The staff were exceptionally hospitable and polite (with special shout-out to the Westjet rep Mama Charmaine).The beach was a little rocky in some areas, but was very clean and not crowded. I travelled with a group of 40 people and we all said we will return. The location was great, because it was big enough for the group to separate and do our own thing and it had something (activity)for the different ages in our group.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    More like a 5* for what we paid!!!

    Reviewed by ACsl8tr on May 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our 2nd time back to this property. My Fiancee and I love it. The price was Perfect for what we were looking for. Its definetly more a 5*. I mean we had marble/granite floors. Large balcony, the maids even wash and sweep your floors every day! Which is almost unheard of in many All Inclusive resorts. Everyone was So friendly there. Even the gardeners, they always had a smile for us. I am a picky eater and I ate at the buffet every day and didnt get sick once. The Beach had SO many extra loungers than the pool did so we made our way to the beach for the last few days. Check out the beach first. The only thing I didnt like was, they didnt have enough bath towels. We used our beach towels instead while we waited for the towels to be brought up when they had some fresh clean ones. There was so many new things there this time around. A kids water park, they re did the beach area so there are a few private areas on the beach you can sit down and relax on. I would definitely come back to this resort on my next vacation!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Unforgettable, and will return!

    Reviewed by Sacha on Apr 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    Pros: Staff were exceptionally hospitable and polite (with special shout-outs to the Westjet rep Charmaine, as well as the bartenders Joel, Damian, Vanessa, Jerome, and Evrad for going above and beyond.), the food and booze were plentiful and delicious, beach and pool areas were immaculate, room was only slightly dated but otherwise bright and clean. Cons: Paid $100 CAD to have Wifi that wasn't even remotely reliable, and there was construction going on directly beneath my balcony the entire time I was there, so I was woken up at 8am every day by belt-sanders.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Staff were awsome, they made us feel welcome. Good food. Love jerked chicken. Love the beach too, although Cuba beaches are better.

    Reviewed by Maisiena Vovinam on Jul 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is great resort, and very large. We read other comments and asked for buidling 17000/18000 where it's close to beach, and waterpark, and they give us building 17000. Thanks for all comments. We love this resort, althought some parts of beach are mossy, but that was a great spot for snorkling, my 2 kids loved it. ONE WARNING about Invitation to attend free breakfast of Privillege club - this is a trap - don't attend it. This is basically a timeshare program, waiste time and could be lots of money. My husband received this invitation at the door, and was exciting to go. We both went, but after all, they just want to sell their hotel timeshare, we ended up SPENT 14,000$ paid upfront $7000, no breakfast at LUXURY resort, late lunch. How stupid! What are the cruel people! we both got persuaded and signed, but so regreted afterward, want to get out, sale manager said WE CAN'T, we are doomed. I hated these people so much. This program would worth a total $6000. HOW STUPID!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Poor service and unfriendly staff

    Reviewed by Jen from Calgary on Jul 05, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I wanted to write a review to warn people about this resort. They claim to be a 5 star, but there is no way that can be true. Their staff are unfriendly and have no sense of urgency. The service is poor (when you can actually get service) and they are unapologetic and sometimes rude. The front desk rarely answers the phone and when they do they "accidentally" hang up on you or transfer you around to different people and then the line goes dead. The food wasn't very good for a 5 star, and the buffet was constantly out of plates, glasses, silverware, various soft drinks, etc. There was one day where the towel hut was out of towels at 11 am! You call this a 5 star resort?! They are a huge resort and definitely unable to keep up with the amount of people staying there. Keep in mind this is currently their OFF season... I would hate to see them at full capacity if they can't even keep up with their guests in their off season. I was really looking forward to going on this trip. Sadly, it was not the dream vacation to Jamaica that I had hoped for.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    V

    The combination of Westjet and Grand Bahia Principe is unbeatable :)

    Reviewed by Viktor Madarasz on Mar 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Breathtaking location. The grounds are just simply amazing. Very well maintained. Spacious rooms grandly furnished. Love the privacy of each balcony. I liked it that after a certain hour the only alcohol is available at the disco or your own room, I really did not miss tons of drunks wondering around at 3 am making everyone else's life just a bit more miserable. Great food. Very friendly staff. I just HAVE TO mention Keisha and Marlene, the Westjet representatives at the resort: if you need any help, these are the ladies you should turn to. They are the most helpful, friendly, professional, funny people you will ever meet. No problem is too small or too big for them. They are amazing, hope they will be recognized for it, because they made my good vacation GREAT. Had an amazing time, will be back next winter for sure.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    We loved our vacation there !

    Reviewed by Liz on Feb 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved the resort and the staff ,wonderful hospitality and very clean .we would go back anytime !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    BUYER BEWARE!!! NO HOSPITALITY!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY $$$$$$$$

    Reviewed by KINIJL9 on Apr 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    My family of 10 took our annual family vacation to Jamaica this year & we all booked at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica. 3 separate rooms to include 6 adults & 4 children. I booked the golden club with an oceanview & even called prior to inform them of exactly where I wanted my room to be located, the front of building H facing the ocean. Not long after leaving the airport to go to our hotel the driver named Kingsley called into his company dispatch saying he was having problems with the alternator. He had to cut the air condition off & drive about 20 miles per hour the entire way to the resort. It took us twice as long to get to the resort as it should have. Upon arrival to the resort no one was there to greet us as we were told it should be. No bellman to get our luggage! The driver took our bags off the shuttle & as we drug them up the stairs at the entrance of the hotel he pulled off. We waited about 30 min before the bellman came to put our bags on a cart. We tried to make reservations for our a la carte dinners that were supposed to be included in the package, but were told that they were told that they were booked & the only thing they had available was a 9:30pm reservation for the steakhouse the next day. Waited a hour & a half for towels & a hour & 45min for room service one day! Waited to speak to a manager for a hour & a half for him after making several requests for him & he could do nothing! What I expected was far from the vacation I received. After a month I finally received a response to this letter that I had to send twice to corporate basically saying oh well we are not going to do anything about it, we already have your money! I WILL NEVER STAY AT ANOTHER GRAND BAHIA IN JAMAICA OR ANYWHERE ELSE! If you want a vacation that is worth the money you spent on it I would advise you stay elsewhere! By the way if you lean over the balcony & pray you do not fall, look to the right to get your ocean view!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    D

    Great time, Would go back in a minute.

    Reviewed by Debbie B on Mar 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed our stay at Bahia Principe. The resort was large so you never seemed confined. We took advantage of that and each day we would pick a different spot. One day the beach, one day the pool and enjoyed all our spots. We are early risers so it worked to our advantage. We liked to run in the mornings and would reserve our loungers while on the run around the property. We could do about a 2 1/2 K loop around. The yoga and pilates program was an awesome way to start your day. Get to breakfast before 9 and there was never a line. Then when you are done you can get fresh towels and the day was yours. The activities were a lot of fun and so much to do for both adults and children. The bars were all great and the staff were all very friendly. The live entertainment was really good. We always went to the beach buffet to get the jerk chicken which is amazing and worth the wait in line and the daily bands were great to watch. The a la carte restaurants were nice but a bit of a pain to book, we did it as soon as we checked in. Yes the times are not always the best and there are many empty tables for there "club" members who never show up but it was a nice change from the buffet. Wish there was more Jamaican food to sample. Pool is awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12887 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Guests beware, honest review! Below 1 star.

    Reviewed by cyberjen75(Mount Pleasant, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Staff was unhelpful and rude, not everyone, but majority. My cell phone got left behind at a closed family function not open to public; Closed the function as we walked out. Went direct back to room across the way that evening. Realized next morning first thing like 7am and Called lost and found and went back to venue next morning as well, nobody knows nothing. Common sense should prevail here but no, I got a run a round and got 3 manager names that went no where; zero accountability. Should have been an easy find with limited staff working a closed private event. Don’t leave anything behind. My little girl left behind a few toys at a restaurant; again at closing time. My husband fought for that one and lost and found went no where. Unless you raise a fuss. A manager called me a day later and returned them. My sister had an issue with items missing from room as well and she had to go direct to maid. I hate calling this out, I even asked for a managers name at the front desk to email privately and staff wouldn’t give me one. It’s a complete goose chase. I would not return to this resort ever. AC is a joke, at least in our room and a few other in our group of 45, septic smell is a major issue, food is hit or miss(I must or ordered the wrong things a la carte), figures out the seafood was Okay, oh and there was even dried blood on our patio curtain. Made the best of very unfortunate circumstances and guests beware. Stay away from beef, it’s not good but if it is, it’s probably goat so please ask cause that’s what they serve! Would not return, lost my trust completely. We are not picky and pretty happy go with the flow. But they even lost me. I went out of my way to buy humanitarian items and gifts etc for staff. A lot on the take or selling more then Pot .... fill in the dots. Don’t take your family there! If you want to party, than his is your resort. Choice is yours

    Stay away!!!!

    Reviewed by TravelinFrog(Toronto) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Absolutely terrible. Horrible service and bad food. We requested 2 separate beds and this is what one of the beds looked like in a room with only 2 adults. We paid full price for 2 adults in double occupancy and got this! Dont waste your money and go somewhere else. They refused to help. They refused to even acknowledge that this is not an appropriate accommodation for 2 adults.

    So Disappointed

    Reviewed by Jheaphy1() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We arrived at this resort today. Our room wasn’t ready, so we were asked to go to lunch and return for our room keys afterwards. Upon return we were given our keys and asked to see the bellman to retrieve our bags and to be escorted to our Junior Suite Superior Sea View. After a 15 minute wait for an available bellman, we arrived to a room with one king bed for 4 family members. We tried calling the main desk, but it rang and rang. We went to the desk in person and were told that “that is what a junior suite is” and “there was no note on your reservation saying you needed two beds” although our booking clearly stated that there would be 2 adults and 2 children. The desk clerk told us one son could sleep on the sofa and they could bring a rollaway for the second. I paid $6,000 for this! And while we were at the desk, two other families showed up with the same exact issue! This leads me to believe that this type of bait-and-switch is a common practice here. When we demanded a room with two beds, we were told we were stuck with this room tonight and will have to pack up and put our things in storage for a 3 hour window tomorrow while they prepare another room. Once we dealt with this issue, we promised our boys we could go take a dip in the pool so we could at least end this long day on a high note. Suits on, sunscreened up, and headed down to the pool at 6:15 only to find out that the pool closes each night at 6:00! Seriously? This is a beautiful place, but we will never be back.

    Do not believe the bad reviews! It is the paradise!

    Reviewed by Alex K(Thornhill, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First of all I wanted to say that me and my girlfriend were somewhat dismayed by negative Trip Advisor reviews we have seen. Do not believe them! This place is simply amazing. We travelled for a week in March of 2019. To be sure that this review is authentic we would like to first voice out suggestions, as we can't really complain about this place. There were some, rather , aggressive sales people in the lobby. And some of the bars were running out of champagne towards the end of the day. THAT's it , there is really nothing more. Now to positive. We recommend taking golden royal package if available. You would get a welcome bottle of rum and fruit platter, preferred units in the hotel, one extra a la carte, premium check in/out, robes and slippers. Amazing emerald green ocean, super clean and maintained hotel grounds and extremely friendly staff makes your stay memorable. Hotel looks upscale , in colonial/medieval castle style. Suites are upscale with amazing beds. Food is fresh, delicious, and with a wide variety. We highly recommend Orchid buffet. Staff is really attentative to your individual needs, and would go above and beyond based on our experience. Room cleaning is twice a day, to our surprise . Great evening entertainment. A la carte restaurants offer a good variety, we recommend Japanese with a cooking show (mandatory), as well as delicious Don Pablo. Highly recommend, will definitely come back! 5/5

    Overall my family had a wonderful time

    Reviewed by Marlene G() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall my family had a wonderful vacation. We stayed at this Resort from April 6-12. Our check in was excellent, they ladies at the front desk were very professional and also the entire staffs. We only had a few minor issues, we only received washcloths on the first day when we arrived. I had read TripAdvisor reviews and saw what other guests had to say about the lack of washcloths, so I had brought shower sponges for my family. The food were very good and and alot to choose from. The housekeeper need to do a better job in terms of dusting, sweeping and mopping the room. There were something on the floor all week while we were there, and that is why we knew the room was not swept. The wifi service needs to be improve, we only got free wifi in the lobby. When children are traveling to this Resort, they needs internet access while they are in their rooms. We spent alot of money for our stay there, so we should not have to pay for proper wifi service, it should be standard for the entire facility to have wifi access for free. Overall my family and I enjoyed our vacation and would love to visit again only if the wifi service improves.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX