Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    Will not honour Family Collection inclusions such as connecting rooms or late check outs ---- BEWARE

    Reviewed by Anke on Jul 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Booked this hotel becuase it is part of WestJets Family Collection. Once we got there they would not honour any of the inclusions. Mainly the connecting rooms and late check outs. We paid for a Seaview room and did not receive it or connecting rooms. We ended up moving rooms but we placed 2 rooms down from the Luxury side of the hotel. The elevators were at the complete other end of our corridor which was unacceptable travelling with minors and one with medical conditions. Also, our room location was the furtherest from the Kids Club activities. If you or your family has a mobility issue or disability this is NOT the hotel for you. We brought up our concerns with management while we were there, Westjet rep on site and then when we returned.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    V

    Not much nice to say: great beaches.

    Reviewed by Viktor Madarasz on Mar 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Ended up in a mold infested room. Slept on the balcony for 2 days before we were moved. The place is more and more rundown every year. If you are looking for a second rate motel atmosphere with ripped carpets, not working ancient elevators, 10000 times repainted furniture in restaurants, disinterested staff that only perks up for tips, boring same everyday cafeteria food and non stop sales pitches in timeshares than this is your dream vacation spot. The wi-fi is spotty at best { after you payed for it}. The "entertainment" would have been better if it was provided by a group of 10 year olds. The one and only thing going for this place is the beaches. If you can go anywhere else, do it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    It was my first time traveling to Jamaica but fell in love with the place.

    Reviewed by Nellie from Nova Scotia on Nov 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    The staff were exceptionally hospitable and polite (with special shout-out to the Westjet rep Mama Charmaine).The beach was a little rocky in some areas, but was very clean and not crowded. I travelled with a group of 40 people and we all said we will return. The location was great, because it was big enough for the group to separate and do our own thing and it had something (activity)for the different ages in our group.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    More like a 5* for what we paid!!!

    Reviewed by ACsl8tr on May 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our 2nd time back to this property. My Fiancee and I love it. The price was Perfect for what we were looking for. Its definetly more a 5*. I mean we had marble/granite floors. Large balcony, the maids even wash and sweep your floors every day! Which is almost unheard of in many All Inclusive resorts. Everyone was So friendly there. Even the gardeners, they always had a smile for us. I am a picky eater and I ate at the buffet every day and didnt get sick once. The Beach had SO many extra loungers than the pool did so we made our way to the beach for the last few days. Check out the beach first. The only thing I didnt like was, they didnt have enough bath towels. We used our beach towels instead while we waited for the towels to be brought up when they had some fresh clean ones. There was so many new things there this time around. A kids water park, they re did the beach area so there are a few private areas on the beach you can sit down and relax on. I would definitely come back to this resort on my next vacation!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Unforgettable, and will return!

    Reviewed by Sacha on Apr 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    Pros: Staff were exceptionally hospitable and polite (with special shout-outs to the Westjet rep Charmaine, as well as the bartenders Joel, Damian, Vanessa, Jerome, and Evrad for going above and beyond.), the food and booze were plentiful and delicious, beach and pool areas were immaculate, room was only slightly dated but otherwise bright and clean. Cons: Paid $100 CAD to have Wifi that wasn't even remotely reliable, and there was construction going on directly beneath my balcony the entire time I was there, so I was woken up at 8am every day by belt-sanders.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Staff were awsome, they made us feel welcome. Good food. Love jerked chicken. Love the beach too, although Cuba beaches are better.

    Reviewed by Maisiena Vovinam on Jul 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is great resort, and very large. We read other comments and asked for buidling 17000/18000 where it's close to beach, and waterpark, and they give us building 17000. Thanks for all comments. We love this resort, althought some parts of beach are mossy, but that was a great spot for snorkling, my 2 kids loved it. ONE WARNING about Invitation to attend free breakfast of Privillege club - this is a trap - don't attend it. This is basically a timeshare program, waiste time and could be lots of money. My husband received this invitation at the door, and was exciting to go. We both went, but after all, they just want to sell their hotel timeshare, we ended up SPENT 14,000$ paid upfront $7000, no breakfast at LUXURY resort, late lunch. How stupid! What are the cruel people! we both got persuaded and signed, but so regreted afterward, want to get out, sale manager said WE CAN'T, we are doomed. I hated these people so much. This program would worth a total $6000. HOW STUPID!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Poor service and unfriendly staff

    Reviewed by Jen from Calgary on Jul 05, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I wanted to write a review to warn people about this resort. They claim to be a 5 star, but there is no way that can be true. Their staff are unfriendly and have no sense of urgency. The service is poor (when you can actually get service) and they are unapologetic and sometimes rude. The front desk rarely answers the phone and when they do they "accidentally" hang up on you or transfer you around to different people and then the line goes dead. The food wasn't very good for a 5 star, and the buffet was constantly out of plates, glasses, silverware, various soft drinks, etc. There was one day where the towel hut was out of towels at 11 am! You call this a 5 star resort?! They are a huge resort and definitely unable to keep up with the amount of people staying there. Keep in mind this is currently their OFF season... I would hate to see them at full capacity if they can't even keep up with their guests in their off season. I was really looking forward to going on this trip. Sadly, it was not the dream vacation to Jamaica that I had hoped for.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    V

    The combination of Westjet and Grand Bahia Principe is unbeatable :)

    Reviewed by Viktor Madarasz on Mar 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Breathtaking location. The grounds are just simply amazing. Very well maintained. Spacious rooms grandly furnished. Love the privacy of each balcony. I liked it that after a certain hour the only alcohol is available at the disco or your own room, I really did not miss tons of drunks wondering around at 3 am making everyone else's life just a bit more miserable. Great food. Very friendly staff. I just HAVE TO mention Keisha and Marlene, the Westjet representatives at the resort: if you need any help, these are the ladies you should turn to. They are the most helpful, friendly, professional, funny people you will ever meet. No problem is too small or too big for them. They are amazing, hope they will be recognized for it, because they made my good vacation GREAT. Had an amazing time, will be back next winter for sure.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    We loved our vacation there !

    Reviewed by Liz on Feb 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved the resort and the staff ,wonderful hospitality and very clean .we would go back anytime !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    BUYER BEWARE!!! NO HOSPITALITY!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY $$$$$$$$

    Reviewed by KINIJL9 on Apr 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    My family of 10 took our annual family vacation to Jamaica this year & we all booked at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica. 3 separate rooms to include 6 adults & 4 children. I booked the golden club with an oceanview & even called prior to inform them of exactly where I wanted my room to be located, the front of building H facing the ocean. Not long after leaving the airport to go to our hotel the driver named Kingsley called into his company dispatch saying he was having problems with the alternator. He had to cut the air condition off & drive about 20 miles per hour the entire way to the resort. It took us twice as long to get to the resort as it should have. Upon arrival to the resort no one was there to greet us as we were told it should be. No bellman to get our luggage! The driver took our bags off the shuttle & as we drug them up the stairs at the entrance of the hotel he pulled off. We waited about 30 min before the bellman came to put our bags on a cart. We tried to make reservations for our a la carte dinners that were supposed to be included in the package, but were told that they were told that they were booked & the only thing they had available was a 9:30pm reservation for the steakhouse the next day. Waited a hour & a half for towels & a hour & 45min for room service one day! Waited to speak to a manager for a hour & a half for him after making several requests for him & he could do nothing! What I expected was far from the vacation I received. After a month I finally received a response to this letter that I had to send twice to corporate basically saying oh well we are not going to do anything about it, we already have your money! I WILL NEVER STAY AT ANOTHER GRAND BAHIA IN JAMAICA OR ANYWHERE ELSE! If you want a vacation that is worth the money you spent on it I would advise you stay elsewhere! By the way if you lean over the balcony & pray you do not fall, look to the right to get your ocean view!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 13298 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing holiday!

    Reviewed by JessicaWelton() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    After 2 weeks at this hotel, me and my partner can honestly say we had the best holiday. After reading some reviews since leaving the resort, it is clear people like to moan for moanings sake to try and get some freebies! People expect to get 5* service when they can’t even manage a please and thank you themselves. Our room was amazing, we didn’t pay the extra for sea views but due to the layout of the hotel, every room gets a nice little view. The aircon wasn’t freezing but after coming in from the hot weather, the aircon was enough to still cool us down, enough so that we would turn it off after showers. The entertainment team was brilliant. Although we didn’t travel with children, it seems all children were very happy with their activities. For us, there was plenty to do and see every day. Lady Keisha on the DJ booth and Kevin from the entertainment team both made it difficult to leave the pool area as they were both so funny! We never found there was a shortage of towels at the pool and you can actually switch them over during the day if they’re too wet but we didn’t do this as it’s unnecessary. All the bookable restaurants were amazing, particularly the Italian and Gourmet- the gourmet being one of the best dinners I’ve ever had. Although the buffets were nothing to brag about, they were like any other buffet, it was clean, it was mostly fresh and it changed every day with plenty of variety. I don’t know what more people expect from a buffet. People complaining about that simply can’t be bothered to walk around picking their own food, well then they shouldn’t book a buffet style hotel. The Pisces beach buffet was the same however the view was amazing with a lovely breeze from the sea so this was our favourite for our lunches. I strongly disagree with anyone that says the staff are rude. They are simply laid back, relaxed and embodying the Jamaican motto “no problem, only situations”. Just because you pay for a hotel, doesn’t mean you can treat the staff like servants. Yes they are slow getting your drinks but the Jamaican way of life is slow pace and your drink will come. With a simple thank you, the staff smile and it seems they remember the people who have manners and gratitude as we were never waiting for more than 5 minutes for anything! A 5* stay at a beautiful hotel that really celebrates the Jamaican culture!

    Best vacation!

    Reviewed by Jengsummer1() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My family and I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe in Jamaica and we had a blast. The staff was friendly and the beaches were beautiful. During our trip we met Decia Edwards who is polite,helpful and professional. She informed us about the facility, what it had to offer and the advantages. She was very courteous and well informed. Looking forward to our next trip here.

    Ms

    Reviewed by l0ngangela(Birmingham, United Kingdom) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The hotel itself was great but I got diarrhoea after eating at one of their restaurants and couldn’t leave my room for nearly a week. I couldn’t wait to get home. The customer services was very poor had to argue to get room service. I wouldn’t go back if it was free.

    Dont Let the pretty pictures fool you, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, from staff to management

    Reviewed by gibb8973() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I would give the Grand Bahia Jamaica 0 stars, but that is not an option. This resort was absolutely terrible. My family and I stayed at this resort 8/6-8/10, we had problem after problem. First, there is no AC in the elevators or hallways. The windows are opened in the hallways, by the time you get to your destination you're sweaty. We booked a double room and was given a king room. We were told someone was bringing up an extra bed which we never got and the AC in the room was not working. The front desk did not want to move us, keep in mind we had 2 adults and 2 teenagers in our party. So the room could not accommodate us. After my husband, made a scene at the front desk we were moved. The pool and beach had no clean towels, we had to go the front desk twice to get pool towels. The new room was right in front of the night club. The music was so loud it literally felt as if the room was inside the club. So we moved to our third room. In this room the AC was blowing warm air and the room was hot and stuffy. Maintenance came up and worked on the AC. He told us to give it 10 minutes and it should being working right. Well it was not, we reported it the front desk and another maintenance guy did come up until several hours later- 3am. Second guy checked the system and recommended we switch rooms. He was going to inform his supervisor and the front desk. That morning when we when to the front desk, no one had any idea of what we were talking about. Also, housekeeping was slow, it took over 12 hours to get washcloths after several calls to the front desk. The excuse we were given was that the housekeeper was off the previous day. There was little to no customer service at the front desk. The front desk ladies were rude, unfriendly and seemed to have attitudes. We spoke with Tanesha and Camille who told did not follow up on any of our issues. They seemed to say anything just to get us to leave the front desk. It seemed as if were bothering them. We were fed up and when to the Guest Service Manager Sharnado Weston. We spoke to him. He offer us a pitiful bottle of rum or champagne for our trouble since we booked with Orbitz. Mr Weston was supposed to be putting in a report so we could get an adjustment on bill. This man straight up lied. Orbitz had no record of his report. Also beware of booking with Orbitz. So Orbitz, investigated my complaint by just speaking with the resort. No one called me to get the full story. Yes, the grounds are beautiful, but the service you get here is extremely poor. Save yourself the headache and book somewhere else

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Wedding Celebration

    Reviewed by LBarrettJr() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I came down for a wedding and decided to celebrate our anniversary since we were already in Jamaica and it was so close. This was going to be our first all-inclusive experience. As it was a destination wedding, we booked through the assigned wedding travel agent. The room we were originally assigned was decent, it had a large balcony with a hot tub but it lacked a view. Our only view was starting into the lobby/lounge of the luxury side of the resort. As we wanted something that was a bit more romantic to celebrate the occasion, I requested a change to an ocean view room. The room itself was spacious and we had a beautiful view. I highly recommend paying the little extra to upgrade the view. It also came in very handy for the groom and groomsmen, as we were able get ready in the room and get some beautiful pictures on the balcony with the sea in the background. The hallway carpets are dated and in some areas of the resort are weathered and probably need to be changed. It is a very large resort, so be prepared to do some walking to certain activities depending on where you are located in the resort. The staff here were amazing, accommodating and provided great service throughout our stay. Kamille P. at the reception desk was wonderful. She was able to find solutions to any concerns that we had during our stay. When we had room concerns and wanted to upgrade for a better view, she and Kemoya P assisted us with the room change with a beautiful view. Before we changed rooms Kedra, took us up to see the room to ensure it was to our liking. Daneal Hinds with the Privilege club greeted us on the first day we arrived and remembered us by name throughout our week-long stay. She engaged in genuine conversation with us which was greatly appreciated. Kimesha P. was of great help to us as well. She willing assisted us and answered all of our questions. For a first all-inclusive experience, we enjoyed our stay and the staff played a large role to our excellent experience at the resort. They should be commended for the efforts and I hope they are recognized and celebrated for the work that they do.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX