Iberostar Selection Playa Mita

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    Pick another resort

    Reviewed by Louie on Feb 14, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    WestJet should seriously consider reviewing this resort and dropping it from their offerings. Definitely not a 5 star. Worst resort we have booked through WestJet over 14 years.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Never again.

    Reviewed by Thomas on Dec 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Watch out. They will try to upgrade your room at check in. Do not accept as the upgrade prices are outrageous. We got sucked in and regreted it. They give no other amenities with the upgrade at all. We paid over $3000.00 to be be upgrade to the Presidential Suite and all we got was a larger room. although it was very nice. Even the miniibar did not come with liquor as promised.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    We love it here. This is our second time and it won?t be our last!

    Reviewed by Julie on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We absolutely love this hotel. Everyone goes above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one. The food is amazing. The hotel and grounds are perfectly maintained. The pool is lovely. Rooms are immaculately cleaned daily and the turn down service is such a nice touch. I really cannot say enough about how friendly and accommodating all the staff are and I recommend the resort without hesitation. We will be back for a third stay!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Amazing experience! Nothing bad to say.

    Reviewed by Nicole on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    The staff were amazing, all amenities included - the cafe was amazing for coffee every morning. Cool billiards room to escape the heat every now and then. All restaurants had great food. Room service was fast. Amazing - planning our next vacation here already.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    First class all the way

    Reviewed by Angela on Dec 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    WOW!!! What A great place to stay..Everything N everyone was first class..

    A

    Can't wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Andrea W on Nov 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I loved this resort. I feel like we got an amzing deal through Westjet. The flights and transfers were flawless. The resort is secluded and scenic.I was able to walk the beach for hours and see just a handful of people. The rooms are nicely furnished. Well stocked and very clean. We had fun everyday at the resort and felt no need to leave. The alcohol is "top shelf" and the food was fantastic. Even for vegetarians like me. If this resort is in your budget, do not hesitate to book! You will not regret it. I have to mention that the staff is amazing. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful.They will go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Great place for all ages and totally worth the drive from PVR.

    Reviewed by Andrew on Apr 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This is one of the few resorts we've stayed at where the hotel is better in person than it looks in the photos. The resort is large enough to have lots to do and lots of space, but small enough that it didn't feel like we were constantly walking a few miles to get anywhere. We travelled Thursday to Thursday. On the Sunday of our stay, apparently that was the start of a big Spring Break week in the US according to another guest from Chicago yet our hotel wasn't overrun with spring breakers, likely on account of the higher price and the distance from the airport. This resort is perfect for families of all ages. We had our two kids 5 & 3 with us and they had a blast at the splash park and kids club, and in the pool. It was a very good mix of people: families with kids, couples without kids, young, old. It was nice to have lots for our kids to do but the place wasn't completely dominated by families with screaming kids. We would go back here in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4119 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A bit concerned!

    Reviewed by Roadrunnerpetro() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had an amazing stay, as part of a big family group ( The app doesn’t allow me to roll back to 2017).Aside from some difficulties in reserving dinners(partly our own fault), the entire group had an amazing time. The resort was spotless , amazing staff, awesome food and great entertainment. I have now booked a week stay for July 17th with my 2 children and decided to read the reviews. although most of the complaints ( one to three star) could happen to anyone and seem Exaggerated, there are;however,some worrisome trends. I will share my unbiased review upon my return but people need to be more careful with their posts and understand the difference between “an accidental event “ and/or a misunderstanding VS a prolonged failure or a chronic shortcoming in a certain department lasting the duration of their stay. Although this is a five star resort , you have to also realize that you are not paying 2-5k per night. You get what you pay for!!!!and For what this five star resort charged , We got more than what we deserved and that’s why I’m going back .... it’s all about what you get for the value!!!!!.. keep that in perspective ;-)

    Amazing Staff

    Reviewed by Bbeauchamp55(Los Angeles, California) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful six day vacation here. We were able to upgrade to Star Prestige and were so glad that we did so. Check in was quick and easy, the room was clean and had everything that we needed, and the view was great! The food in the restaurants was pretty good. Our personal favorites were the Japanese and the Mexican. All of the snacks at the snack bar were great for lunch. The shows at night were lively and always a good time. We enjoyed the Vegas Show, Beatles, and Pop. The best and most memorable part of our trip were the staff, and the Star Prestige staff in particular. Mario, Ray and J were AMAZING. There were always asking what we needed, bringing drinks, bringing snacks, and having great conversations. We were sad to leave them on our last day. Overall a great trip. Good views, nice rooms, decent food, great drinks, and wonderful staff!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Absolutly Amazing

    Reviewed by Kathie M() on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband came to this beautiful resort in Feb/March 2019. The staff was unbelievable, they would go above and beyond to make your stay the absolute best. Everyone was soo accommodating and very friendly. The food was fresh, and the vaiety was huge. The only problem we found was not over eating :) The A La Carte restaurants where superb . The Evening entertainment was nothing less than amazing,The effort these very tatented people young people put into it was outstanding! Loved that there was a different event each night of the week. Mexico Days was over the top amazing !! We tried many different events, and everywhere we went, the staff was super nice. The spa was crazy nice, the massage was wonderful. We highly recomend this resort, and we will definitely be back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Family Time

    Reviewed by DePere(De Pere, Wisconsin) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We (grandparents) took our two grandchildren (ages 10 and 11) to Iberostar - Playa Mita, from June 30 to July 7. We were looking for an economical vacation package, family friendly resort, ability to access both a pool and have a safe ocean experience, a kids club with a high rating, and a minimum of three ala carte restaurants with average to above average food rating. The availability of side excursions and proximity to restaurants/markets off of the resort was of very little importance to us. At the completion of our vacation my wife and myself , both felt the Iberostar delivered what we were looking for. Staff - I felt the staff of the resort was phenomenal. Very friendly, competent, and outgoing. The resort places their concierges at various places (not just the lobby) throughout the resort. This made access to their advice/services very easy. Shout-outs to David the concierge, Aldo the roaming chef, and Jesus at the swim-up bar. Food (Ala Carte Restaurants) – There are four ala carte restaurants that you need to make reservations through a concierge: (French, Mexican, Japanese, Steak). We had no problems getting reservations at the restaurants, in fact on our day of arrival we were still able to get a 6:30 sitting at the French restaurants. The service at all of the restaurants were very good. The food average. We enjoyed the Mexican restaurant the best. Food – Buffett – Typical resort breakfast, with lots of options. The quality of the food for lunch and dinner varied. I was very impressed with the first lunch, became less satisfied as the week progressed, and then was very impressed when they had lobster (which was very good) on their Friday dinner buffett. Some of the food should have been hotter. Beach – If you enjoy taking a long walk on the beach, this is a great choice of a resort. There is a lifeguard on duty on the beach. The week we were there the flag indicating the conditions in the ocean was yellow. There is constant wave action. The grandchildren both enjoy the water and had a great time in the waves but I was always in the water with them. My best investment for the week was the purchase of two boogie boards at $40 each at the Dive Shop on the beach. What great fun they provided. Be careful with your sunglasses as we witnessed many individuals losing their sunglasses due to the force of the waves. Pool – It was hard for me to get a grasp on the size of the pool via the pictures posted in Tripadvisor, but the pool was plenty large enough to accommodate the number of guests. This is the best resort, I have ever been to in regards to the number of thatched palapas in the pool area. No matter what time you got to the pool you could find a lounge chair with shade. The same could be said about the beach (but with umbrellas rather than palapas) Shows – Iberostar has an air conditioned theater for its shows that begin at 9:30 P.M. We saw only one show, The Circus. Six performers (A couple of aerial acts, a juggler, clown/magician, a large balance wheel) We were entertained and impressed for a full hour by their performance. The granddaughter utilized the kids club one afternoon, so she could participate in an archery class. Some of us participated in ping-pong tournaments, salsa dancing, bingo, crafts, and some unique pool games. Room – Our room had two double beds and a pull out sleeper. The shower was subpar, not much water pressure and a very poor shower head (limited area of water that it disbursed). (I may be spoiled as a lot of resorts we go to have rain forest shower heads) Cleaning staff did a great job of cleaning our room promptly. Family Resort - This is definitely a family resort. There are children all over the place, whether you are dining at 6:00 or at 9:00. There are signs at the swim-up bar in numerous languages that indicate this is an adult only location, but that doesn’t prevent children from being at the bar or cannonballing you from the edge of the pool. For this vacation Iberostar – Playa Mita was a good fit for what we were looking for. I would rate it somewhere between a 4 and 5.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Beautiful Resort

    Reviewed by GreatAd(Pasadena, Ca) on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had wonderful time vacationing at Iberostar Playa Mita. The grounds were gorgeous and meticulously clean. You always see someone maintaining the grounds. The resort was huge enough that it didn’t seem crowded when it was full. Yet, you could walk to everything within five minutes. The rooms were new and clean and the turn service was appreciated. The buffets were plentiful that even though they served mostly the same thing everyday, you wouldn’t need to repeat a dish. Enjoy the churros with condensed milk!!! The shows were entertaining (Vegas night, 80s, and Folklore) and the activities were fun (casino and Mexican fair). This is a family friendly resort and my kids enjoyed it. The only thing that stands out is the service. The service that we experienced does not make it a five star resort, resulting in one less star review.First, not everyone would smile or greet you upon passing you. This is a simple must for a five star resort...you must make everyone feel welcomed. We asked for towels after pool hours and were told by the concierge it would come via eservice. After waiting over an hour, we asked again, they said they couldn’t give us towels. We asked servers, cleaning ladies, and bartenders for towels...no one could help us. They don’t have enough severs by the pool so drink service took a long time. (Drinks were watered down too, so make sure to take ask for a double shot). Most disappointing was our check in experience with Cayde. He was friendly at first. However, when we didn’t slip him some secret $ for an upgrade and told him we were fine with our room, his attitude changed. He hurriedly gave us our keys, didn’t give us a map or direct us what to do or where to go, and kid you not...welcomed the next guest before we got to ask questions. There were a few that definitely stood out: Gustavo in the buffets, Tania at the cafe, Antonio in entertainment, and Marielena was the only cleaning lady who said buenos Dias when we passed her, and Francisco at the beach. Overall, we had a wonderful time and would go back here again. This review is simply here to help the hotel improve in the area of five star service which they claim to be.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX