Meliá Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    Will never return!

    Reviewed by Jeanne Phair on Jan 24, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only good thing about this hotel was location and staff. The hotel is in serious need of updating. Upon opening the door to our garden view room we detected a horrible smell like sewer. Furniture was old, lumpy pillows. View was right into a large palm tree. We upgraded to an ocean view room which was much better. Buffet food was absolutely terrible with same stuff two nights in a row. Coffee was served lukewarm which meant it cooled off quickly, same with tea. Beach could use better maintenance. Pool furniture old and many covered with bird droppings. Music was too loud around the pool. The loud music from the theatre was tolerable because it ended at 10.00pm, however the loud music from the lobby lounge started at 10 and went until 1:00am which I did complain about to desk. The constant thumping of the base drum was horrible and kept us awake.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    R

    We will NOT Return to this run-down over-rated hotel!

    Reviewed by Ron Kellington on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    This is a bad hotel. The only redeeming thing was that we were part of a 40+ group at a wedding here. The wedding turned out really well. The company/family reunion of sorts was good. The All Inclusive wine is HORRIFIC! The food is so-so. The rooms stink. The AC doesn?t work. Room Service has a cost. A La Carte restaurants are bad. This isn"t just my opinion. Everyone in our group who has been to Mexico more than once will NOT be returning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Good place, not recommended for single/party crowd though

    Reviewed by Bravo on Feb 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Nice, clean hotel with good service and great pool. Food not very good but in line with what one would expect. A la carte meals where better, but not lively events. Evening shows were popular and quite impressive. Not much night life aside from that, no on site disco. Location is good, minutes from airport, walking distance from good golf course, and across the road from marina restaurants and shops, and a top notch "dance" club. The demographic of this was resort was lots of families with kids, lots of younger couples, and lots of older couples, very few young people looking to party. About 30 min cab to downtown party area. Would go back, but will likely go elsewhere next time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Such a wonderful time there that I'm already looking into returning next year!

    Reviewed by A. Turner on Feb 19, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    I absolutely loved every minute of our stay there. I thought the hotel was charming - I loved the big open air lobby with all the greenery. The outdoor walkways with the overhanging trees and ponds with koi, turtles and ducks were gorgeous during the day and enchanting during the evening. The staff was exceptional - friendly, attentive and the service was great. Yes, the hotel may be a bit older, but the rooms were immaculate, as was every part of the hotel. The beach was clean, as was the pool area - staff were constantly cleaning - all hours of the day and night to keep things spotless. There were many selections at the buffet and the restaurants had very fine dining. We enjoyed the live shows that were held each night as well. I had not been away on a vacation in a very long time and am looking forward to returning to this resort next year. It was a wonderful experience!! Thank you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4638 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Melia was very good but not excellent.

    Reviewed by Sunshine44518862494() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great stay! First off I will say staff were awesome and professional. Also hotel cleanliness was very good. Food was buffet style. It was standard. By weeks end you get pretty tired of it but the staff tried hard to keep it presentable. I feel the Melia needs to hire a new head chef or rethink their menus. Angel by the pool was super friendly. Also leaders in kids club were great with our kids and they had a lot of fun. We were in building 2 and upgraded to ocean view. I am glad we did as I wouldn’t want our room too close to the pond in the middle of the hotel. The kids loved this pool btw- They had so much fun everyday looking at the animals but the smell from the stagnant waters: ugh I wouldn’t want to have my Balcony there. Wellness spa and massages were excellent. Shows at night we’re fun however they are supposed to be family friendly. Which they are in some ways, but sometimes the dances were a little “sexual” and posed a lot of questions from my young kids. We left one night. Overal hotel clean and staff excellent. A few changes would take his hotel from good to excellent. Would I go back as a family - yes. If I was going again just as a couple probably not (because of the food).

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    hotel is more of a 3.5 *

    Reviewed by Sightseer27661047124(Sherbrooke, Canada) on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    hôtel needs to specify that they have a very small beach in front of hotel also needs to have some maintenance staff are very friendly food needs to have more variety in buffet i say its more of a 3.5 *

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    We won't be back

    Reviewed by Marian J(Victoria, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The rooms are quite dated but clean, the bathroom is a decent size. There is an overall musty smell, it clings to everything, I had to launder even unworn clothing when we got back. The bed is rock hard and the mattress pad did not even cover the entire surface of the mattress, it appeared to be a queen size pad on a king size mattress. They did bring us a quilted mattress cover when I asked at the front desk. Still it was so uncomfortable we did not sleep well. The food at the dinner buffett was just bad. The hot food was not even passably warm. We ate at the Italian al a carte twice, the food was tasty but I was sick the next day both times. Tne breakfast and lunch was okay. I seriously question their food handling practices. The location may suit some but we didn't like being in the marina district. If you like long walks on the beach this is not for you. We did get good service in the bars and restaurants. The servers at the pool/beach were great. I have been to PV many times, based on food alone this resort is very poor compared to any of the all inclusive resorts I have stayed. Stay somewhere else, there are so many better ones.

    So relaxing

    Reviewed by Susan F() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The room was extremely clean and modern. The housekeeping staff did a great job. Valerie, one of the hostesses was just plain great-pleasant, always smiling and professional. The staff were all friendly and helpful. With the activities, you could be as active as you want to, or just relax. We even went running in the neighborhood and felt safe. The food was good, sometimes repetitious at the buffets-no complaints. At the a-la-carte restaurants, the food was impressive, even the presentation was visually appealing. We would recommend this resort and we will consider returning next year.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great for families

    Reviewed by Karen Z(West Sacramento) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Wonderful pool and beach location. Lots for little kids to do and they have their own buffet and spa. This is an older hotel and needs some TLC in spots. But Edgar in the Mexican restaurant and Angel at the pool provided excellent, attentive, and friendly service.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX