Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    hidden fees

    Reviewed by Disappointed on Jan 02, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our experience at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace is similar to many other posted reviews. Despite four attempts, we were unable to get an extra bed cover. We later found three large garbage bags of dirty bed covers in the hallway. On one of the days we had to search for our own bathroom towels and ran into other guests doing the same thing. The icing on the cake was being charged for use of the room safe when we checked out despite not being notified in advance. They told us there was a sign on the safe, and there was no sign. Then they said that we had been told when we checked in. Sure enough, as we were complaining to the person in charge, another couple was making the same complaint. High on promises, low on delivery. This is not an “all inclusive” resort. Will not go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4551 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing Friends Vacation!

    Reviewed by Nammy N(Canada) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    If you want the ability to have peace and quiet, less party noise, fast service for drinks at the bar, also easy to find space at the beach then stay at the Dominicus Palace side. If you want to join the party, you have access to the Dominicus Beach side as well. Staying at the Palace allows you to have both options. The friendly front desk staff was most helpful. Gabriela and Kelvin made our stay pleasant. Always there to answer our questions and help us with all our needs. Our housekeeper Wendy was amazing. She was friendly, kept our room clean and catered to all our needs. The Night shows were hit and miss. Some days fantastic and somedays okay. Every night there is a party outside on the Dominicus Beach side. It is convenient if you want to enjoy night life but don’t want to leave the resort. Nobody goes to the Disco on the resort. There are many daytime activities to do to keep you entertained if you are not the type to just lay on the beach all day. The food was not the best and I have had better at other resorts in Dominican and other Countries but my friends had no complaints. The best food was all the Dominican Food, Risotto, Fresh Pastries and desserts at the Buffet, ‘Palito de Coco’ Restaurant was so good. On the Dominicus Beach side, which we had access to, we enjoyed ‘La Pizzeria’. Out of the two hotel sections ‘La Terraza’ has the best Buffet, with a big selection and fresh food. The Barista/Bar will be missed by us. You have to make sure you visit there every day. “Especial”! Compared to the other services at the resort the “Non” A la Carte restaurants (i.e. Buffets) the service was little to none. There was also no service staff walking around asking if you wanted a drink at the beach or pool. This was different compared to other hotels I have stayed at but it didn’t negatively affect our experience. Natanael, a staff who surveys the guests, shared more info about the resort and what it had to offer. He also shared and gave insight about the Dominican Culture and the surrounding area of where we were staying. He was pleasant, well-spoken and we were glad to have met him. I have seen many reviewers complain that many of the workers don’t speak much English. The only language we speak is English and we managed to communicate with staff and find the answers we needed. The community is very diverse and there are many non-English speaking guest but we enjoyed the diversity and the opportunity to learn another language. Everyone respected each other and was friendly. The only downside of the entire stay at the resort was the ducks at the Garden View rooms. They kept waking me up at night also during the day when I tried to nap.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Service is EXCELLENT

    Reviewed by Hotelzinnca(Santa Ana, California) on Jul 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    During our week long stay at the resort, we did a lot of leisure activities around the pool and beaches, although the view was amazing the rooms was a little underwhelming. phone issues, door was slightly slanted but nothing too major. Housekeeping was awesome everything was filled and super near everyday, and Julio in the Buffet was spectacular, from drinks to hang over cures hes your man!! he made our trip so enjoyable

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by Esmeralda A() on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I’ve been coming to this resort since 2002. I’ve been a VIP member since.I love this resort the food how clean it is and how big it is you never feel the resort crowded. Luis that works in the bar by the Palace took great care of me went above and beyond for every single drink such a humble personality. I will continue to go to this resort everytime I go to D.R.

    Especial

    Reviewed by Iannuu(Switzerland) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Huge hotel, wonderful beach and wonderful sea. The animation was useless but in the night the shows was great because they are really athletes. Raul Especial, number 1, the man who makes the “Espresso Especial” is very kind and funny The excursion in Saona was very beautiful, if you want to go in this excursions pay attention, they drink a lot of rum.

    Peaceful vacation

    Reviewed by 702702702() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family has been coming here for over 10 years and this resort has continually taken care of us. The staff is welcoming and treats us as if we were their family, especially the aquatics supervisor José Luis Díaz. I would recommend this to everyone!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX