Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Z

    Amazing staff :) Planning in booking with the same resort for another destination

    Reviewed by Zabin Tasnin on Dec 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    The resort it?s self was very nice. This was my first time in the Caribbean and they really set the bar high. The staff were very freindsly and helpful. I am currently looking to go on another vacation and trying to book with the same resort!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    Turquesa Terrible Nightmare, keep away!!!!!!!!!!

    Reviewed by HubSaum on Jan 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just came back from a week at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, January 7th to 14th 2017. This was our EIGHT trip to Dominican Republic and it was the worst experience ever. We are in our sixties, we had asked for a quiet room, our party days are long gone. When we got to the reception desk, our room was apparently ready, I asked the clerk if it was indeed a quiet room and he told us to come back in two hours for a quiet room. We came back two hours later, stood in line again, and found out he had done nothing, it was still the same room, he told us there weren’t any other rooms. We asked for a safe but he told us to come back the next morning. Next morning at 8h30 we asked for a safe but they told us to come back at 9 am. We waited again in line to get our safe after 9 am. The staff has very poor English, they make many mistakes and if you don’t understand immediately what they are trying to say then they mock you, they ridicule you as if you were an idiot!!!! We are very polite people and have NEVER EVER dealt with such RUDE and INSUILTING staff in Dominican Republic, or elsewhere for that matter. If these people don’t like their job, which they obviously don’t, they should find another job and not lash out at customers. The room was very noisy, just behind the reception desk, after the children’s evening show, adult music started at 10 pm and went on to the wee hours of the morning. Our veranda had a table and only one chair not two , but that chair was broken, so no sitting on the veranda for us!!! The television picture was off and could not be adjusted, the top half of the heads of people was missing, so no TV for us neither!!! The cleaning staff was polite and did a good job. The food was not good at all, reheated from the meal before, and the food was COLD, very few warmup lights over the food trays. We met another couple with relatives who had asked for two adjoining rooms, they were told to come back later, then that their room would be ready by 9 pm, b

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2720 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Turquesa is the low end of the Bahia Principe

    Reviewed by Trip814243() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This us incomparable to Paradisus (para-Dee-us) where we stayed a couple of years ago in Punta Cana. The room service down to the food at this all inclusive resort, I give it thumbs down. A disappointment.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Worse place I been to out of past dozen resorts visited.

    Reviewed by sirpercival1(North Wales, Pennsylvania) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My family and friends stayed for 7 days & 6 grueling (mosquito face scarred) nights at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa. Me and my family are optimist so we try to look at the bright side of things. Here’s the bright side of things along with the ugly. This resort was comparatively cheap but we did pay dearly. I was not expecting the best but maybe hoping for average before the trip. Basic experience is what I only ask for! Cons: Giant Mosquitoes: biggest con is the constant presence of giant mosquitoes in the rooms. I did not sign up for this!!! can you imagine spending 1 to 2 hours, 1 to 2 hours with emphasis!!! every night to trying to kill mosquitoes so they wouldn’t bite your face or body. I swatted mosquitoes every night before I went to sleep an average of a dozen of them but still got bit by the time morning comes around. I woke up countless nights. My beloved kids were all bitten in the face. This hurt me dearly, I blame myself for not getting all the mosquitos. That feeling of mosquitos buzzing by my ear before they come to bite me is unforgettable. Not to mention see my kids in the morning with faces swollen from the bites all over their face and body. I slept under the covers but it was really unbearable due to the heat in the room. The AC unit in the room was not working that well so it was always slightly cooler than the outside (prob low 80s) but not by much. They offered to spray the room but with kids in the room I declined. Finally, I noticed towards the end of the trip, one of the reasons for the daily mosquito intrusion was from the housemaids leaving the doors open while they cleaned. Heath: Did we make it out in one piece? Unfortunately, no. My wife and I, the kids and a dozen of family and friends experienced stomach bugs during and after the trip. It’s been a week and me and my wife still have stomach pains. It comes and goes but it feels like when you eaten something that was not right such as a whole bag of uncooked carrots. Dammit I thought this stomach bug was supposed to be gone after a few days not a week and ongoing!!! Should I lay out additional money to see urgent care or my doctor? Bathroom: The bathtub and toilet were always clogged. Compounded with the warm room created a really humid toxic smelling atmosphere. My wife and I had a big argument that night because she blamed me for the stench in the toilet (she needed to go right away) after I went because it would not flush but had to deal with the horrid stench. There were no vents in the bathroom. I called and someone did unclog the toilet and bathtub but left black boot rubber skid marks on the bathtub after they were finished and this was not cleaned off afterwards from house cleaning during the whole stay. Unfortunately, a few hours after maintenance cleared, the clogged bathtub and toilet both reclog again from normal use. I asked them to come back again and it was fixed temporarily but sure enough it was clogged again. Bedroom: The power went out in the middle of the night and we woke up from sweat and called the front desk to restore power but the 1st couple of calls they hung up on us. after the 3rd call they said someone would be there but sure enough no one came. We noticed the bedsheets were not replaced. Reason we found out was stain found from killing a mosquito on the sheet was flipped over to the other side so they only flip the sheets not replacing them. Also noticed the drinks in the minibar were not replaced but that was the least of our problems. The fixtures were broken for some reason as light bulbs were literally hanging from the fixtures. Being that it’s an older room, there were literally no outlets to plug into to charge my phone and iPad. WIFI: WIFI cost money. Its free at the lobby area but data rate is cap at 300kbps. I paid for WIFI but it was still capped at 300kbps. (note: be sure not to click on cancel button in Spanish otherwise you would have to pay for WIFI again) So what that means is you cannot reliably watch Netflix or streaming videos but YouTube which was barely manageable. Restaurant: The reserved BBQ restaurant was outdoors so it was uncomfortable unless eating hot foods in the hot heat is a thing. Front Desk: Around 9am on the 2nd day, I waited half an hour in line at the front desk requested to switch rooms but was told to come back at 3pm and there would be something for me. I show up at 3pm sharp and waited half hour in line, and was told to come back at 5pm. I came back at with another half hour in line at 5pm and was told by a manager there was no rooms available and to come back at 10am the next day. Shouldn’t they know whether rooms were available since they have a reservation system? Meanwhile every time I was at the front desk, I was bitten multiple times in the legs along with multiple customers doing the shuffle dance. I never did get my room switched as I did not want to waste my entire day again to being on hold on whether they can switch me or not. These reps pass the buck to another person. If they can’t get me another room please let me know so I don’t have to waste my time spending the entire day at front desk. Entertainment: The magic show was sweaty hot and there were multiple power failures so the fans didn’t work and the show was constantly delayed. We left halfway due to multiple delays The tribute to Queen did not happen on the night scheduled because of a glitch to their sound system. (The show must go on was not played) Luckily it was right next to the casino. Pros I just want to say the people here in Dominican Republic is probably the friendliest of all the Caribbean. The servers at the buffet was great. Food was good at the buffet slightly better than other resorts. There were no walking waiters for both poolside and beach areas so temper your expectations. Poolside experience was average. Beachside experience was average. We did not get hand foot and mouth disease (yeah!). I sent a constructive review to Grand Principe but received a canned response afterwards which I also expect after this review on TripAdvisor.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-2

    The Worst Holiday I Have Ever Been On, Avoid If You Have Young Children!! HAND FOOT AND MOUTH Is So Bad Here

    Reviewed by SByrne1993x() on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Stayed in this hotel from 17th June to the 1st July, with my partner and two children aged 3 and 5. The rooms are very dated and could do with being modernised, room always full of mosquitos and ants which was a pain. This is ment to be an all inclusive complex, but is definitely not, food repeated itself every day, no variety for young children so struggled most days to get my kids to eat. On the 5th day of are holiday my little girl became really unwell, so went to see the doctor on site who sent us to the hospital, they confirmed that my little girl had caught Hand Foot and Mouth from the kids water park, this turned out to be a really bad case of it and a nice $1000 bill to pay at the end. This totally ruined are holiday as the doctor told us that we could not use pool for the rest of the holiday, so this ment we were stuck in are room for the rest of the duration of the holiday. When confronting staff at the hotel to discuss the situation they showed no interest and said well you are in the Caribbean. Towards the end of the holiday we found out that there was a load more kids that had caught HfAM.All in all this hotel is not worth spending your money on.

    The good, the bad, and the UGLY

    Reviewed by Mama_Lin8() on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The good -- Most of the staff are hard-working, friendly, and pleasant. Emailed the resort 2 weeks prior to arrival to put in our a la carte reservations and room requests and everything was promptly and courteously handled even with our large party of 16. The water park located on site was awesome for those with kids 10 and under. There are lots to do within the resort for adults as well-- the village shops and casino located adjacent to the lobby made the Bahia Principe resort feel like a whole town of its own. Food at the Mikado and Garden Grill a la carte restaurants were excellent! The bad -- The rooms are terribly dated. The bathroom looked and felt dirty because of all of the mold surrounding the tub and shower handle. The toilet kept running and wouldn't flush-- had to call the front desk to send someone out to fix the toilet 3 times during our 6 night stay. The power went out in the whole room if we tried to turn on the bedside light. The first time it happened, we didn’t know what caused the power outage, it was around 9:30pm and was told someone would come out to fix the problem in 20 mins but no one ever came. Luckily there was someone in our party who knew how to fix the issue and just came and flipped on/off the circuit breaker located in the closet. So when it happened again when we tried to turn the bedside light on the following night, we knew how to fix it ourselves. There were only 2 power outlets in the whole room-- one for the coffee maker and one for the tv. If you wanted to charge multiple devices or iron while charging a device, too bad...you'll have to wait or iron or charge your device in the bathroom. 13 of the 16 people in our group also got stomach cramps and diarrhea during our stay. Nothing major--- just very uncomfortable and annoying. The UGLY --- Our room was infested with mosquitoes. We made sure to keep our doors closed but our room always had at LEAST half a dozen mosquitoes in it. We spent an hour each evening killing mosquitoes before we went to bed and then the next morning would still find more in the room. Not sure how they were getting in. We had to sleep with our heads under the blankets as we were scared to get bit even more. We tried to change rooms a few times but each time were told there were none available and to come back again the next day. The front desk offered to send someone to spray our room but we have young children so we didn't want them breathing in all of the chemicals so we just suffered through the 6 nights there. So needless to say, even though we used insect repellent spray, wipes, and lotion, we all still came back home with mosquito bites all over our face and bodies-- at least 10-30 bites each. Now, we fully expected to get a few bites here and there since we were visiting a tropical island BUT not to this extent! Met a few folks at the airport on our way home from Punta Cana and none of the people we spoke to from other resorts had the same issues with mosquitoes in their rooms. It's ashame because we really would've enjoyed our stay if not for the dated and mosquito infested rooms.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-5

    Punta Cana visit

    Reviewed by Sandra R(Bayamon, Puerto Rico) on Jul 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was a great place to be as a family. Always something for the teens and adults. I would like to recognize Dania at the buffet and Ofelina in housekeeping department. One of my best vacations.Thank you!??

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX