Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma
    6. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Snorkeling right off the beach in this smaller 150 room hotel which is max 50ft from the beach! No golf carts necessary... Great for kids!

    Reviewed by KyBosh on Feb 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    50ft from the beach... small 150 room resort where you actually get to know the staff and many of the other guests. Great for kids... and great entertainment every night culminating with the fantastic bbq seafood dinner with latin dancers and fantastic music. Pelicans diving for fish right in front of us on the beach and snorkeling right on the same beach. They have a shark net which also keeps away the pesky seaweed which is seasonal in these parts... Food was better than the other bigger hotels AND they didn't try to HARD SELL us on the time share like at the massive hotels. They do ask if you are interested but as soon as you say no thanks, they don't keep trying to sell you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Of all the resorts and vacations in my lifetime (100+), this resort was the best!

    Reviewed by Nancy Polleis on Feb 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The whole vacation was flawless from start to finish. I have to say that whoever manages this resort is someone pretty special because everything was as promised PLUS - right down to the finer details. The two of us felt completely at home because the staff was so friendly, humorous, accomodating, fun, energetic and playful. The activities were non stop and very well organized. The front desk management was extremely professional (especially Oscar!). The beach, bar and restaurant staff were SO much fun treating us like family all the time (especially Raul, Avolino, Enrica, Noel, Eduardo, Manuel, & all staff at Blue & Grill). The beach activities were lots of fun and well organized. The long walks on the beach were amazing. Snorkelling was wonderful. Spa was great. Food outstanding. Cleanliness abosolutely perfect. I can't think of a negative thing to say (and normally I'm pretty judgemental). So, my friend and I plan to come here 2-3 times a year now. There's no reason to search elsewhere. Everything we needed was right here. Thanks Azul for a great sunny happy vacation!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Best ever and loved it.

    Reviewed by Senior Gary and Mama on Jan 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    BEST EVER, Food awesome, service you could not ask for better, personal service, warm, friendly and safe. We started going 1 time a year now going 2 times a year and do not want to go anywhere else. We highly recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4524 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Time Share Resort

    Reviewed by Barbara M(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This resort seems suited for young families that are willing to purchase time share here. Otherwise the beds on the beach have to be reserved the day before at 3:00. However you need to be in the line up around 2:30 to make sure you get one. If you require shade and cannot get a beach bed (as we were unable a couple of days) you are really out of luck. There is on buffet for lunch or dinner so be prepared to wait a long time to be served. Often times members in the group were missed, incorrect orders were given. The internet works great throughout the resort. Food is okay. You better be prepared for the sales pitch as you check into the resort. They definitely cater to their time share clientele.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Jennifer

    Reviewed by Compass167239() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were very impressed with Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya. We went for a wedding with children and the kids had plenty to keep them occupied- our younger ones loved the kids club! The service was impeccable. The food was absolutely delicious at all the restaurants. The wedding venue & amenities were amazing. You will not be disappointed to stay here! ??????????

    I did not want to go to Mexico

    Reviewed by Donna140(Edmonton, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This Resort was one of the best resorts I have ever stayed in. Our Hotel Room was amazing. The food was amazing.. The staff were so friendly and so helpful....I have stayed at the Sandals Resorts and Azul's Resort was even better. Its was just great - So great I am going back.

    Great spot with fabulous amenities

    Reviewed by briantoday(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything was perfect for the destination wedding. In particular Valentin was extremely helpful and very patient with our Spanish lessons. All staff seemed to go out of their way to ensure a pleasant experience. I highly recommend this resort and will come back again.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    lovely resort, needs updating and basic health clinic onsite or available

    Reviewed by awayfromme(Shenandoah, Texas) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    the resort is very pretty and the rooms are comfortable and clean. there was a lot of seaweed on the beach but the workers carted it away all day long. the staff is very nice and attentive. most of the restaurants were good but the sushi/asian one was subpar. the beds were comfortable. the area around the open air lobby and rooms smelled like sewage two of the days we were there. one of the members of our group cut her foot on the beach and it required stitches and the staff called a local doctor because they didn't have even basic supplies to clean and bandage the wound. the doctor arrived and charged $250 and didn't even have stitches. another doctor came the next day and stitches were placed but the charge was $450. other all-inclusive resorts in mexico have had a doctor on call and the charge was minimal. since it isn't safe to drive outside of the resort and look for a doctor, there were no other options. we felt taken advantage of and it was disappointing that the resort did not manage this better. overall, I would not return.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX