Excellence Riviera Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Fantastic Resort and staff... highly recommended.

    Reviewed by JTG on Apr 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Simply an excellent establishment. True 5 star. The only items that may not hit top notch would be: beach - excellent sand but lots of eel grass and seaweed. Lounger - cushions were just ok, extra towels helped a lot Entertainment - evening shows were pretty hit and miss. Overall, any shortcomings were way overpowered by outstanding staff, good food and excellent rooms. Very quiet adult resort without any wildness.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    O

    Best mexico Vacay

    Reviewed by Ogopogie on Jan 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Best staff, best food, best vacay ever! Clean, fun, safe, immaculate. A+ on everything!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    l

    Can't Wait to Go Back!

    Reviewed by lyric on May 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We are a Canadian couple, in late our 60's. Our room was a beautifully appointed suite with a roof-top plunge pool. Everything about the place was 5 star and aside from a reserved part of the beach, from our perspective, we couldn't see any advantage to the Excellence Club class. The food was fantastic, with top notch service throughout by friendly, willing staff. The choice of restaurants was wonderful, and there were special events and entertainment each night. The beach was nice, but the pools are fantastic. If you want excitement, the swim up bar pool was rocking, but for peace and quiet, the spa pool area was serene... and for handicapped folks, there was a heated, accessible pool area. We loved the availability of lounge beds around the pools. The hotel offered a free shuttle bus into the small village of Puerto Morales where we were able to buy a few souvenirs. We have lived in Europe and travelled extensively all over the world as well as doing at least 10 cruises. By comparison, this stay was the best value, ever...so much so that we plan on going back for a longer stay this winter! There were no negatives from our perspective and we would highly recommend this hotel! Can't wait to go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    The best trip ever, so far! This resort is the epitome of luxury and relaxation with the greatest staff!

    Reviewed by Karen ... Canada on Jan 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Best!!!!! Herman, Xavier, Erikka- @ the tour desk and our girl Erikka on the floor, along with Louise an amazing greeter and Bell! The entire hotel staff was simply amazing and accommodating. Wonderful selection of restaurants and snack bars, room service, and a great coffee bar along with an amazing Martini Bar! And so much more! I loved the ice cream station, crepe afternoons and frozen fruit cart and the Mexican Bingo with the wonderfully amusing sorry girl...I've forgotten your name...loved you too! Just a sample of what this beautiful resort has to offer. Extremely clean. Fabulous entertainment every evening and...Soooooo many interesting activities Daily! Good luck trying to fit them all in. The lazy river pool is one of the best! This hotel is prepared for every scenario and make good on every reservation. These fine folks go above and beyond ... truly, a luxury experience. It was the greatest resort Experience! Kudos to all! Loved the Excellence! ...BTW...the wee town of Puerto Morelos is well worth checking out...great folks, arts and crafts and festivities! Check in with your concierge when you arrive, it's worth it. Also recommend a side excursion to Coba Ruins...fascinating and affordable and one of the last Mayan ruins you can ascend. Everything was 5*****s!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We loved every minute of our stay at Excellence - I want to go back immediately!

    Reviewed by Sunlovers on Jul 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellence was exactly what we wanted - quiet, adults only, terrific food, magnificent service and nice rooms. Pros: - Gorgeous pools. They were very quiet and peaceful but the main pool near the swim up bar was lively in the afternoon. There were tons of pool chairs available. If you are staying in a swim up suite, you have your own private pool bed. Think of a king sized comfy bed out in the sun. If not, you could grab one of the few that were poolside or in a shaded hut. - Restaurants had amazing food. I had very low expectations and didn't believe the positive reviews that I read but the food was great. The breakfast buffet at the Barcelona was huge and offered omelettes to order, waffles... The a la carte dinners were very good too. We were not huge fans of the Mexican restaurant but the Italian and Asian restaurants were tasty. We only had to wait for the Asian restaurant but were seated immediately at the others. - Mini bar stocked with drinks and you had a full bottle of vodka, tequila, wine and rum in your room - All couples honeymooners or 30/40 somethings . Cons: - Do not go if you are a beach person. It is not the hotel's fault but tons of seaweed was constantly washing up on shore. They had to use a big tractor to scoop it up and then rake it by hand. It's kind of gross but it's a huge problem everywhere, not just here. We didn't care because the pools were to die for but if you love the beach, look elsewhere. - Westjet's hotel transfer from the airport was horrible. We had to wait on the sidewalk in the hot Mexican sun for over an hour. 90 minutes after we had landed, they said that they were waiting for two other couples from our flight but they must have taken private transportation so they made us wait for a large group that came on a different flight. It was not how I wanted to begin my vacation. : We loved everything at the hotel, especially the pool and terrific service. We can't wait to go back!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 17128 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Multi time Excellence customer and will never be back.

    Reviewed by NickGMS() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Having visited Excellence Play Mujeres twice and recommended it to 30 couples, I was expecting the same at Rivera Cancun Excellence. This was not the case. It is almost like a completely different company in Riviera Cancun. We went with a group of friends on our recommendation and came back very upset and disappointed. The resort is Beautiful and the staff is excellent, but that is where the complements end for this resort. The dining experiences were the worst I have ever had. The waits were crazy long, it took even longer to get your food and the food was subpar. The pool needed some deep cleaning and maybe some renovation. The beach and water were so see weed covered we never enjoyed them. I know this isn’t their fault on the see weed but it was terrible. The one time I did use the water sports they guys said it’s free but He needed a good tip. I used concierge to book a day at Explorer and when I came back upstairs she said she miss quoted the price (which was $35 over Expedia already) and made me pay more. We missed every night activity sitting in restaurants waiting on food. My last two days on property something got me sick and I haven’t held down a meal since. The last and most important negative is the falsified high rating this resort has. At check out some one in-front of me had left a bad review the day before. The manager came out and bribed him to delete it in front of here for a complementary stay later. Just know, here the only Good reviews are due to this strategy. I never write a negative review, but I am so disappointed I will never visit and Excellence again. I have cancelled the October trip we had planned to Excellence Punta Cana.

    Great resort!

    Reviewed by 123noelv(Papillion, Nebraska) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was our second trip to excellence, five years apart, and we made the right choice to return. Great staff and amenities. Very relaxing and well maintained resort, providing the stress free environment we were looking for. Food was good at all of the restaurants we ate at, and being able to go to different pools on different days was a plus.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Now this is a resort!

    Reviewed by isalameee(Dearborn Heights, Michigan) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Food, service, scenery, everything was amazing. One thing for anyone coming here is ladies bring something nice to wear for dinner and men, bring a collared shirt and long pants. Three dinner locations recommend to wear this. Everything else was great. Seaweed as of July 2019 is still there but pools make up for it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Disappointed is an understatement!

    Reviewed by Parker S() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Scheduled this trip with 3 other couples and all of us left feeling very underwhelmed. PROS: Beautiful resort Very clean room Very friendly staff - especially Leno and Jesus who worked the swim-up bar, Matilde who made sure we were taken care of with drinks each day while laying out, and Merek and Giovanna who always greeted us with a smile and made sure we were laughing! However, Everyday around dinner time was when things went downhill. Every single night we experienced one and a half hour to two hour delays just to get dinner. This left us not only starving, but also missing every single evening activity because we were sitting in the restaurants SO long just trying to get fed. The night that was the most disappointing was the night we attempted to eat at the French restaurant. After sitting for over two hours afternoon ordering and watching every other table in there receive their food, the 3 females in our group finally had to go upstairs to the coffee shop before they closed to get muffins because it was 9:30 and we could not wait any longer to eat something. After this, we went back to our rooms to order room service because obviously a muffin does not suffice for dinner, and then waited another hour to receive room service. At this point, it was nearly 11:30 that we finally got dinner and had missed the pop show and the silent dance party and totally ruined our evening. The frustrating part was that it seemed like it was only our group that was having these issues. Everyone else came and went from the restaurants and was able to enjoy their evenings while we seemed to practically beg to be fed. Lastly, on our final day which was checkout, our room took on a strange odor. At this point we were so frustrated and ready to leave, that we just went and hung out in the lobby until time to leave. We noticed the resort in general had a slight sewage smell. Having traveled to other Dreams and Sandals resorts, we were not pleased with our Excellence experience especially considering this resort was recommended to us.

    The staff was amazing

    Reviewed by WendyR1511() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The overall trip was amazing. The food was great. The room service was speedy!!!Gustavo The bell boy ( they need a better name than bell boy) was the best!!He became a member of my family!! I miss our talks!!He was just great!! Juan was our Bar server by the pool. Only told him the first day what we wanted to to drink. He remembered the whole week what we liked. Always had a smile on his face no matter how hot it was.Marco who served us breakfast in the buffet also remember down to that I didnt like ice in my tomato juice! The staff they have there really makes me want to go back. I miss seeing them. The hotel was spotless. Best hotel in Mexico!! Cant wait to go back!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX