Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    We LOVE Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. The staff at the swim up bar always friendly and the waiters at the Internation Buffet were great.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Nov 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 3rd trip to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and we will be back again next October with family to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We Love Westjet and whenever possible we fly with them. The Resort was very busy this time but the service was still excellent. The location is excellent as you are close to sightseeing tours or perhaps a shopping trip into Playa Del Carmen..For the most part the staff was great, however, we didn't find the people on the reception desk to be very friendly..got more help from the fellows at the front that help unload your baggage. We were able to accomplish what we set out to do getting things arranged for next October and having an enjoyable vacation once again at the resort. Next year will be vacation Number 4 to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    We are going back. Loved it

    Reviewed by Mona on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The staff were amazing. From the cart drivers, to the wait staff to the room cleaners. The staff at check in were fantastic and very helpful

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    This resort is awesome..staff went beyond what you'd expect to accomodate your requests. Best place in our view to stay in the Tulum area.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Jan 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We LOVE the Grand Bahia Principe Resorts and have stayed at GBP Tulum 3 times and plan to go back again this October and again next October. Great location, the staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Lot of variety as far as food and beverages are concerned. Great location to go exploring ..Like I said we just love it there. Would hightly recommend it for family, friends or just two people. GREAT is all I can Say

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Shanzsato on Sep 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is my home away from home. My whole family has been many times including my wedding in the Tulum Gazebo. Amazing staff and some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Before coming here we were the type of people who always tried new places and never went to the same place twice. Since our first trip here in 2009 we have not gone anywhere else and now are planning out 16th trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Families will love it here!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property has so much for families! I loved how clean it was, loved the pool and beach! Lots of watersports! Close to Tulum!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    If your looking for a nice resort, KEEP LOOKING. This is not for you!

    Reviewed by Yellowdukk on Feb 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It all started within the first 30 minutes after arriving. We checked into the hotel and immediately went to guest services to book our A La Cart dinners. We did our research and decided beforehand what we wanted, but to our surprise there were no decent reservation times available anytime during our entire stay. We could have booked for a 10pm dinner but who wants to eat that late! We had to settle for whatever was left, which wasn't much. note: there were never more then 50% of the tables used when we walked by We soon learned that certain travel companies allow pre booking of meals but WestJet wasn't one of them. It just went downhill from there. 2 hours later we were settled into our room. Not by choice, but to find a room that didn't have 2 twin 4 post beds or a hole in the ceiling and water all over the floor. Front desk were little to no help in resolving this issue and persisted to try and make us stay in these rooms for a few days and then move. Not happening! Finally off to bed but to only be awaken at 2am with a room at 13 degrees. The A/C was broken and wouldn't shut off. We decided to just turn the unit off and on as needed for the week instead of moving again. Lets just say that this was just the start of our horrible holiday. It didn't get any better throughout the week but we did make the best of it. It's a safe bet that we will never be back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    not impressed!

    Reviewed by KelliHeikel on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Went for my best friends wedding, paid for an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate my small child. Only to find out that this is a scam and there actually is no upgrade and all 30 people that came with us had the exact same room and didn't need to pay. I notified the hotel staff and they simply said that yes we paid for it and everyone that was with us must have been upgraded for free. Then they told me to speak with the rep on site. He basically told me you pay for what you get and too bad.... The hotel staff were not friendly, rooms need many upgrades, lights not working, mold in the room and an awful smell. Some days we did not get towels even though we tipped everyday. We also did not get face cloths and always running out of toilet paper. We were there for 10 days and we were unable to book an a la carte which was included in our price. Eating at the buffet for 10 days became very tiresome as it was always the same food, it would have been nice to eat something different. By the last few days, my baby wouldn't eat anything and looking at the buffet literally made my stomach turn. I would like to mention that my best friend's wedding was absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing, the food was great...I was very impressed by that as I am planning my own wedding at this time. Ceasar was fantastic and the service at the wedding was superb. This service would have been nice to have more than just one day. Also Jordan in the buffet was the best server there and we enjoyed him very much. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. I absolutely love westjet but this trip has left a sour taste in my mouth and this make me very sad.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 14384 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Blew away our expectations.

    Reviewed by Kcolonel1030(New Paltz, New York) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had never been to an all inclusive and thought to try it as we got a good deal online. Well everything was great food staff rooms etc. if there was one bummer for us the AC didn’t blow cold enough. We had three sit down dinners and they blew our doors off! And the kids all they can talk about is the buffet! We loved it also healthy choices and good food.

    Top notch

    Reviewed by Yodasarmy(Prince George, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our week here was absolutely fantastic, zero problems with anything. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms and public spaces are very clean. The beach was well kept and free of garbage and debris. There were no beach vendors so relaxing on the beach was easy. All of the staff were top notch in the customer service department. The food was absolutely delicious from the buffet to the ala cartes. The drinks were great, line up's could get a bit long but they worked very hard at getting us all through as fast as possible. Highly recommend this resort!

    So much to do!!

    Reviewed by 227brookep() on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first resort stay and first time in Mexico so we don’t have much to compare it to. However, as a hotel worker I am pretty picky when it comes to service and the service here exceeded my expectations. The bell staff were especially amazing with bringing us to our rooms and taking our suitcase up the stairs to our room. The staff were extremely happy and always eager to please. We especially loved the team who leads the entertainment and many classes you can take during the day such as Spanish, Zumba. Salsa, etc. The nightlife was great with live music in the lobby bars, then a show at the theater, followed by dancing in the hacienda and the nightclub which opens at midnight. We didn’t have a single bad experience. The buffet food was suitable for our food allergies as well (vegetarian/vegan and gluten-free), although I wish there could’ve been more plain beans (without beef in them) for protein and other plant-based proteins as well would’ve been great. However, the restaurants were great at accomidating our needs. There were so many pools and all were great. The Tulum beach was pretty rocky but it is easy to get to the Akumal beach which is a part of the same resort and a much better beach for swimming. Overall, would definitely stay again!

    Beautiful place

    Reviewed by Wlowden(Kelowna, Canada) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Had such a great time. Resort is beautiful food fantastic. Very clean, fantastic service by all staff. 2 weeks here and not one unhappy staff member. Juan in lobby bar made our trip the best and we will return next year for sure. We have traveled a lot and to many places and this is the first place that we know we return to. Lots to do lots of entertainment, shopping, casino just all around great place. Thanks for the great memories

    First time at an all inclusive

    Reviewed by alida75(Vancouver, Canada) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Hotel - first time at an all inclusive, so I wasn't sure what to expect. Overall it went well although I wouldn't vacation like this often. -Rooms are clean, no mold, no big complaints. -Our room faced a garden so we had a nice quiet place -Wifi is *only* in the lobby and bar - they offer $9USD/day access to internet - although - in Canada it costs $12/day for roaming in Mexico, so it was the same price and then I could also access internet off site Food & drinks -Buffet is good, the roasted chicken and pork and the "Mexican section" were great. -Food was a bit repetitive at the buffet but I guess that is what one can expect. -The a la cart restaurants were very good (Brazilian, Mexican, & French) - book them early in your trip as they seem to book up fast -The drinks are very watered down so I always asked for a "double" when getting a mixed drink. -The staff working in the dining rooms are excellent. Incredibly hard working - reward them with a tip - think of tipping the people who bring out the dishes or clean the bathrooms too - they work just as hard but get overlooked - especially by everyone who is rushing for bacon every morning!! (seriously, I've never seen people get so excited or uppity about getting bacon for breakfast!!) Pools & beach -Multiple swimming pools which is nice as there is more of a "party" pool and then quieter pools -Beach was nice and they did pretty well cleaning up the seaweed daily - the best section was mid-resort. The south area of the beach had mountains of seaweed. The North end of the beach is the quietest - although a moderate amount of seaweed and no swimming. -The "Coba" part of the beach had mountains of seaweed, so i'm glad we booked at the Tulum part. -They have a portion of the water for swimming (natural reef and foam barrier/net) although the wind was too strong every day to take out a stand up paddle board or kayak. Spa prices -The prices are pretty crazy - $125 USD for a 50 minute massage. That is *significantly* more than one would pay for a 90 minute massage in Canada by a Registered Massage therapist! So I did not use Spa services - way too expensive -But, if you really want a massage and you have cash, walk north up the beach just past the resort and you will find a large tent on the beach with 4 massage beds - $50 USD for 1 hour massage - I also didn't try this - but just FYI Getting around - It is easy to walk around the Tulum resort but they have these golf carts that go back and forth between the Coba & Tulum resorts. It is a nice service, however, they use the sidewalks to drive on. Rather than slow down and wait for people walking, we had to get off the sidewalk and get out of the ways of the carts dozens of times. Not always a big deal, but if you step on the grass into a puddle of fetid water and your foot now smells like poop, not so nice... it would be nice if the carts used one side of the sidewalk or used the road exclusively - so the guests who choose to walk aren't constantly at risk of being run over or getting off the sidewalk Car rental - Europcar -Their posted daily prices are very expensive so I was looking online and found the prices were about 1/3 of the price for the same company. -We booked a car for 2 days online and picked it up at the Tulum hotel -The agents spoke almost no english - which I realize, I am in Mexico and people speak spanish - however, some increased fluency when renting cars to foreigners would be appreciated given the technical and legal paperwork -The big issue is they *persuaded* us to upgrade the coverage to medium (even though we had coverage on Credit card) as it was still cheaper than their posted price. They did a very poor job explaining the paperwork - I would probably grab a hotel employee to translate if I did it again. -Heres the kicker - they charged us twice - for both the online rental and again the new price they quoted us with the increased insurance. We were told they were ONLY using the credit card for a deposit which would be reversed on return of the car. -Now, when we call their "toll free" numbers from Canada, you have to "press 1 to accept the charges" for the phone call. Since I don't know what they are going to charge my phone, I declined to accept charges and the line was cut off. Then, when I call back the same number - the message is literally "You are calling us after hours. Please call back at another time" - despite the fact that they state on their website they are open 24/7 for customer service. -We think we likely will not recover our money as it was all sketchy. All very disappointing given I made the wrong assumption that Europcar would be a reputable international company. -Be forewarned and ensure you know *exactly* what charges are going to be put on your card!! Timeshare sales- We were trying to find the "Westjet orientation" session when a guy at a desk in the lobby said he would help us find it and "do our orientation" since we were late. Since we didn't know any better (first time at all inclusive) we thought he was one of the guys who did it. He talked us into going to Coba the next morning for breakfast, tour and a "talk" about coming back to the hotel. "Not selling a single thing. Don't take a credit card. It is just to invite you back to the hotel" -So, we thought this is something everyone does - why not. -Went to Coba for breakfast the next morning and it was quickly evident they were selling a timeshare even though they refused to call it that. They started off with a $25,000 package and when we kept declining, they would switch out their sales person (3 times) lowering the package again and again. -So, AVOID this "special" breakfast - it is all a sales pitch -We didn't book any trips at the hotel - we did the Tulum ruins, the Grand Cenote (excellent, highly recommend) and the Coba ruins on our own with a rental car -It is very safe to drive around the area -Overall, I would recommend this hotel - I had no major issues with it and it was fair value for the money

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX