Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen
    6. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Ripped Off

    Reviewed by Snb1979 on Apr 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only thing this resort has going for it, is it's location. There is NO BEACH, don't let the advertised pictures fool you! The snack hut is literally 5 steps from the pool bar, and if you take a step backwards you'll fall off the sand hill. Nothing but giant smelly sand bags. The buffet food is decent quality, but zero selection. We ate off the resort more than we ate on the resort, and when you pay what this place charges...that's just unacceptable. Their evening entertainment consists of a very amateur 30 minute "show" followed by much to loud music in the tiny lobby bar area. I was so excited to go to this resort, and now I feel like I was ripped off.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay, best staff!

    Reviewed by SK Traveller on Apr 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    By far, some of the best staff around. Resort is fantastic! Not large and location is so convenient to 5th Ave. shopping in Playa del Carmen. Not the place for you if the beach is your priority as some of it has been worn away by the waves and storms. Can't wait to go back though!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11950 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Vacation

    Reviewed by Jengo M() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Panama Jack resorts in Playa Del Carmen was everything I anticipated and more. The food was delicious and the drinks were plentiful. The staff was so helpful and accommodating! There were a lot of activities to do there. They had a pool party, performances every night and so much more! The location is also great! It’s walking distance from 5th Avenue, Cozumel ferry and colectivos. Definitely will return!

    Amazing!

    Reviewed by pnbennettx(Martinsburg, West Virginia) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I chose Panama Jack for our honeymoon trip. The staff, the food & the entertainment were awesome! We had so much fun every single day which is exactly what we needed! Terrific, care-free, FUN! We are fairly introverted people, but the sports and entertainment staff, Cecelia & Eder really pulled us in and we took part in the water aerobics and pool volleyball! We really felt like we had known them for years. They were so inviting and fun! They even came and sat with us during down time and spoke with me about where we come from, our fur-babies and so on! What a great place!!

    Very good

    Reviewed by Travellerukca() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    As soon as we walked into the hotel we were met with very friendly workers which was a real delight. Everyone is so kind and caring. We was given snacks and drinks whilst we checked in. Someone brought up our luggage for us which was very handy. There was a Mexican buffet around the pool which we were delighted to feast on. After a variety of foods we went to the rooftop pool which was gorgeous. We went to sleep in a very cold room,with a very cold shower which was quite refreshing. Me and my sister then went out with our two children to 5th Avenue where we was able to find a bar for families which was wicked as it was local. Our kids loved the people around the pool who danced and played games because they were so kind. They are the nicest people ever. There was a terrible smell in our room therefore we were able to move to a nicer room. So far our stay has been brilliant. We got a few pictures with parrots from the go pro team. Must stay!!

    unhygienic toilet issues

    Reviewed by Tranquilizer_Family(Munich, Germany) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    As being an All Inclusive Hotel, obviously taking care of presenting food all day is a big job. Having high temperatures as an additional factor, required more attention. But hygiene is first! On the Pool toilets does take 3 days, after my repetitive request at reception to put soap to wash hands an keep it hygienic clean. Take a look on Foto to see the poor solution - only one, on men’s - for such a expensive hotel. Our room toilet wasn’t also deep cleaned some days. Having diarrhea some marks does had showing the past, if the toilet seat would had opened at all. There is a plus, small but, they start to use recyclable cups. They did not have enough, so that afternoon switch to plastic. At evening they are back. If they are cleaned as required? Maybe you want to buy or bring your own cooler cup, and use it on repetitive refill. Have anyway a nice time at Playa del Carmen.

    Summer fun!

    Reviewed by stefaniejaner() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had the most amazing time this past week. The hotel us absolutely beautiful. The rooms that we had (2 ocean view jr suites and 1 standard) were decorated tastefully and had all the right touches. Some rooms had towel creations and some had candies left after each day of house cleaning. We ate at all of the restaurants and were not disappointed with any of the selections. The best part of the hotel is by far the staff. I can not find the words to express how pampered we felt. And they were more than pleasant, they made you feel as if you mattered. They remembered little things about us. They were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. If we ever make it back to Mexico this will be our go to!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX