Iberostar Selection Paraiso Maya

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    G

    Good for new to all inclusive and nature lovers.

    Reviewed by G.L. on Jul 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    If people like nature and wildlife, it is perfect! There is nature pathways to walk along the resort where you are surrounded by fauna and wildlife. Make sure to download the resort apps where you would get a map of the resort that you can use once there and prebook a la carte restaurants up to 5 days in advance. Otherwise you may have difficulty to get a reservation. The rooms are older, but comfortable. The decor throughout the resort is colorful and with a Mayan theme. There is smaller pools incuding children pools with small slides, and a bigger very long pool with a swim up bar. There is also a lazy river. Food that I had was average, but plentiful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    k

    Great Family Resort

    Reviewed by k on Jun 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    This is a very large property. With larger resorts, more amenties are offered as is the case with the Iberostar Selection Paraison Maya. The kids club is fantastic! As is the teen Club! There is also a small lshopping mall, casino, access to sister properties, many dining options and entertainment. On the downside, its challenging to navigate the property., esp finding your rooms and connecting with other guests. The golf carts transfer guests from throughtout the property however, wait times are inconsistent. The beach is in fair condition with a lot of seaweed. Food and service was very good. This is a good resort for families with younger child who would spend more time at the pool and in the kids club than at the beach. .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Great pool, amazing amenities, awesome for families!!!!

    Reviewed by Rochelle on Jun 20, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel is all about amenities. There is something for everyone! Great pool, kids club, teens club, the gym is amazing! There is also a shopping center and casino on site! Had a wonderful time with friends but this resort is great and is perfect for families!!!! The downside to the resort is unfortunately the beach has issues with Sargassum (seaweed) so if you are a beach person- keep that in mind! However the pool is amazing! The pool is big, lots of room and has wonderful service! Another note is that this property is massive! I usually go for smaller hotels and found this hotel to be very large. The upside to that is the amount of carts that go around and will pick you up and take you where you need to go! And the staff is super accommodating!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    If you like large resorts with a lot of ammenties this one's for you.

    Reviewed by Cathy on Jun 19, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Great property with tons of ammenities. The rooms are a bit dated and the bed was way too soft for me. The food was very good. We had a great time watching the Raptors win the Championship at the sports bar at Paraiso Lindo. I really like that staying at the Maya gave us access to the Lindo, Del Mar and Paraiso Beach sections. I didn't spend time at the beach or swim in the ocean. There was a lot of seaweed and although they do try and clear it off the beach it was constant during my stay. The kids club "Star Camp" looked amazing. I might need to plan a family trip so the kids can experience it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO FAMILIES HAS THE BEST KIDS PROGRAMS

    Reviewed by KELLY on Jun 19, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    VERY BUSY AND VERY BIG RESORT

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Loved our stay and would recommend it particulary to families!

    Reviewed by Lena on Jun 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Great location! With access to the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, Iberostar Paraiso Beach, Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar. The Kids club/camp is the state of the art at the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar! Beautiful resort with lots of art and very clean!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    We enjoyed our stay and everyone was friendly!

    Reviewed by The Frequent Traveller on Jun 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    This resort was good. It had many amenities and definitely somewhere I would come back to with my family. Their Starcamp for young children and teens is unlike anything I've seen before. The staff was helpful and kind. The restaurants were very busy and I would recommend making reservations when you can. Their mall was nicely set up, like a little market place where you can find a late night burger joint, the disco and the casino conveniently all in on area.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    L

    Big name, big brand, big land mass, but little to fill the void!

    Reviewed by LW on Jun 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    Hotel is big as it encompasses 2 other Iberostar properties. It is like a little village. Rooms need a refresher and better signage to find your room. After day 3, still had a hard time finding our room. Drinks were plentiful but food could improve. Front and bell desk staffs could be more consistent with their information regarding restaurant hours and if a la carts needed reservations. Star Camp (kids club) is amazing! Lots of activities to entertain your little ones. Be nice if more effort put into cleaning the surround ponds around the common area. Staffs were good not excellent. Undecided if I'd return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Endless activities and entertainment

    Reviewed by Tracie on Jun 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    The property was nice and has lots to offer from kids club to casino to disco to the fitness centre. The resort is visually appealing with the Mayan architecture. We explored the Iberostar Lindo and the Iberostar del Mar and the Iberostar Beach which are all beside each other. There are many restaurants to chose from but make sure you book reservations in advance unless you just want to eat at the buffet restaurant. The rooms are comfortable but could use some updating. We had to unplug the lamp and coffee maker to charge our phones. I would definitely go back for the entertainment and activities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Bel endroit! Beaucoup trop grand!!!

    Reviewed by Lyne on Jan 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Avons voyagé du 14 au 21 janvier 2015, 4 adultes. Très bel hôtel; beaucoup trop grand. Avons dû prendre cart pour aller à certains restaurants ou marcher 10 minutes. Les spectacles en soirée mercredi à vendredi étaient très décevants. Enfin, le samedi, spectacle mexicain et les autres soirs c'était bien. Aucune musique mexicaine sur la plage ou à la discothèque. Avons demandé où soirée dansante et on ne nous a jamais bien renseignés; un peu comme si le Iberostar Paraiso Maya voulait garder leurs clients à leur hôtel... Le dernier soir, un danseur du spectacle nous a parlé du Iberostar Paraiso del Mar où il y a de la danse à tous les soirs. Malheureusement quand nous sommes allés à 22h30, c'était terminé!!! Grosse déception de ce côté. Pour ce qui est de la plage, c'est très beau; le service est très bon. Alexandra nous apportait nos drinks à la plage à tous les jours: service no 1, elle est très souriante, parle français, l'avons beaucoup appréciée Bahama Mama et Pina Colada. C'est la meilleure ... Les serveurs dans les restaurants sont très sympathiques; avons beaucoup ri avec eux. Nous ne retournerons pas à cet hôtel mais c'est une belle place, propre...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6287 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    OUR STAY AT IBEROSTAR PARAÍSO MAYA.

    Reviewed by 880guillerminat() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This has been the worst resort we’ve stayed at by far in the Riviera maya. The resort itself is beautiful but there were many things about the resort that we hated. There were many pools in this resort that were "okay” the water in the pools were warm so we spent most of our time in the wave pool. The lazy river was very small and had no current. Nightlife lacked in this resort, so if you are looking to go out at night this resort isn’t for you considering that most of the activities and shopping center is at the “lindo” which even then nightlife was very minimal and even boring. The bar offered low quality drinks. The resort is humongous we were lost 90% of the time there and the staff was absolutely no help at all there was one day that We were trying to get to the buffets at lindo and I’m not even being dramatic we asked like 15 people and all of them had different directions that they were giving us. We are bilingual we speak both fluent English and Spanish so the message was getting across it was almost as if they didn’t know where things were in the resort. The night shows sucked while we were there they had an 80s and rock concert that both sucked. The rooms were nice but humid which is expected in the part of México that the resort is located in. The beach had high quantities of sargassum so we didn’t spent much time there at all. FOOD WAS AWFUL ! Out of everything in this resort the thing that bothered us the most was the FOOD it’s was absolutely atrocious. The buffets offered nasty food that honestly seemed to be old food that was just reheated . The only restaurant we went to was “El Tapatío” and the grill was extremely dirty we only went to this one restaurant during our stay at this resort because after we ate at this restaurant almost all of us got sick with even one of our family members having to be taken to the medic at the resort and then having to be transported to a hospital at Cancún. Before our family member went to the medic at the resort we checked her blood pressure, and it was “normal” after we checked her blood pressure she then went to the medic and the lady at the medic office said that our family members blood pressure was extremely high and also said that she was running a fever . At the medics office we had to pay $100+ upfront and then they transported our family member to a hospital at Cancún they then checked her blood pressure there and it was normal and she was not running a fever like the lady at the medic office said. This whole resort revolves around money with the actual people staying there like us being there last priority. Thank almighty god that we chose to eat at “El Tapatío” the second from the last day before leaving home. When we got home our family member went to the doctor and was diagnosed with “travelers diarrhea” which is caused by “CONTAMINATED FOOD OR WATER “. We just recently found out that another one of our family members is also having these bacterial problems with even blood present in their stool and many other family members with diarrhea as well. I am not saying that the food is dangerous to eat and that you are at a 100% risk of getting sick, but I only am trying to say to be BEWARE of what you and your children are consuming.

    Wonderful famuly vacation

    Reviewed by xiomaras553() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful week at Iberostar Paraiso Maya. The staff was really helpful and friendly. Beautiful beach, pools, amendities and spacious room. The kids loved the wave pool and the kids camp activites. There is a lot to do for everyone to enjoy.

    Excellent hotel!

    Reviewed by Bernie L(Palmetto Bay, Florida) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I just got back and we loved it loved it loved it! We stayed in a superior junior suite in building 60. The grounds/pools are beautiful, the staff cannot be nicer & helpful, the food is great & the bars are everywhere. My 9 & 5-year old kids LOVED Star Camp. The staff at starcamp are all excellent and should be commended. My wife and I loved working out at the gym. There is something for everyone here. We are definately coming back.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Enjoyed by all

    Reviewed by KP494(Bel Air, Maryland) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Traveled to Paraiso Maya with extended family to celebrate graduations and grandparents 50th anniversary. The resort was even more beautiful in person- lovely spaces everywhere. In addition it had something for everyone- pools and lazy river for those of us that wanted to chill in the water, indoor air-conditioned bar areas for relaxing and playing cards, and shows/casino for those who were looking for night time activities. Highlights for our group were the Starcafe coffee shop (always open), Bingo by the wave pool daily at 3:30, Aqua Fit class with Joseva, the foam pool party and beach party with the Star Friends and Star Band. The food at the buffets was always fresh and plentiful. Favorite restaurants were the Japanese and the Museo gourmet. Many thanks to Pati, our concierge, for helping us get dinner reservations for 12 at all the restaurants and to Manuel at El Museo for helping to make our celebration of our grandparents 50th wedding anniversary extra special. Until next time...

    My favorite Choice

    Reviewed by jmbamd2017(Cancun, Mexico) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had been traveling to these resorts for 5 years in a row. It is just Fantastic, very friendly, ALL inclusive is a must when you travel with kids all ages, High-quality drinks and food 24/7. Many many options from gourmet restaurants to buffets. All types of amenities. They have their own mini mall with more restaurants, ice cream shops, and traditional Mexican handcraft. Every night they have live entertainment, Super clean and keep it pristine

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX