Occidental at Xcaret Destination

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Don on Apr 06, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    When we first booked our vacation, our agent said that there were no Royal Club rooms available at the time but to see if we could upgrade when we arrived. We were able to do so at the front desk. We ended up with a king bed room in building 31. ??From the minute we arrived at the hotel in the front lobby, we found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful throughout our 11 day vacation. Once we had settled in at the Royal Club we were treated by the most attentive, personal and professional staff we had ever experienced in three decades of travel. The wait staff kept our cups full whether we were at the pool or in a lounge chair or day bed on the sea side of the buildings. A huge thank-you to all wait staff members especially ?Captains? Israel and Francesco. Waiters: Julian, Omar, Samuel and Francesco.The service, food, presentation and the view from the patio was first class. ??Our room was kept clean and tidy every day and we had a fitful sleep every night. The two pools in our section were never crowded and lounge chairs with towels were always available. ??As far as the rest of the resort goes, the grounds are well kept and have more of a ?jungle? feel to them with trees and vines providing plenty of shade. The wandering deer and monkeys were an added value. There was live entertainment at the open air theatre every night. We did sample the restaurants and buffet at the main lobby a couple of times and found them to be quite good. We had purchased the unlimited access pass to the Xcaret nature park next door and went for long walks through it almost every morning and took in the Mexico Espectacular show one night which was fantastic.??All in all, it was a one of the best vacations we have taken and we will be sure to return in the future.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    E

    We had a great time but there aren't enough pool loungers!!! The river walk is lovely, especially at night.

    Reviewed by Ell on Feb 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    There are not enough beach chairs so vacationers hoard the chairs at the pools. There really is no beach, the lagoon isn't a "beach" and there was a ton of seaweed. Besides these two negatives, the resort was great, and the food was incredibly great. Our room was clean and updated. If you lose something, don't expect to get it back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Like the changes!

    Reviewed by Imarl on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I stayed here several years ago and just wasn't impressed but have been pleasantly surprised with the changes! While the beach is still tiny, they have created an adult pool to one side of the beach that is ocean water. And there was no seaweed on the beach. A rarity these days. The grounds seem updated and nicely maintained. Totally new experience. Would love to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Beautiful and great value!

    Reviewed by Pam W on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Pleasant surprise! Great to see that there have been some renovations completed. Hotel was taken over by a larger chain of hotels and the changes have really made a difference. I love the overall feel of the resort. Currently there is a lot of seaweed everywhere in the Mayan Riviera, however because the beach here is in a Cove on the resort, it limits the amount of seaweed that reaches the beach. Most would say the beach is too small, but in this case a small beach with no seaweed is heaven. You can also get to Xcaret park through your own entrance on site. Great access.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Loved this Resort... will come back

    Reviewed by Noel N on Apr 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Unbiassed review: Overall, This resort is perfect to those who love nature. Food I would say was very satisfying. Employees very accomodating, When it comes to emergency situations, very professional. Rooms on Bldg19 nice and clean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    WASTE OF MONEY

    Reviewed by Janine on Mar 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    ). We decided to try something different and, despite the many negative reviews, thought we would stay at the Occidental. First off, when we arrived we were told that of the seven pools on the resort we could only use three (the other four are for "time-share/Royal Club" guests only. The three pools available to us were essentially party pools - music blasting all day. Then, upon arriving to our building (number 22) we were hit with the strong smell of sewage and this smell stayed for the duration of our stay. The room appeared to be clean, but that night and every night thereafter we were greeted with cockroaches and spiders. The spiders appeared to be coming through a crack in our wall. I know we are in the jungle and I expect to see insects, but we have never had cockroaches or any other bugs when staying at the Sirinis. The food - horrible. Breakfast buffet was OK, but the food was never hot - lukewarm to cold at best. The beach club and snack shack had hotdogs and hamburgers every day and that was pretty much the selection. And, by 3:00 they appeared to run out of food. The dinner buffets are terrible. And please note that we are NOT fussy eaters, but there were literally nights where we walked in and walked back out. Pacos Tacos and the pizzeria were a god-send as this proved to be the only place to eat something decent. Unlike the Sirinis, you have to pay for the coffee bar at this place. You also pay a premium for Wi-Fi. Then there is the pushy staff that spend the day walking the pools hitting people up for the "orientation" - don't fall for this as it is the timeshare sales pitch. They also hit the guests up for the spa services. And, to top it off, they walk around with a monkey on a leash and collar and two parrots whose wings have been clipped and hound guests to have their photo taken with these poor animals for a minimum charge of $25.00 US. Let's not forget the sad deer enclosure that smells like manure. We saw one beautiful, wild

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    L

    Awesome family friendly resort.

    Reviewed by Letta on Oct 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Great family resort. Small but lots to do with the kids. Older kids could be independent, not too big. The beach wasn't great but lots of chairs and shade. Great premium drinks. Lots of great a la carte restaurants. Nice pool with activities. Water park mostly for younger children but older kids loved games room, soccer on the beach, pool activities, and torch tour of the Mayan rooms. The girls went for half a day to participate in a recycled items fashion show which was really well done. Great time had by all, all 5 families we travelled said they would return again!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    I did enjoy the unlimited package but not the Hotel itself!!

    Reviewed by Elizabeth Lazo on Jul 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    I was at this hotel for 7 days. First thing unless you get the royal club you will get a small standing bathroom in the entire hotel. There is no ocean view unless..again you get the most expensive package royal club room upgrade $$$ . I got the unlimited xcaret park access which to me was worth it if you like walking and explore but there are no shuttles to take you from one point to another. The Hotel is beautiful, the staff was amazing as long is not part of the front desk as they are not very useful or proactive. If there is an issue with the room they will bounce around between rooms even when sometimes rooms are not even ready. I think the hotel is way overpriced for the service and value. The food was amazing and the drinks were nice. Complaining at the staff managers is pointless as no-one will do anything for you for the exception of Mr. Espana whom was kind enough to give us a bottle of champaigne as a gesture of all we went through. This hotel does need renovations but above all BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE. I dont think I will return

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Loved Mexico...gorgeous resort..but... lots of room for improvement with this vacation package.

    Reviewed by LPC on Feb 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is no doubt a beautiful resort, if you are a nature lover you would love it. If you are looking for a luxurious beach vacation this is not the place for you. There is a lot of walking because the resort is sprawled across a natural jungle area, the food was under-whelming although certainly plentiful. We did have a few problems, when we checked in we had requested a king size bed, when we went to our room we had 2 double beds and an overwhelming musty smell, after 2 nights in this room we were moved to a room in the same building which was better. The hotel is Eco-friendly which is wonderful, however, little conveniences that you could get in a 3 star are not available straws, hair conditioner? . The proximity to Xcaret is fantastic and being able to come and go over the course of our stay was great We purchased the all-exclusive Xcaret, grand concierge package. When you purchase this package you are supposed to get additional amenities, discounts and resort or Xcaret park credits. We really didn't get any of these things and when we inquired we were either told there is no discount, asked if we had a coupon but when we asked about these coupons we were told we didn't need them and to show a printout that we had and that should work . No one at Xcaret, the spa or shops seemed to know anything about these "resort or park" credits. The Grand concierge was supposed to include such items as robes, slippers, towels, turn down service, 10% off at the spa, etc. The first room we checked into did have the robe/slippers and towels but when we changed rooms all that was gone for some reason. Overall, we were kind of disappointed, we loved Mexico, the natural beauty, the people, the hard workers on the resort..but when you save for over 2 years to celebrate your 10th anniversary and run into all of these issues, we aren't pushy people so just stopped asking for the things that were supposed to be included and considered it a lesson learned.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Great vacation spot to visit the Mayan Riviera from if you don't need a great beach

    Reviewed by Dan on Mar 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    45min - 1 hour south of Cancun airport. Staff were great. Had no trouble using english. Time Share: the concierge people are the ones that try to get you to the "Vacation Club" presentations. They have some info about the resort and surrounding areas, but your best bet for tours it to talk to the booking agents. We spent almost every day on some sort of day trip. When we wanted to book a tour, that was easy and we got a pick up calling our name at the lobby. When we wanted a taxi, that was easy to, the bellboy called one for us, fixed price to major tourist destinations. Westjet vacations did provide a hotel transfer which we missed so keep an eye out for that. The drinks were fine, the food was fine. The a la carte restaurants were better than the buffet. La Hacienda mexican was the best, seemed to match the mexican we got in Playa Del Carmen. The weather for us was sunny and 28 degrees every single day. There are three pools: party pool with swim up bar which is very large and some quieter sections, quiet pool, and adults only pool. The adults only pool is right by the coast and is fed by ocean water, so it has small fish sometimes, or bits of seaweed, but is similar to beach water. Go on the Coba villa tour, get Mayan food!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 16980 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Mixed Feelings

    Reviewed by TravelmacManchester(Manchester) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    As a family of 3 we have spent 11 nights at Occidental Xcaret. The pros are this, on arrival the welcome was fantastic, luggage taken from us and on our room before we got there, the helpfulness of the staff at reception was brilliant - repeated on check out, the rooms are very clean and spacious- we had a deluxe room, cleaned every day, we upgraded to the unlimited package so room was restocked with drinks each day, the wildlife is simply amazing, be careful of the monkeys trying to get into your room if on level 3 (if doors left open!), the pool was always clean as was the beach, staff mostly happy and happy to help, eat breakfast at the beach buffet - lovely views. Make use of a Xcaret being on your doorstep, there is a cut through near the beach and one in the lobby we bought unlimited passes and quite often had the underground rivers/kids world to ourselves for the first 45 mins - brilliant, as it does get busy. The speciality restaurants are nice, food was much nicer than the buffets and I liked that you couldn’t pre book, the wait was never longer than 20 minutes. There’s a shuttle bus should you need it to get around the resort always frequent. The downsides unfortunately are these, the loungers both at the pool and beach are ridiculous, you have to be up and out before 730am to get a bed, towels can be left all day with nobody using them, whilst guests shouldn’t do this you literally have no choice, there simply isn’t enough beds. The beach isn’t so bad as obviously you can sit on the sand but there is no where else around the pool. The majority of staff on the resort are friendly but you will be asked to attend a VIP meeting, apparently this is a very hard sell - we declined all meetings and ‘free gifts’ under advise of our rep. No access to ‘First Club’ or ‘Royal Level’ pools and with no explanation as to why simply told not access, this leaves you with three pools, one being the swim up bar which can be quite loud/people drinking in the pool, so on occasions not suitable with children. The buffet bars are repetitive and the food tends to be served luke warm however there are always two areas that serve freshly cooked food, I was the unlucky one within the party with three days of illness - this seemingly seems to be common, I personally think this is more the drinks in the day as the cups are at best swirled out with tap water and reused (sit at the bar in the day and you’ll see for yourself) these are used in the lobby however you can request a glass in restaurants. No WiFi unless your happy to pay for it and only one device! The dress code for men - long pants in the speciality restaurants, this is bonkers — apparently this is for smartness, tracksuits and women wearing short shorts are acceptable though. The entertainment is available from 9.30 each night with a kids club before, it’s ok at best. As you leave the information desk in your building will beg you to leave good reviews even if not spoke to you much for your stay. The resort is a nice resort, just some small changes would make this a much better place, overall we have had a lovely holiday.

    Absolutely amazing resort

    Reviewed by Journey06393101181() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back from a four nights stay at the Occidental. It was amazing and beautiful. The resort is huge and so much to look at. We saw so many animals. Swim up bar was fantastic. Paco's tacos has awesome food and very friendly staff. Disco is super fun and drinks were tasty. Wish we stayed longer.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice to see once- not interesting enough to return

    Reviewed by travelmadre99(Denver, Colorado) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    People are amazing. Tourists are rude. Food is pretty decent for an all inclusive. Beach really isn't a beach and difficult to get chairs or beach beds. Drinks are different at each bar and really not that good. They push their vacation club. Rooms are clean. Spa was nice. Room service is slow and limited. Upgraded to VIP for a quieter pool which is nice. No food service at the pools. Nightly entertainment is cheesy. Wifi is not free.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    The wonderfully exotic Occidental @ Xcaret Hotel

    Reviewed by Charlie5574(Yeovil, United Kingdom) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Fantastic location with great wildlife in abundance all round the hotel. Situated next door to Xcaret Eco Park which was even more beautiful than the hotel! We loved lying on the beach at the park and watching parrots flying wild overhead! The hotel itself is not luxury unless you book Royal Level which we would recommend if you like your “creature comforts”, we did not upgrade ourselves and it was not a problem as we spent very little time in our room anyway. Room service was a little hit and miss tho. The only other issue is lack of sun lounger availability as the beach area at the hotel is quite small which is not a factor if you are Royal Level as there are reserved sunloungers to use at the beach and some pool areas. The general layout of the hotel and design is really nicely done and it is not far at all to walk to Xcaret Park (5mins max to either of the two entrances from the Lobby area). Definitely would recommend this hotel as long as you sign up for the Unlimited Xcaret Eco Park package too. I would also suggest upgrading to Royal Level if sunbathing is particularly important to you.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Beautiful with issues

    Reviewed by Paradise56513930457(Edmonton, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Beautiful resort. However several issues. Not enough lounge chairs by pool and at beach. You have to get up at 6am to put a towel on a chair or your standing sitting on cement for the day. Front desk staff were unhelpful with providing adjoining rooms as we requested 6 months ago upon booking with our kids until we got angry. WiFi cost is high and should be provided free in lobby at the very least. Overall the food was great and staff besides front desk were great.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX