Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
    6. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Perfect Place for a relaxing Family Vacation!

    Reviewed by Carlos on Apr 19, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    After a lot of research we decided on Paradisus La Esmeralda and it did not disappoint! The service was superb and all staff went above and beyond to provide the best service especially Joao he helped book restaurants and gave us a fantastic tour of the resort, excellent service. We tried several restaurants and they were great ( only complaint is they need to have more seafood selection without additional charges). We had a fantastic photo shoot and they pictures turned out amazing, a little pricey but well worth it. I also booked Xcaret park through the resort, again a bit pricey, the park it self was mediocre but the dolphin swim was well worth it ( pictures are an additional fee) we booked with Fabiola and she was great. We also went to the 5th avenue markets a few times paradisus will have a taxi ready for you within 5 minutes and it?s a great place to visit, eat good Mexican food and buy Knick knacks. The beach yes it had seaweed but so does the rest of the cancun area but it was cleaned every morning. I would highly recommend booking a Bali bed at least once near the poor for parents to relax and kids to enjoy- also highly recommended a swim up suite. My kids absolutely loved the new water park and pirate ship. I consider myself to be fairly picky and I would highly recommended this resort, food was good customer service was above and beyond and all staff were friendly and helpful ( don?t forget to leave tips!)This is an excellent place to visit with or without children, it?s beautiful and the service is absolutely fantastic!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10613 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Tolles Horel

    Reviewed by Bmaierallgeier() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a Swim-Up Room and Anallely was made our Holiday to Success at the Pool. With drinks and Food. Perfect Service The food is fantastic. The Market Grill also withe Brasilian Meat. The Mexico tours with Dolphinaris is a Must Thank you

    Exceeded Expectations

    Reviewed by Asia P() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I must admit that I was absolutely shocked in a great way with my experience at this hotel. The family concierge stay is a must if you have kids. The butler created a scavenger hunt in our room for the kids and also prepared a surprised bubble bath for them. They took care of all our reservations and scheduling. It was definitely a blessing to be able to use WhatsApp as our primary source of communication. The food experience overall was great except for Olio. The Italian food was not very good at all. Mole was incredible, Passion was amazing, The Grill (Adults only) was great. For this to be an all-inclusive, the food was not an afterthought at all. Kids Club was awesome! There were multiple activities and the staff even takes the kids to the pool every morning! We felt perfectly safe with dropping our kids off while we had some alone time. My daughter and niece were so sad to leave the staff and developed a relationship with them. There were shows, parties, and tours! You won’t be disappointed. We stayed in the family concierge one bedroom master suite. It was great and plenty of room for a family of four. The kids were set up in the living area while we obviously had our own room. Additionally, we each had our own separate bathroom area, which was great because kids can be messy and it gave us all space. Our biggest complaint was how they try to lure you into a timeshare. They’ll tell you that it’s not a timeshare, but it is. We wasted about 2 hours of our time. The only pro was that we got Balibed reservations with grilled prawns and tequila for two days. The pools were amazing. There’s the private family concierge pool, the pirate ship pool, swim up pools and another general pool. They’re all great with amazing service. For additional cost ($75 I think), you can rent a Balibed. It isn’t a must, but it’s a nice luxury. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to coming back at some point.

    We will come back again for sure.

    Reviewed by Robert S(Calgary, Canada) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent family resort! We enjoyed out time here very much. There was some seaweed on the beach a couple of days, but the staff got it cleared away very quickly. The food was excellent, but plan ahead to book your reservations for the specialty restaurants. We were especially fond of The Market, and don't miss the Teppanyaki show at Bana! The buffet was good as well for those days that you want something more casual. And if your morning coffee is important like it is for us, having the Illy Coffee bar on site was a life saver. They make great coffee and even though it isn't included, the price is very reasonable.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Family friendly resort - swim up rooms

    Reviewed by emilyb98(Charlottesville, Virginia) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My family of five and two other families returned from a family vacation. My family stayed in a one bedroom suite family concierge swim up room. The room was well appointed. The beds were doubles - not queens - but comfortable. The pull out couch was very firm but not horrible. There was a nice small table and two bar stools so we could eat breakfast in our room. We would have preferred a master suite swim up as it is larger but lacked the number of beds we needed. I would highly recommend the swim up rooms. Everyone loved it! Swim up rooms were fantastic!! So easy to jump in the pool. Plenty of room on the porch to store inflatables. Private loungers for the room in the pool. My kids may never be able to stay in a non swim up room again!! We stayed in Room 2007 and our travel companions were in 2008 (master suite swim up), which were connecting rooms. Definitely request these rooms if you are traveling in these rooms types. Plus, I highly recommend these rooms as the rooms on this side of the building are not hotel rooms but instead Club Meliá business suites so there aren’t any guests there and it felt like a private pool. Plus, these rooms are close to the beach access. If deciding between family concierge and swim up choose swim up but we loved both. Room service with no charge meant we had breakfast in our room every day and it was delicious. Olio, which is breakfast and lunch, only for family concierge was home base for us and ate lunch there every day. The buffet/salad bar was perfect for the kids and we enjoyed the tacos!! Plus, when they were done they could run into the family concierge lounge for gummy candy or the family concierge pool for a swim. Our butler, Jeaneen, was helpful. She arranged dinner, had special surprises for the kids (kid robes, special bubble bath, fish food, scavenger hunt, etc), brought anything we needed (extra towel cards, drying rack, matches, etc), and even dropped a bottle of wine off for us several nights. We were a little disappointed in the kids club for our age kids (12, 10, 7) as it skewed younger. The “eco tour” was a walk to look at the fish and the turtles in the lobby. We thought it would’ve been more like a tour of the whole resort as there were tons of cool animals - coati, grasshoppers, iguana. The game room was pretty busy but fun for the kids. Grab a foosball and enjoy the tables. The parties were so much fun and the kids loved those!! There was a fiesta with a mechanical bull and a bubble party! All in all I would definitely go back and recommend La Esmeralda to anyone looking for a fun, relaxing resort.

    The resort staff and service in particular Gladys, Ruben, Maria & Antolin at Guest services, thank you!

    Reviewed by HandJ201() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I spent 2 weeks at La Esmeralda, the resort is stunning with ample space. The rooms were clean and well maintained each day, both in the morning and evening. We had a pool view room on the 2nd floor with stunning views. The resort staff were all amazing, we would like to thank Gladys, Ruben & Maria at Guest services for all their outstanding help and Antolin at the front concierge, he welcomed us to the hotel with outstanding service upon our arrival to the resort. We would highly recommend this resort. Thank you to everyone at Paradisus - La Esmeralda, we had a great holiday!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX