Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Best Vacation Ever in Mexico.

    Reviewed by Steene on Apr 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Unless you are extremely picky it is almost impossible to find any negative critisism about this resort. It was our 3rd time in Mexico and one I will not forget. The staff are top notch and the entire dining experience is sufficient enough to leave us with zero desire to leave the resort. We will be coming back to this very place as soon as possible. The beach is small but of a great quality in Mexico, no peddlers bothering you and the ocean is fantastic. Ignore any complaints of "seaweed"... thats a minor inconvenience at best. The room is spotless. The AC, Bar Fridge and Room service are worth every penny. I have never felt more comfortable in a resort. Its just the right size to get to know people and enjoy a fantastic stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    g

    Staff were great, clean but basic. Not really what I am used to as a 5*

    Reviewed by gerrin57 on Jul 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort was recommended to us by the Airmiles travel agent. It is listed as a 5 star but doesn't compare to the other 5 stars we have stayed at. The staff work really hard and were great about any requests but the hotel is tired. The lobby is looking worn and the loungers at the pool have seen much better days. The AC in the rooms can't keep up any more and you can't adjust the temperature. No reservations are required for dinner but they still made you wait if there were open tables, appeared like they were understaffed in the restaurants. The waiters were rushed. Buffett was okay. Food was just okay but not over the top. Every time I ordered anything "seafood", I could find a few shrimps but nothing else. Desserts were average. Beach is very narrow and nothing special. Bartenders work really hard with what they have, but "Top Shelf" didn't taste like top shelf. They had special dinner nights around the pool but you could only get a reservation if you purchased a very expensive bottle of wine : We travel to Mexico frequently and always stay at a 5*. This was more like a 3 - 4. Clean but basic and older. Not worth the price.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12211 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Secrets Capri

    Reviewed by snn782019() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall a good experience with a few issues. First the good...this is a small resort, which I found charming. The staff were all very nice and accommodating, and the spa services are amazing. The not so good...mini bar in our room never worked despite several reports to staff and the food could have been better. Parts of the beach had lots of seaweed, which I understand is common in Cancun. If you are looking for luxury on par with some of the other Secrets resorts you probably won't find it here, but I still enjoyed my stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Secrets Capri for my family and me??

    Reviewed by terryf623(Darien, Connecticut) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I and our daughter and her boyfriend just finished a wonderful vacation at Secrets Capri in Playa del Carmen. It’s a smaller and older hotel that has a lot of charm. It also has impeccable service provided by a kind and dedicated staff. The entertainment staff is amazing. Yoshi leads an incredible staff that assist in activities throughout the day. I loved taking the aqua aerobics taught on different days by Christopher, Bernice,Rodrigo and Geo. They also guided us through volleyball games, bingo, turtle feeding, bocce, archery, Zumba......... Yari taught us pickle ball and Hilario teaches CrossFit and keeps the gym in tip top condition. As if that’s not enough the activity staff also is out at night to dress up, dance and act as master of ceremony for nighttime shows. One night there was gambling tables set up with play money and our dealer, Alejandra made it so much fun. We also made friends with Alissa who can set you up with a perfect viewing table for outside shows around the pool. We enjoyed being waited on by David H. The grounds are beautiful, service is great, beach is gorgeous but it’s the staff that makes this hotel stand out. Thank you to all the employees at Secrets Capri. Mama and Papa Forbes

    Room atmosphere, although the room was clean & we were given clean towels everyday, room service, bar restock everyday,

    Reviewed by danfar53() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    There was a distinct unusual odor when you first entered the room. We complained they sent a worker who didn't speak a word of english. He sprayed some liquid up into the duct work filters, which didnot help.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Still The ONE!!!!

    Reviewed by 4chipsnsalsa(Robinson, Illinois) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have stayed at Secrets Capri many times over the past 9 years. It is Still The ONE for us. We love it. The accommodations are great, beds are very comfortable, and all of the staff are AMAZING!! It is a smaller resort with all of the amenities of a larger place and lots of charm. The staff work very hard to keep the beach the best in the area & and they do a great job. We were able to get in the ocean 6 of the 7 days we were there. The food is always very good. If you get a chance - go to the spa - you won't be disappointed.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    4 nights thru BOOKVIP/ Loved the beach. Seaweed not an issue during our stay!

    Reviewed by Beachdreaminamy(Clintonville, Wisconsin) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We booked through BOOKVIP a 4 night stay in a garden view standard room. Our room was facing the entrance and it was lovely. In the evening, white tail deer would graze on the front lawn of the Secrets Property. One morning a Coati was hanging out on our deck and we were on the top floor! We did not leave food out and I would not do so as I saw some folks on a lower level feeding them and the leader made a loud noise then the whole family of them ran in!! Could be dangerous. Smoking is not permitted on balcony/patio but I saw folks having a smoke on theirs and it was not bothersome to us. Otherwise smoking is permitted in designated areas (by Desires and on the beach. Throw your butts out!! During our stay at the end of July into August, there was not an issue with seaweed. Secrets staff worked hard to keep the beach clean of any seaweed that washed up. We enjoyed the beach a lot! We could always get an umbrella on the beach and the drink service on the beach was great though we learned to order because sometimes the wait was longish. We like our waiter poolside. His name was Argemel though I'm not sure on this. He was very speedy and polite. We ate pizza and fries poolside while listening to an excellent band- POOLSIDE! It doesn't get much better!!! The entertainment staff was fun and we enjoyed it!! The property is small and easy to navigate. The nightly shows were super. I enjoyed karaoke! It was fun singing WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE!! The Desires lounge is a great time! The bartenders there are experts!! I'd like to mention Carlos, Fernando, Cesar, in Desires. They mixed Rum with a splash of Coke for my hubby!! Great SERVICE, Boys!! Poolside bar, also excellent service.. Needing mention are Clemente' and of course our poolside waiter again. In the lobby bar, I spilled my margarita and I was near tears as I made a mess on an oriental rug, but the waitress there cleaned it up quickly and reassured me all was well. I didn't get her name but she made my trip!! Vendors came in and it was fun looking through their wares. Our Room: As I stated it was standard garden view. It was smaller than most of the pics I had viewed beforehand. Bed was comfy. Some of the amenities were missing but I'm sure if I had asked for them, they would have been delivered to me. Our room did not have a DVD player but one was hooked up as soon as I asked. The missing bathrobe, slippers, toiletries did not concern me as I brought my own. And like I said, if I had asked, they would have delivered. BOOKVIP sales tour was on our 2nd day. We took a taxi to Secrets Maroma. Given a sales pitch, declined, taxi back. It took about 3 hours, It was interesting to see the other resort though with Secrets Capri being so much cheaper and it is all one needs, I would choose Capri. If they were similar in price: Maroma. Quite fancy, that place. We enjoyed our stay here. Loved the beach, the turtle sanctuary in Capri lobby, the staff of fine folks (not one rude person), and the gorgeous Mexican Riviera Maya!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX