Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    R

    Beautiful relaxing Vacation!

    Reviewed by R. Carchidi on Jan 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Everything was great. The food was fantastic ,a lot of variety . Very good taste in all foods. The staff was very accommodating and genuinely grateful for for our vacation at the resort. We will certainly go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1651 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Mother and Daughter Vacation

    Reviewed by LauraLove(Toronto-Ontario) on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Here is what we both experienced at the Iberostar Bella Vista. My daughter and I booked for June2 for a 5 day. We got the swim up room 10023, yes the pool was nasty and dirty, it had algae on the tiles. Which I was not happy at all. The main pools were alot cleaner but still had algae. The ocean is beautiful as is the reason why I love to go to CUBA. The shower head did not work so we just used the had held part that was in the shower. The food was horrible as well as the restaurants. We ate at the staek house and we could not cut the steak so I did not try to eat or chew it. Which I knew would be an issue. I only ate the mashed potatoes and the carrots. The Italian was also horrible. The only restaurant that was good was the Japanese. I chose this resort due to it being new. I liked the resort it was beautiful. They really just need more resources to make their food edible. As well as cleaning the pools properly so no one gets sick.!!! The ? is will we stay here again. NAH !!!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Best trip ever

    Reviewed by C F(Worcester, United Kingdom) on Jun 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We arrived in Varadero on the 24th of May at around 7:30pm Cuban time. We booked to stay as star prestige where you get unlimited access to the restaurants including the panoramic restaurant which is restricted to standard guests. Throughout our stay we made the most of the panoramic restaurant, particularly for breakfast and lunch. The food is good, obviously not to English standard but when taking into consideration the limited resources they have they truly do put on a good spread. The food does get very ‘same old’ and repetitive but this is the case for most all inclusive resorts. When visiting the restaurants that the hotel has, the Japanese is by far the best! Not only tasty food, but it offers an entertainment factor and is a decent portion (actually fills you up). The second best was the Cuban restaurant, the food tasted good but similarly with the a la carte panoramic restaurant of an evening they focus too much on presentation and making it fancy. Often we found ourselves visiting the snack bar or the main buffet to feel full. The Italian restaurant was the worst! We ordered carbonara and the taste wasn’t great and the addition of mint as a garnish left an unwanted mint taste through the food, it wasn’t pleasant. The snack bar was handy but only if you have the patience to sit around and wait to be served and then wait an hour for your food, which is a joke considering what they actually serve (hot dogs, cheese and ham toasties). We never made it to the steakhouse, there seems to be very limited days and availability. The main praise I have for this hotel is for the staff, they are fantastic and very attentive and truly made our trip. Especially the staff who work in the panoramic restaurant/bar, we found ourselves to become friends with them throughout our stay, as they really couldn’t do enough for us and were so friendly. Up there you can expect service such as your favourite drink already being at the table you regularly sat, little things like that really mattered to us. The entertainment staff were good too! Really trying anything to get everyone involved and are willing to try a variety of things to entertain people. When questioning whether star prestige is worth the upgrade, it really is! The view you get from the 11th floor is breathtaking, the staff are great and the atmosphere is a lot better as it gives you an escape from what can be quite busy and loud downstairs where the standard guests are. Please do not let negative reviews put you off this hotel, all hotels have their faults but the staff here really couldn’t do anymore for you if they tried and really made this trip special for us. The rooms are always clean, the food is decent for the impression you get of food in Cuba, the drinks are fantastic and the beach and resort is gorgeous! Also a good recommendation if you do want to eat out one night is La Fondue, where you can cook your own meats etc. Makes a change from eating at the hotel and gives you a chance to have a look round (there isn’t much).

    NOT RETURNING

    Reviewed by Compass93944() on Jun 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    First of all, I want to mention that this was our first and last trip to Varadero, Cuba, not returning again. We were there in Early May 2019 with a family of four for 7 days. Conversion rate should be.75 CUC per $1 CAD as per the information we got online before we left. We decided to get some CUC from Varadero airport and got a rate of $0.68/CAD. Later got some from the resort and got the same rate. So, don’t expect the highest rate as mentioned online. The weather was really nice around and over 30 degrees, had shower/rain almost every evening just to cool down a little bit. Beaches are WOW, white sand and blue water. I booked Iberostar line that I always have been when we went to Mexico and Jamaica, assuming that we’ll get the same service and food, but let me tell you that I was wrong. Food and service were TERRIBLE-TERRIBLE. Food was repeated all seven days we were there, only fish and chicken was grilled. The buffet was always cold, didn’t have much variety of fruits. Half of the buffet was always closed, it was very hard to find a table. We always had to choose the dirty table and then ask for cleaning. Never got any service in the buffet, everyone was grabbing their own water and drinks even cutlery was not set on the tables most of the time. I loved the coffee bar, they had some good coffees. My favorite was vanilla latte and I got it hot only the first time. Every other time it came warm even after asking for hot. But I still enjoyed it. We were only able to book 3 restaurants in 7 days. The line up was not that bad as other travelers mentioned; we were able to book right away. The food at the restaurants was mediocre. We’ve always enjoyed the Japanese restaurant elsewhere, but in Cuba, that was not the case. Food wasn’t that great even though chief cooked in front of us. They didn’t give us options for drinks only white and red wine was the options. Lots of people on our table left the table early with their plates full. Steak house was ok too, I think I ordered grilled chicken, but I got fried chicken. Cuban restaurant was not our favorite at all. Drinks were good in the main lobby bar and at the beach. Seating in the lobby was good with some sofas and bar chairs in front of the bar. The evening time bar was always busy, my husband and I always spent time there. Night entertainment was good. Beach was nice as I mentioned earlier, but beach chairs were occupied earlier in the morning. They were occupied by their own people who would put their own towels/shirts to make some tips. We got twice from them by tipping, I don’t think that was appropriate. Room service was good, our rooms were cleaned daily, and towels were changed. Room bar was filled on a daily basis with 2 beers and a water bottle. Havana trip was awesome, we hired a taxi with a guide, and they arrived on time around 8 am and the guide was very knowledgeable. He told us the history of every building we saw there and how the locals live in Cuba and their day to day life. Lunch at Chacon 162 was great.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Vacation with friends

    Reviewed by 831JohnJ(Maple Ontario) on Jun 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my first time to Cuba, as I was somewhat apprehensive as I heard all the rumors about Cuba, food and lack of towels. I have always picked Punta Cana and avoided Cuba for years. Too my surprise I'm glad I went, the hotel was beautiful, the people are so friendly and the streets are safe to walk at night. We arrived and the bella boy helped us to our room. We are now planning another trip this year and we are Cuba bonund.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    5 Stars for Cuba 2 starts to the hotel

    Reviewed by EricaaCarvalho() on Jun 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We got there May 27th, we got to the hotel at about 5PM. The hotel seemed a little busy which was fine by us. We got to our room and the safe didn’t work nor did the phone in our room so we had to walk all the way down to the lobby from the 4th floor since the elevator takes 20 minutes to come and only some elevators in the resort work. We got down there and they said they’d send up a tech to look at it so we went back to our room we waited 20 minutes for the tech who came and fixed the safe we reminded him about the phone in the room he said he’d go check outside the room so we waited for another 30 minutes and he never came back. By this time we were hungry from our journey so we went back to the lobby and told them that the technician never came back and that the phone wasn’t fixed still but we needed to eat. They told us we could and to come back after. We came back after eating they told us to go back to our room and wait. We sat in our room for another 45 minutes before we decided we weren’t just going to wait for them. We went back to the lobby and told again nobody had come and they we couldn’t wait anymore for the tech. They said the tech had gone home for the day but nobody told us. So the next day in the morning we went and told reception again that the phone still didn’t work they said sobody would look at it. To make a long story short we left 8 days later and guess what the phone still didn’t work even though we spoke to them every day. The food here? Horrible. Super bland never have any condiments and service in the buffet was horribly slow almost every day except 2. There wasn’t a lot of food in the hot tables in the buffet and what was there looked like it had been sitting a while. We lived off Pasta from the fresh pasta bar and French fries for 8 days. No the fresh pasta wasn’t good but it was fresh and edible. Hotel doesn’t have a proper bar or club and nightly entertainment seems more targeted towards kids no big deal there. Rooms are all warm and damp AC doesn’t work well but we had it set as low as possible with the fan on full blast. Still didn’t cool down the room. The night staff was super friendly and great about calling cabs for us to go into the city. Definitely appreciate them. They were definitely the best staff in the hotel also the pool bar ladies were awesome super helpful and friendly!! Saturday and Sunday the hotel is completely full of locals and the hotel is not staffed for this so the pool winds up being dirty from overuse and the buffet had insanely long lines and NO waiters. My Cuba experience was amazing but the hotel was not. Would I recommend Varadero? Absolutely! Would I recommend Bella Vista? Absolutely not.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX