The Verandah Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    We absolutely loved our stay and would go back again.

    Reviewed by Mary on Mar 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Book the better suites. They are well worth it. Family resort. Beach and pools are great. Other amenities not so. Staff are courteous and friendly. Don't come here if you are afraid of birds. No bugs at this time of the year. Food at the restaurants are good. Book them ahead of time. Buffet is similar to food courts, not bad and not great. Lots of booze, they don't skimp.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    Just bad. Not worth of money paid.

    Reviewed by Former customer on Jul 24, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Not coming back. The reasons are: 1. Poor quality of check-in and room services. 2. Bad food and water quality. 3. Unprofessional, unresponsive, inattentive, short-tempered restaurant staff which oversteps boundaries. 4. Poor time management in restaurants except for Nicole's .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    S

    Amazing vacation! I'd recommend this to anybody who loves to be pampered!

    Reviewed by Sneha on Dec 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    My vacation with my family was in April. At first, we were booked in a suite and then last minute I changed it to a villa. One of the BEST experiences I've had! The only flaw i'd say is that the food wasn't the best, but that seems to be a common thing all across the Caribbean. In either case, the food was plentiful and there was a large variety each day. The villa was cleaned everyday and the staff were so friendly to talk to. Even though it was dry season, the entire resort was sparkling green. Best part about Verandah is that they are very environmentally friendly. Oh did I mention, I loved the shampoo they provided in the bathrooms! For the villas, a separate pool is provided- all the pools are nicely maintained, and the two beaches are so clean! Loved the people there, they are amazing. Would definitely recommend this anyday to anybody!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Enjoyable stay

    Reviewed by Romanie on Jun 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This resort was beautiful, well cared for grounds, and nice pools. The rooms were a good size with a large bathroom. I enjoy a nice large tub to relax in and this one fit the bill. The food was enjoyable, very tasty with many options. The main beachs were decent, but the Rasta beach had a lot of seaweed 5 feet out from the shore, so prefered the main beach. I would go back to this property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Great property something for everyone

    Reviewed by Barb on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was impressed with this property, it is very well kept, the grounds are beautiful and well manicured. The pool area very popular also has an adults only pool. There are 2 beaches on property in a cove like setting and the water is very calm, the water is shallow. I spent as much time as I could in the tranquil ocean waters. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. I had a beautiful view of the cove. Enjoyed the balcony. This property has connecting rooms. Rooms connect through the balcony. I lost my room key and within 5 minutes one of the employees was there to let me back into my room. Service is great staff very helpful. The 3 restaurants offer great options for dining. The evening entertainment is very enjoyable. There is a fantastic kids club on property, it is open from 9:00 am to 10:00pm I would recommend this property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Amazing Staff

    Reviewed by DH on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Rooms are very spacious. Staff was great. Always willing to assist with any needs. Golf carts are always a phone call away. The atmosphere throughout the resort is very friendly and welcoming. Loved the beach area. They do bring venders on site to sell their crafts and such. Would definately go back with my family. They have something for everyone here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Jewel on the island!

    Reviewed by Kim on Jun 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This a jewel on the island! The rooms are spacious and have large balconies. They have a microwave and mini fridge in them and sink with counter top so that was very nice. Lots of channels on the TV. You can pay to have internet access in your rooms. Pool is very nice - lots of seating. Food was good - restaurants are very warm inside though. Didn't feel the a/c much. It is a large resort but they were very quick to pick you up in the golf cart once you called. Beaches were lovely. One beach you could walk out to but the other one there were stairs you had to go down to the beach. There is a nice beach as well within walking distance - Long Bay Beach - where we went snorkeling. It was very nice.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    k

    Great Service!

    Reviewed by kr on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Verhandah is a wonderful resort! Their greatest assest are the people. Everyone is so friendly and willing to please. Its doesnt take long to recognize that all the staff is genuine in their approcach to service.. Not unusual to see even the General Manager driving guests around in the resort. Or to have your server from the previous day come to your table and ask how everything is., Loved Vivane! We experienced all the restaurants except Nicole's, which has a $35 addlional cost. The Sea Breeze offers breakfast, lunch and evening buffet. The breakfast is typically the same each day with different options for omelettes each day. The Beach Grill is a lovely setting for diinner, overlooking the beach and offers a good varieity of local cuisine. The Beach Grill is open all day for lunch will you're enjoying one of two beaches. Only complaint with the beach is they remove the beach apparatus too early. At 4 o'clock the "floatiing donuts" are removed and the non motorized water sports closes. This is a very relaxing resort. I would recommend this resort to families looking for a good 4* resort with above average food and service.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    I enjoyed my stay!

    Reviewed by Heather on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was there for a business trip and had a great time. I really enjoyed my stay at the Verandah. It is a beautiful resort set on very lush, tropical grounds. The hotel and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. My room was beautiful, very clean and spacious. I enjoyed all my meals and felt that there was some good choices. I also like the beach grill to have an afternoon snack of fresh made nachos.The pool was large and clean and plenty of room for everyone. The beach areas were great. I really enjoyed the use of water sports such as paddle boards, kayaks, peddle boats and snorkelling. There was lots to do at this resort including mini golf, ping pong and pool tables. I would visit this resort again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Love this resort !!

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I loved this resort! We traveled as a large group and had a blast. The entire staff were awesome, friendly and always helpful. The food was great, location was great, the rooms were large and cleaned every day with a number of staff around to help. The pools were great, we spent a lot of time in the main pool and quite enjoyed it. Wow to the beach, we had so much fun on the lazy water loungers, it was great to just to sit back and enjoy the water with our friends. The people here are second to none when it comes to being friendly!! There is a true kindness in their personality especially our driver John Henry from Discover Wadadli who we absolutely loved. We were fortunate enough to go to and swim with the sting rays, and what an experience that was , if you can you should check out Stingray City Snorkel Adventure. The staff here were so patient as some of us were a little cautious but so happy that we did it. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4327 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Relaxing Week

    Reviewed by Susan S(Richmond, United States) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We booked our family trip (me, DH, DDs 18 & 15) to The Verandah just over 4 weeks out from travel and directly with Elite Island Resorts Caribbean (I called rather than booking online) which handled our flights as well for MUCH less than Costco Travel. We booked a Superior Waterfront room which included transfers to and from the airport. I had hoped to be close to the water sports beach but ended up in the Mahi Mahi building (in the grouping of bungalows numbered 17 on the resort map). Had we been just 3 or 4 bungalows closer to the Rasta Beach we would have had a spectacular view out to the Atlantic and the area where Devil’s Bridge is located (an easy walk from the resort.) To get to the pool/food/water sports beach we had to go down a hill and up another one, both of which were good-sized. We treated our walks as part of our exercise and didn’t feel badly when we had another plate of their amazingly good banana chips at The Beach Bar & Grill. As others have noted you can get picked up in a golf-cart to avoid having to walk the hills. The grounds and beaches are absolutely gorgeous so our walks were enjoyable. Check-in was efficient and we had lemonade and champagne welcome beverages. Our room had ample storage and a large bathroom. The verandah was good sized with a table and four chairs. The screen was very difficult to move so we just pushed it out of the way and open and closed the sliding glass door during our 6 days at the resort. Two things that were not ideal in our room: the AC unit is not only noisy but really didn’t get the room all that cool and the beds are doubles instead of Queens - while the sleep sofa is a queen. Would have loved that to be opposite - Queen beds/Double sleep sofa. Regardless we all slept well and the pillows were very comfortable. Any issue reported was handled quickly including a problem with the toilet an a request for additional blankets for one daughter. The food was really good in a couple of locations (The Beach Bar & Grill and Buccaneers) while Seabreeze, the buffet, was good for breakfast but our dinner experiences (Sunday & Monday nights) was not great. Dinner reservations for the 2 non-buffet options can only be made 48 hours in advance. We wish we had known to do this before arriving at the resort. Tuesday evening a cookout at the pool was hosted which was well done. Food was excellent and the atmosphere was quite festive with a steel band playing. Lines can get long but grab a beverage and wait it out. There’s plenty of food even after the initial rush. The weather the 2nd week in March was perfect. Finding a chair at the pool or either beach was never an issue and there are plenty of shady spots on both beaches to make your time even nicer. The water sports beach has the kayaks, stand-up paddle boards, etc. but there is construction for another Elite Island Resorts adults-only property happening which does take away, a bit, from the relaxation on the beach. There is no bar on the beach but it’s not far - just up a lot of stairs - to The Beach Bar & Grill. There are also drink dispensers - 2 juices, 1 water, and two frozen drinks - on the beach. However the many island birds use the juices, in particular, as their personal drinking fountain so we avoided drinking from those dispensers. The Rasta Beach is VERY lively in the late afternoons with games and volleyball. There is a bar as well as a place to grab a panini or burger/hot dog. We really enjoyed the 18-hole putt-putt course that is across from Rasta Beach. Bring a refillable drink container with you for water or other drinks as they do not give out water bottles. This is a good thing but we did not realize this until we arrived. Those that had their canteens for water/coffee were happy to have them! Tranquility Body & Soul Spa was really quite nice. Had a hot stone massage on the first full day at the resort. It was very good though bit pricey. I felt it was well done and a great way to start my holiday. The ANU airport is very nice. We paid to “fast track” upon our arrival based on a dreadful experience a year earlier on a different Caribbean island. It was money not well-spent as there no lines as our large 737 was the only plane arriving at that time (2pm). As we left there was absolutely no line at all and we were sitting at our gate probably 50 minutes or so after leaving The Verandah with a good 35 minutes for the drive and a solid 10 minutes for my family to fill out their Customs paperwork to hand over. We had an excellent time at The Verandah and would absolutely return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Wonderful holiday! Will be back to antigua!

    Reviewed by katydid111() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a fantastic week at the verandah. My daughter had the time of her life. Beautiful grounds with gorgeous views. The gardens were immaculate with lots of lizards are beautiful birds. I loved the sounds of all the birds during the day and the peepers at night. While there wasnt a large variety of selection of food it was good quality. I much preferred it to any all inclusive we have visited as far as food quality. The lunches at the beaxh grill and rasta bar were especially good. The people working here were Super sweet. The whole vibe is very laid back which we loved. The only reason i would t give it the full five star rating were a few things here and there. The rooms while.i loved the bungalows style, need a bit of updating. Our patio door was pretty sticky, but none of this was a big deal. The beds were so comfy. They ran out of towels at the pool and beach and that was a bit annoying. The biggest issue for me was the work being done at the resort next door. It was really noisy. This was unfortunate but didnt damper my stay. I really loved this place and will be back! A tip... Take out the kayaks! We saw sea turtlrs around tge cove! Snorkel at long bay, water is much less stirred up along the side closest to the verandah. Get out and explore this amazing island! It was super safe. By far the safest ive ever felt in the carribean

    If you want relaxing

    Reviewed by StaceyE356() on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is small, cozy and very relaxing. Staff are very attentive and friendly. We got a taxi for short rides in town and then had him take us all day one day to go around the whole island, it was such a great day. 365 beaches and only saw 6, definitely will be back to check out more!!!

    Excellent

    Reviewed by Meander45340260618(Vaughan, Canada) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Food was fantastic !! Nicoles Restaurant was even that much better !! recommend the lobster, but everything on the menu was fantastic. The Staff at the verandah were fantastic and very polite and always helpfull. Always had a great time at the bar !!

    Fantastic mom/daughter trip

    Reviewed by kathysa(Massachusetts) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was a mom/daughter trip, ages 54 and 23 and our first all inclusive and first time to Antigua. We loved it and hope to go again. The Verandah was perfect. Large, clean rooms with everything we needed. Food was always good. Drinks always available and always good :) The beaches never felt crowded and we were there in busy season the first week of March. I was impressed that the beach bathrooms never ran out of toilet paper or hand towels...no matter what time of day. Overall a fantastic stay. Everyone was very friendly.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX