Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    B

    Beautiful hotel with a great beach and pool area.

    Reviewed by Basia on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located on beautiful Maroma beach, a wide powder fine sand beach. The hotel embraces its jungle setting which is full of local wildlife (coatis, iguanas, birds) and you get to enjoy it along the many pathways between the lobby and the pool/beach area. There is even a butterfly garden on the premises. The room buildings are also centered around the jungle. Tons of activities are offered (archery, soccer, tennis watersports). The pool area is big and really lively. Tons of food options at this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9510 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    2nd time to Playa Maroma

    Reviewed by bmactavish(Barrie, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed Privileged for 11 days and did not want to leave. Better booze, better rooms, and better beach area. The staff does a great job doing what they can to make you stay excellent. Enrique and Jorge are the greatest beach service on the Privileged side. Manuel and lizbeth kept me active with the volleyball and beach chair games. Being Privileged also gave us free room service, unlimited breakfast and lunch at their beloved restaurant which was excellent as well. We had great meals at all the Ala cartes. 3 times at the Grill, twice at the Italian, twice at the Japanese (once at the regular and once at the show table) once at the Mexican and once at the Tapas. Be ready to gain weight or go to the gym everyday! I have a washboard stomach...it just has a load of laundry in it!!! LOL. You will not be disappointed if you choose this resort.

    All we could of asked for!!!

    Reviewed by Excursion37352639821(Kamloops, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great entrance walking path through the forest canopy with spa music a very welcoming feeling. The buffet is well prepared and excellent for breakfast and lunch. The entertainment staff are very energetic (club med feel) but not over bearing, well organized. The only negative was the feeling of pressure from the time share sales people, otherwise this was an awesome place we will return for another stay.

    WOW excellent!!

    Reviewed by carole644(Montreal, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From Miguel and Emilcar at the Buffet to Omar (Lobby bar) Bad Omar LOL!!!! to Juan (wonderful smile) and Fernando ( This man is a machine) on the beach, the animation Rogelio and Neomi what an amazing time we had Thanks in large part to the wonderful service that was provided by all you amazing people always SMILED and say OLA!!! Rogelio should really be put into some kind of managerial position he has such a wonderful personality any company would be LUCKY to have him in a higher position were he can use his talents to improve things even more. So again Thanks Rogelio HUGS!! May all your dreams come TRUE!!!!!. The food, service, beach and all around everything was GREAT!!! I absolutely loved the walk from the Lobby to the beach so ZEN!!!! If there was any issue at all it would be that the Food Trucks should be open from 8 p.m. to 3-4 A.m. And the cushions in the front lobby have to be renewed and they should have more of a backrest it is just not very comfortable. And the thing I would definetly suggest is that you put some Bar stools around the Bar, it would help people interact more which always makes for a more pleasant vacation. A big shoutout to the AMAZING people we did meet Marjolaine ,Pierre Gulaine Lucy, Adreanne and Spirit Animal (lol) and a special Thanks to Cristy and Darrell two AMAZING fun people that I will not soon forget. To each and everyone of you HUGS And see hope you again soon. This is a place I will be going back to. Really loved Vacation this year.

    Beautiful resort

    Reviewed by 164micheler(Barrie, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Second visit to Catalonia Playa Maroma- the resort is beautiful- staff are amazing- Enrique is the best beach waiter ever!! Always smiling and appears just when you need him!! :) Jorge is also great on the beach - always checking to see if you need a refill! The food is amazing - we ate at all the restaurants and never left disappointed. Definitely put on weight this trip! The beach is one of the best we have been to - no coral or rocks in the water and they do an incredible job cleaning up the seaweed everyday - absolutely beautiful!! The rooms are very quiet and we always had a good nights sleep - beds are comfortable. Housekeeping was great too. Thoroughly enjoyed our second stay here!

    Relaxing Vacation

    Reviewed by Fonda F(St Peters) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed from April 3 to the 13th, clean rooms, friendly staff, beach was windy, Enrique our server on the beach was the BEST, always smiling and singing and very nice. The beach had lots off seaweed on the shore but they did their best and were always cleaning it up.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX