Sunscape Curaçao Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    M

    Concierge, did not seem to care that we had paid extra to level up. I was beyond frustrated with this. Sunscape needs to do a better job.

    Reviewed by M and B Butler on Mar 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Curacao is amazing, the capital of Willemstad is a must see. We took the shuttle from the hotel. So much to see, floating bridge and the ferry. Stayed at Sunscape, the service was not great, We upgraded to be in the Level up area pool. It seemed that anyone could use the pool and beach area when though it was roped off. The pool was full of kids, with snorkels and flippers, screaming. Parents ignored the glares let this behaviour happen the entire week of our stay. The water is stunning, there a huge wave break which is helpful. My husband enjoyed the snorkelling along the rock wall.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    R

    Best Caribbean Hotel So Far!

    Reviewed by Robin Ford on Jul 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was our first time to Curacao and we ABSOLUTELY loved it! It's one of the most fantastic destinations we have been to in the Caribbean. It was extremely safe and easy to get around the island without having to rent a car. We stayed at the Sunscape Curacao Resort with our 6 year old son and he had the most wonderful time with the staff at the kids club as well as the entertainment crew. The restaurants all had something unique to offer, but the one restaurant right on the beach overlooking the ocean was our ultimate favourite. There was always something to be eaten at the resort. We upgraded our room for the week for a minimal amount and it was WELL worth it! We had a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. Just beautiful to wake up and open our patio doors to every morning. I can write all the amazing reviews I want, but it will not do this resort justice -- We are planning to head back May 2017 for our 10 year anniversary and bringing our parents!!! Can't wait!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6049 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing resort

    Reviewed by Trina F(Outlook) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We did an all inclusive stay at this resort. The resort itself is AMAZING. We booked Sun Club so there were extra perks for us. The salon prices are quite high. The a la carte’s did not require reservations which was great but the service was VERY SLOW. Drink service is slow as well. But the rooms, beach, view and sun shine are more then worth it.

    Had a nice time, but they could spruce things up.

    Reviewed by tracyw42(Mentor Ohio) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is our second trip here in 4 years. It has gone downhill since previously coming here. Not everything was bad, but as I have read in many reviews, the food especially could be better. The buffet food was barely warm, Except the omelet station, since that was cooked right then in front of you. The french toast had crust so hard you could only eat the insides of the bread. The fruit station was good. The grill on the beach was good at lunch. Nice hamburgers and fries. We had dinner there, and I ordered filet mignon, and asked that it be butterflied. When we got our plates, mine looked like my husband ribeye, she confirmed mine was filet mignon. Even butterflied, it shouldn't have been as flat as his ribeye. ha. but It was tasty. The only restaurant we had to make reservations for was the japanese one, since they only have seating for about 15 for each show. The food was good, and Elie does a good job of entertaining. Enjoyed the italian restaurant. I had spaghetti and meatballs that were really tasty, and my husband had chicken on mushroom risotto, he said was very good. In the buffet area, I want to do a shout out to Nathalia, she remembered that my husband wanted a coke AND and orange juice without us having to tell her. Besides her, the others seemed slow at bringing things like silverware, or drinks. Drinks at the bar were good. The entertainment, on the nights we were out there, were good. One night was a guy singing and he sounded like Lou Rawls. and one night was latino music by a young woman and young man, both had good voices and got the crowd dancing. The pool was clean, but the hot tub wasn't HOT. It was the same temp as the pool. Enjoyed a free kayak for an hour in the ocean. The room: We were in the Royal Tower, room 2313. 3rd floor, faces the pool area. We could see the ocean a little from our balcony, but many palm trees in front of the room too. But it was fine. They have a hair dryer with american plug. Wouldn't you think there would be an american outlet to plug into in the bathroom then? NOPE. The american outlet is in either behind the nightstand, or there is one behind the tv. Which we did use, but then you are looking at the wall drying your hair. The full mirror is on the opposite wall behind you. We asked for an adapter, but they don't provide them anymore. That was a little irritating. The Bed was VERY comfortable. Shower was fine, water was hot. There was free Wi-fi, and it did work well. The resort as a whole, could use a nice paint job to spruce it up, and clean grout in pool area. The fading paint and dirty grout makes it seem run down. The casino was ok. You get a card with a chip in it for $2.00. You tell them how much money you want on the card, like $20 and put the card in the slot machine. When the $20 is gone, you go back to the cashier to put more on the card. One night I won $40. But mostly lost all week. Turn the card back in to get your $2.00 back. There is a bus stop across the street. Go there and wait a few minutes, and a van will come by and for $2.00 per person, takes you to town, Willemstad. Its worth it. Willemstad has lots of flea market type souvineer shops, and regular stores too. There are a few casinos if you cross the swinging bridge also. A few of them were so-so, but the Carnival Casino at the Renissance hotel, was very nice.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Traveler Beware!

    Reviewed by nikdiamonds(New York City, New York) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I traveled here for my birthday. This has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. We should have known what to expect just from pulling up to this hotel. Its old and looks like a motel 6. The grounds were not lush, the casino looked dirty. The check in took 2 hours. There was a group of us and our rooms were supposed to be next to each other. The person checking us told us our rooms were together but the other reservation clerk kept taking the rooms. Then they tell us that on Sunday we would not be able to use the pool or beach because they were doing a photo shoot. Not sure why when the place is disgusting. They told us we can go to the beach next door but would have to walk down the street about 5 minutes. We finally walk to our rooms which was supposed to be the Sunscape Club. Walking up to my room my door was facing the street. At this point I already want to leave . We all try to make the best of it. So we go in to check out the rooms. All of our toilet seats are chipped. I have hair in my shower. Water marks all over the dresser and night stand. No robes or slippers. a friend of mine- her shower door was broken and had no wash cloths, another friend had missing knobs on his dresser. We all had stains on the cushions of the little chair in the room. It took an hour for anyone to come address the issues. Finally we are hungry and decide to go to dinner. We had to wait about 40 minutes for the Blue Water Grill restaurant. We sit down and they tell us they ran out of most of the food. At this point I am done! I called my travel agent to see if she could move us. We wanted to leave that night but it wasn't happening. We decided since we had to stay the night we might as well get some drinks and try to relax. A friend went to the bathroom and when she was leaving the stall the toilet fell and cracked in half (she did nothing to break it). We get to the bar, they don't have limes, they don't have ice, they don't have ingredients to make particular drinks. Very frustrating. We decide to call it a night and keep our fingers crossed that we can get the heck out of there. We find out we are moving but can't check in until the afternoon, so we decide to get breakfast.... Why did we do that???? The buffet looked disgusting, the container where the fruit was held was dingy, the omelet station are was not tidy. Just an all around disappointment! We were so happy to get out of there , we never even unpacked. I would never recommend this place to anyone. I would not even stay here if it were free! I'm sure there were other things wrong but honestly what's the point of listing them all. We are all surprised this place is still open and that they have the nerve to list themselves as a 4 star resort! The Managers have nasty attitudes and it wasn't until we showed them pictures, did they decide to refund all of our money! Thank God we got in to the Santa Barbara Resort. It was like going from night to day! What a nightmare for 1 day!! Do not stay here!! Save yourself the agony!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Do not stay here

    Reviewed by spcsports(Mentor, Ohio) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Old resort, dirty, lazy employees, rocky beach, bad food, casino is a rip off. That sums things up. This place is very old and it shows. They do no maintain the property, needs paint, new flooring and all new restaurants It's dirty. i mean cups from vacationers everywhere even floating the pool. i found old bandaids in the pool along with multiple dead bugs and pool water was slimy and not blue since it badly needs painted the food is almost not edible. Every restaurant is outside and it's hot! So meats, cheeses etc just sit for hours in the heat and they get slimy and gross. They have no condiments. Like sals, hot sauce, bbq sauce etc it's weird Check in was awful. We got there at 530pm check in is what 3/4pm everywhere we had to wait 2 hours for our keys. And they just handed us 2 keys. No welcome packet, no map of the resort. Nothing Avoid this place at all costs!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Good Accommodations, Good to Fair Food, Horrible Casino

    Reviewed by Mark D(Chesapeake, United States) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Stayed at this all inclusive hotel as part of a destination wedding. CHECK-IN: Despite booking =9mo ahead of time, and checking on the reservation we were given the wrong room when we arrived. This seemed to be the theme for just about everyone in the wedding party. Thankfully, our accommodations were corrected the next day but others were stuck in the wrong rooms for days and one for the whole week. if someone pays for an upgraded room and amenities one would think they would get what they paid for. CUSTOMER SERVICE: Great! The folks at the front desk and everywhere except the operator and casino were always super nice. A bit incompetent at times (see restaurants) but very friendly and nice. ROOM QUALITY: The rooms were all nice but the hot water and AC varied from each room in our party. Our new room had a much weaker AC but more consistent hot water than the initial room we were given. This was also the case with about 1/3 of our party (4 rooms). They only had lukewarm water for showers. In our new room the water always seemed to vary from having hot water to not having any at all. Finally, in our 1st in room safe was without a locking mechanism but when we tried to address it the phone operator and the staff they only gave us instructions on how to operator the locking mechanism, which wasn't there. Eventually, they figured out we needed a working safe when I went to see the hotel manager but they still had us wait until we moved into our new room to address it. This left us carrying around a large amount of cash on our first day and evening of vacationing (in swimsuits and beach attire). ROOM SERVICE: Irregular on the length of time and amount of food/drink brought with each order. Some mornings we received a pot of coffee others only a cup? Some days it took only 15 min and others over an hour. The only plausible explanation is they were short of staff and dishware. That said the food and coffee ordered from room service was actually better than the hotel restaurants. PHONE OPERATOR: Polite but not helpful and not interested in trying to find an answers for anything that was out of box, such as the safe, hot water and AC. Just passed the buck. RESTAURANTS: The HIMITSU restaurant is the absolute worst teppanyaki style cooking I've ever had. We were expecting a Benihana type experience but $%#@ NO! It's safe eating but not tasty. DA MARIO Italian was good to fair but the service was so painfully slow it made it our dishes taste nearly as bad as HIMITSU. The OCEANA outdoor restaurant, and the WORLD CAFÉ buffet were both good but nothing special. The best restaurant we found to eat at "inside the hotel" was BLUEWATER GRILL, when it was open. SPA: Best part of the trip. Our massasses were fantastic and really enjoyed the services. CASINO: Old equipment, few games, dirty facility, rude and ungrateful staff with horrible cheating dealers with inattentive pit bosses. Worst casino I've been that I can remember. Staff acted as if it was a privilege for us to be there with them. Very rude and no drinks. We only stayed because of our group. I watched the roulette dealer try to shortchange the winnings of a couple players that didn't understand the game/odds for winning. When I brought it up the dealer played it off as an accident. The kicker was when we won at roulette and the dealer gave our winnings to another player (local). We brought it up with the pit boss that was not paying any attention. It wasn't until we continually complained and requested to review the video that they admitted their mistake and paid us but nothing happened to individual that knowingly took our winnings? DO NOT GO TO THIS CASINO! OVERALL: If you're young and wanting to party on the cheap this is a good spot. The food is okay and the drinks just keep coming but anyone else, probably best to stay elsewhere. Won't go back and can't recommend to a friend or family member.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX