Paradisus Rio de Oro

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    E

    We enjoyed our stay with you and cant wait to be back at your truly beautiful resort.

    Reviewed by Ernie and Julia on Jan 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    HELLO My husband and I have just come back from staying a week with you. Unfortunately I wasn't well and we had a lot of rain but that didn't stop us from enjoying the warm hospitality and care given to us by all your staff and management. We loved everything from the food choice, rooms and above all the great many sitting areas you had under cover. The landscaping and gardens were beautiful. We were picked up many times by one of your buggies to take us to lobby or back to our room, which helped us enormously. In fact we cant fault anything and today booked two more weeks at the end of September through to October 15 of this year. So will look forward to seeing you all again. Ernie and Julia

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6114 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Breathtakingly beautiful ! Room 3524

    Reviewed by angiet535(Chigwell, United Kingdom) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I went to PRDO on the 2nd of April for 7 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This place is a slice of paradise. The views are superb. On arrival we was greeted with champagne and a cool cloth. Before we arrived I emailed to ask if possible could we be placed close to the pool and on a ground floor. On arrival this request was met. Our room was spacious with everything we needed for our stay. We booked all our preferred restaurants with reservations very swiftly I need to begin with how outstanding the swim up bar staff were. Lorenzo and ozmany are so efficient friendly warm and welcoming. They regularly visited everyone around the pool to offer drinks. Nothing was to much trouble. These 2 were a great team and a great asset to the resort. Food was good in all the restaurants and lobster was outstanding at the beachbar restaurant where Dixon and another staff member ( sorry unable to remember her name but still a great waitress)treated us to pre dinner dancing. During lunch in the beach bar we was treated to live music true Cuban style. During our stay my husband booked a private dinner on the beach for our anniversary. There was a bit of a mix up so my husband went to customer relations to discuss this issue. This was resolved very quickly and apologies made. Following this discussion we received a call to our room the next morning to speak to my husband. Customer relations then arranged for us to have champagne fruit and chocolate to watch a beautiful sunset followed by a beautiful meal at the royal service to apologise for the mix up. This was a beautiful experience and very much appreciated. So to sum it all up. Lorenzo and osmany were great. The waitress we had for our private dinner on the beach was very good. This is the same waitress who works with Dixon at the beach bar. Lobster was very big and tasted great. Room was always clean. Nothing is to much trouble and they go out of there way to ensure you have all you need and are happy

    Second visit did not dissapoint!

    Reviewed by DazMode(Oakville, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had extended family vacation last year on the Regular side of the resort and decided to come back as a couple to check Royal Service side. We had one of the most relaxing and somehow busy holidays for a while. Cuban resort's keep improving at an accelerated pace. This was totally unexpected, but we get better overall service that of Melia (Royal Service as well) in Jamaica we just visited back in December. Royal villas set up is rather quiet, but also brings a sense of a small community, so everybody says "Hi" to each other, and you end up talking to most of your "neighbors". Level of service was top notch. Anything we asked for was attended immediately, from fixing a failed air conditioner to prepping meals that were not on the menu. Royal Service's Helios restaurant was unexpectedly fancy and beat every a-la-cart we have attended, with maybe one exception the Meditteranean. Both chief's at Helios (morning and evening shifts) did a fantastic job with every meal. Next time we won't even bother with a-la-carts. Waitresses and Bartenders we also very friendly (Yanelis, Maria de Los Angeles, Nirma, and others). Separate thank you to a fellow reviewer who recommended to try Chilian wine. We had a bottle every day with zero hangovers. Front desk was super nice and efficient, and we ended up not asking much of our butler's, because of no direct line to them, and we never wanted to wait for them to call back. Beach stuff was great as well. Most of the time you can get a nice spot in the shade, bartenders were two cool dudes who were checking on you quite often and bring you a drink or fruits. It was possible to order lunch at the beach, but we prefer to go to Helios instead. I just wish we had beach towels and spare sunscreen right at the beach, like in Jamaica. Royal Service beach is small, and if you are after snorkeling, you need to swim a little further than you need from the main beach before you see any action. On the other hand, the "big drop" on the right side was a real treat if you can swim 0.5km or so to it. On the left, the coral reef is just a hundred meters away, but visibility is highly variable. We never saw our maids, but the room was always magically made up twice a day with bed art. All drinks and water were restocked daily. Big thank you from 8812. My only complain that shower head was too low for my 6'4, which is kind of regular height IMHO. The bed was comfortable, and the pillow was a decent size. Hotels grounds are mature with lush greens and flowers everywhere. Good job gardeners! We will come back and bring some friends.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Royal service = Royal treatment = very happy, satisfied guests!

    Reviewed by suebar225(Owen Sound, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I recently travelled with my 2 sisters and our mom for a girls trip! We were met in the lobby, after our private transfer, by Lina, the Royal service manager. Her genuine smile and being greeted by name was a terrific start to a wonderful vacation. It's breathtaking! The views, the beach, the infinity pools, being surrounded by nature, all while having your every need catered to, made us all feel like queens. I have nothing negative to say at all. The food was amazing, with lots of choice, variety and very pleasantly presented. Ana Iris, Narcisa, and Betty kept our rooms clean and beautiful. Our fridge was always full of what we requested. Bar tenders remembered our favourites! We were treated each morning while having coffee on our deck, with a flower for our hair, from our gardener. Our personal butlers Junior and Rolando made sure our every whim was fulfilled!! Buckets of champagne, bath drawn, reservations, spa day....we were spoiled. Edgar at the front desk, always smiling and helpful. Annabelle kept us entertained with our own private water aerobics, wine and rum tasting, and horseback riding. Every driver remembered our room numbers, amazing! Carlos, Leonardo and Jorge, always ready for service. When we did travel over to the main resort we were also well treated. Danced the night away in the Music Room, with Chang, whose talent is not only as bar tender but a great dancer and music man with the moves. So much fun and such a happy man. Everyone who works there is eager to please, genuine, happy and always smiling. A good sign! So many guests we met were repeat guests, which says it all. The Royal service is like a private resort within a resort. Your own restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, on a patio overlooking the turquoise water. Quiet, relaxing, lots of shade or sun. The best of everything! Can't wait to return. Thank you so much to all the staff at Paradisus Rio de Oro!!! Royal service, you certainly were Royal.

    A beautiful slice of paradise

    Reviewed by Pete H() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 4th trip to Cuba, and I ended up booking due to the high rankings of this resort as a quiet and peaceful place to visit. We weren't let down. We have been to Melia Las Dunas in Santa Maria as well, twice and the Royalton Grand Hicacos is Varadero. I must say that the grounds and accommodations of Rio De Oro were the nicest we have experienced. The setting is like paradise with the mountainous, lush vegetation all around and the beautiful, picturesque beach and cliffs. We stayed in the regular junior suite and were not disappointed at all. I would rate it as a 5 star accommodation, even without the royal service. That to me appeared above and beyond what most people would need. We felt spoiled just being in such a beautiful setting, getting away from a brutal winter in Ontario. The food was good, no complaints. Love the buffet breakfasts and the A la Cartes were really nice as well. Especially the Japanese and the Cuban. We were not big fans of the Mediterranean. The food was not as good as our buffet meals, all though a nice atmosphere. The staff was excellent as we have experienced in Melia Las Dunas as well. We also found the food at Las Dunas to be excellent. We honestly have not had a bad food experience in Cuba anywhere. We loved Paradisus. It was a bit more than we have spent before but not extreme and will go back one day. After we have seen a bit more of Cuba. We have a special place in our hearts for Cuba and would choose it again and again for the friendliness of the people and the incredible beaches. I have little reason to look elsewhere for a vacation. The beach at Paradisus was very nice. Offers snorkeling right off the beach and a nice walk to the shared-larger beach of Sol Rio Luna De Luna Y Mares, which has incredible Oceanfront, and is priced very well. Looking forward to our next trip to ??? Cayo Coco, Cayo Largo...who knows.

    Amazing Resort

    Reviewed by Kelly K(Muskoka Lakes, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Fantastic adult resort in Cuba.btge food is phenomenal! The staff amazing and the entertainment so appealing. The beach palapa and the beach bar is awesome. Fantastic music and a beach you can walk on for miles. Snorkelling with beautiful coral reefs and loads of colour. Check this place out. It truly is amazing.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX