Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Huatulco
    5. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
    6. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa review

    What to expect (based on 6037 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Mexcal Land

    Reviewed by gordiehowe09(Calgary, Canada) on May 30, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed in December 2019, weather was perfect everyday. The beach and water are amazing. Snorkelling just down the beach to the left, grab the gear from the hut on the beach. We went every morning. There is a hidden beach behind the snorkelling area, check it out. We took a boat tour to the other bays, did some swimming and snorkelling at them. Recommend this, it’s fun. And the guys will pick you up on the beach, their prices are good. Resort food is okay, breakfast buffet is sufficient. Room service is nice, never had that an all inclusive before. Go into town, it’s lovely. The locals are friendly and it’s super safe. I would definitely return.

    Friends for life event

    Reviewed by valorie2015(Wisconsin) on May 07, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Yearly group vacation and this year our destination was Huatulco. The Secrets accommodations were amazing, our room was beautiful with the view from our private balcony which even let me see the whales one lucky morning! The staff were top notch and wonderful. Do bring long pants and sleeved shirts for guys to dine at restaurants that is required. There are many options and entertaining things to do during the day and night, but be advised this is a much more relaxed vacation vibe which we loved. The swim up bar was clean and area was amble for service to many, hot tub was large too and lazy river area and this had the largest pools ever at a resort so very nice. Beach was nice. Food was good our challenge was sometimes we could not eat together as a larger group but not a deal breaker. Room cleanliness, restocking and turn down service was best we've ever had at any resort -Quadalupe was the best! Our group would go back to this resort in a flash, loved it! There was much to like about the whole experience from the friendly staff, clean resort, nice rooms, food selection (good), pool areas awesome (beach towels hard to find later in day). I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Huatulco area and Secrets Huatulco is the place to say!

    Least favorite Secrets

    Reviewed by Vaulers2033(Chicago, Illinois) on Apr 21, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is the third Secrets resort we’ve been to and as much as we love the service we’ve gotten at all of them, we won’t be back to this one. While the location is extremely beautiful, the resort itself was kind of a letdown, especially the restaurants. The breakfast buffet was average at best and the “fine dining” seafood restaurant is nothing more than a meeting room with OK food and absolutely no ambiance. Seriously, during the day it’s used as the timeshare sales room. They just set up tables and chairs in the evening. Nowhere near the beautiful dining experiences we’ve come to expect at Secrets. The spa however was amazing and highly recommended. The massages are expensive of course but I recommend the day pass which gives you access to the pool and water circuit. I think it was around $35 per person. Unfortunately we sat in on a time share presentation because we were told they could get us released from the two we currently own but don’t use much. They offered us “trade-in” value and then said they’d have to charge $1,300 each for the legal paperwork. After checking prices on these forums it turns out we were getting nothing for our current units (the trade-in was off their first, very expensive price) and we would’ve paid more than if we hadn’t traded in our units. The sales lady was very nice until we said no for the last time at which point she got up from the table and walked away without saying a word. One other frustration experience was the fact that this location allows people to reserve lounge chairs by the pool by throwing a towel on them at dawn. Several days there were no towels when I went down at 6:00. Other Secrets we’ve been to (The Vine and Vallarta Bay) don’t allow this.

    Amazing Resort 3rd Visit! March 2020

    Reviewed by 990margaretg(St. Albert, Canada) on Apr 19, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 3rd visit to Secrets Huatulco. We were booked for 2 weerks from March 9 -March 23 2020, but unfortunately we had to leave a week early due to the COVID 19 outbreak. We love this resort and the very welcome staff, many of whom remebered us from former trips. Hence we always love it when they say "Welcome Home" Special mention: Regina: Unlimited Vacation Club Excellent! Nathaly Agustiniano: Hostess Castaways Restaurant Excellent! Eden Martinez: Restaurant Manager Excellent! We love Castaways because of it's location on the resort and it's extensive menu. Thank You!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    World Class

    Reviewed by tylercG3308GR(Olds, Canada) on Apr 12, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Came here on our honeymoon and didn’t disappoint. I’ve been to Mexico 5 times and this has been the nicest resort by far. Good food, beautiful rooms overlooking the ocean, and everything kept incredibly clean. Would highly recommend.