Honua Kai Resort and Spa Condo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    t

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by traveling mama on Feb 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were very disappointed with this hotel, especially with regard to it's value. Certainly the room had granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, but the carpets were shabby and stained, and the furnishings were worn. The headboard on the bed was dirty, and the patio furniture was disintegrating wicker. We were assigned a room in the Hokulani tower which is the older of the two towers. This is the tower closest to the construction that is going on next door for the new Westin. Every morning we were treated to constant cacophony of construction noise. Sitting out on the mountain view balcony was not a pleasant experience. The pools were fantastic for children, but were too full of pool toys, and too shallow to allow for any real swimming. With high surf advisories, this left us with few options. Overall I would say that this resort would be suitable for families with small children, but value for the money for couples and older individuals can be found elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3558 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great condo based resort in a good location

    Reviewed by BoardingPass314218(Calgary, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Entire resort is made up of condo units, so it is very popular with families. Unit was very modern and in great shape. Lots of little touches like beach toys, boogie boards, and cooler available with the unit. Pools are great, primarily for kids. Beach at this end of Kaanapali is thin and rocky , but a 15 minute walk down the beach walk will have you on the nice part of the beach.

    Nice hotel for the price

    Reviewed by mdcouple1014(Baltimore, Maryland) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for 6 nights with a group of friends. We stayed in a 2bedroom suite with another couple. The bedrooms were a great size, with walk in closet and large bathroom. The view from bedroom wasn’t great(resort view), but the balcony view from living room was good(partial ocean view). There was small kitchen with fridge which was great for snack and cold drinks. There was small shop with groceries and other basic items by the lobby which was huge plus. The spa was nice. Had a couples massage while we were there and it was wonderful. The pool is nice but gets crowded. Hate playing chair game trying to find seats. Was better in afternoon. Hot tub was great for relaxing. dukes was right there by the beach and was a favorite for breakfast and dinner on many of our days while we were there. Overall beautiful hotel, nice rooms, and great location if you want to see west side of Maui.

    "Property development view" is a full construction site.

    Reviewed by DPLowe() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We booked the "Property development view" based on the fantastic pictures in the listing. When we got there we were literally up against a loud construction site and that was our entire view. The hotel stated they said this in their listing, but this is false advertising. To properly advertise this room they should have shown the construction site in the photos and mentioned the endless noise coming from it. You can see it in our photos. This was 100% false advertising And when we brought this to the hotel's attention they refused to do anything about it. Total bummer.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    3.6 Stars for Honua Kai (Good but not Great)

    Reviewed by gather-together001(Sunnyvale, California) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Debating on various hotels, decided on Honua Kai because of the amenities and varying pools. First time here. This is a condo first and not a hotel so if you are seeking 4-5star hotel service, this is the wrong place to book. Tips: Ask for an upgrade, construction is loud your room is on the mountain side. Front desk is nice, not accommodating. They may have assisted with one too many guest, guests are all the same and more of an annoyance. Unable to upgrade since the ocean view rooms are owned which according to the hotel rep is at a premium and assessed a little more than thousand $$$$ to “rent” per night. So the total stay per night is $2,000-$3000 with the ocean view upgrade. Housekeeping comes to the room every other day. This means garbage, replacement of towels, general cleaning will not be done daily. I requested for garbage pick up. Also housekeeping and any other items will not be available before 7:30AM. The rooms are not cleaned thoroughly, found food in the sofa bed and tables were sticky. Valet, hotel includes the cost of valet with stay, YAY! Valet is prompt and helpful Key room bracelet are the best! We wore it to all of our water activities and avoids having to ask for hotel key card replacements. Keep the bracelet with you on the resort, you’ll need it get into bathrooms by pool and when requesting for pool towels. It’s a way for the resort to know you’re a legit guest ;). Supermarket is super close, we bought a case of water and snacks. Helps with having to purchase $3 per bottle of water. Adds up with a party of 4. Hot water, each unit has its own hot water tank. Good for two guest showering for 10 minutes. Then the wait begins, it takes 45 minutes for the hot water tank to replenish. Kids, kids, kids! If you are seeking to have a relaxing and quite time in the jacuzzi or pools without kids kicking and splashing around, playing Marco Polo... this may not be the hotel for you. OR start your pool time early, the pool opens around 7AM, peek family times is 2-5PM. Modern condo, helpful to have a microwave and a full size fridge. We used the washer and dryer once but good amenity to have. Resort fee - $35.00 + tax $1.45. I didn’t realize you can tax on report fees.

    Nice resort.

    Reviewed by Junior4295(Saranac Lake, NY) on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Eight of us stayed for a week in a three bedroom condo with ocean view in early April. Very clean resort. Very nice, spacious kitchen/living room. The two small rooms in the condo have windows that do not open. The master bedroom opened out onto the beautiful open porch. The fitness center is excellent. The beach is not good for swimming because of the coral. A ten minute walk South brings you to a nice beach.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX