Kaanapali Ocean Inn

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    Great Place to stay. Greatest Value for the money. And Beach Front to Boot!!!

    Reviewed by Doug H on Jan 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We absolutely love the Kaanapali Ocean Inn. Yes the rooms may need to be updated, but you shouldn't be spending much time in them anyway. We wanted something cheaper near the beach and the Ocean Inn is right on the beautiful beach, and is a great location. A couple real close restaurants and all the amenities of the Royal Lahaina resort that it shares the land with and has a nightly Luau. The staff were all awesome and extremely friendly and polite. If we needed anything at all we were taken care of promptly. We would 100% definitely stay there again. Thanks to all the Staff for a family atmosphere!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 286 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very outdated, stay at one of their cottages or in the tower (Royal Lahaina) instead.

    Reviewed by Sifu_Joffer() on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The building is extremely outdated, and in my opinion should be torn down and rebuilt. Our first room smelled very musty, with paint peeling from the walls, carpet pulled up in a corner, and running boards damaged in the same corner, leaving a dark hole there where the wall and carpet meet in the corner, and our view was staring at the backside of a shed. We called the front desk and they happily sent someone to show us two other rooms, and gave us the choice of which one we wanted. This second room was much better, there was no smell, and overall was in much better condition. The view this time was into the upper parts of a tree, which wasn't unpleasant, and the ocean was visible from our balcony (on the third floor, which is the top floor). We stayed here for I believe 3 nights, and one night we returned to find that our floor was flooded from the connecting door to the room next door. We called the front desk to tell request a fan, and when they brought it we learned that the room next to us had a much bigger flooding issue, and they were given the fan instead, so we still had a wet floor. We called the front desk and were connected to a manager, and the manager was very sorry to hear that we were continuing to have trouble with our rooms, and upgraded us to one of their cottages. The guest services at this hotel seemed top notch to me, but because of the deplorable conditions of the Ocean Inn, I can not give it anything besides 1 star. I will post another review on the Royal Lahaina, because this 1 star review is only for the Kaanapali Ocean Inn, and not the entire Royal Lahaina resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-5

    Do not stay here!

    Reviewed by Rosie-estes() on May 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    If I could leave zero stars I would. Worst vacation ever! From the min we walked through the door we should've turned around and left! The smell of mold was horrible, but we decided to give it a chance hoping that by having the Air conditioner on that it would air out the room but boy were we wrong. The smell continued and nothing could make it go away. Then on the 2nd night the Air Conditioner in the entire building broke and it became unbearably hot in the room. We managed to make it through the first night with no AC but then the next day still no AC and it was 87 degrees in the room and climbing. When we contacted the front desk they stated they were waiting on a part for the air conditioner but not sure when it would be here. The girl at the front desk said probably in a day or two. When we explained that it was unbearably hot and it felt like a sauna in the room her response was that every room would be getting a stand up oscillating fan, which is insane! What is a fan supposed to do in a 90 degree room besides blow hot air? We went to the front desk to complain and again were told about the fan. By this time not one single person has apologized for the inconvenience or tried to make things right. I explained that for $200 a night close to $800 for our entire stay that we should be compensated with a partial refund or a new room which I was then told there were no more rooms available. When I finally got to speak with a manger named Steve, I explained to him the situation and still no apologies or any sign of empathy for the inconvenience this has caused for the past two days. I was then told they found another room in their cottage section that we could move to which also was a hassle because at first the room wouldn't be ready till 4pm but then 20min later one was available. There was a lot of miscommunication internally going on and no one really knew what was going on! When we finally got to our new room to take a shower the drain in the shower didn't work, its literally one thing after another at this hotel. The customer service and response from the manager was a joke! Not even a follow up call to make sure everything was going ok in the new room. I travel 50% out of the year for work and this by far has been the worst experience at a hotel EVER! I definitely do not recommend this place!

    Not worth the money.

    Reviewed by thepainter5(Maple Ridge, Canada) on May 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We arrived on Maui for a 15 day vacation. So we will didn’t lose any time at our timeshare unit, we booked a 1 night stay at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn. Getting to the place was a major pain as none of the signs had this name on them. Despite knowing the address and printing out a map at home, it was still necessary to use google maps, and pay the data fee for doing so, to arrive where we needed to be. You check-in at another resort, and none of this information was given to me at the time of reservation. The staff at the check-in desk were very friendly and helpful. They informed us as to where to park and which building we were in. The signage on the building was not lit up and you need to be directly in front of the sign to see it. The building itself is a 3 story walk up so when they offer you help, with your luggage, take it if you have heavy items. Once inside the room you will find a unit that is old and held together with paint and caulking. For the price charged, this unit sucks. I will never stay here again unless the building is razed and rebuilt. I feel sorry for anyone whose whole vacation is spent in this hotel. Even if you have to spend a bit more $$, it will be worth it.

    Below par

    Reviewed by lns0706(Australia) on Apr 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This hotel is VERY outdated. Yes, it is a bit cheaper than others in the area however it is expensive when you consider the state of the rooms and building. I expected it to be a bit tired given the price, however that is an understatement. The room was musty and damp - wallpaper peeling off the walls and mound all over he back of the lanai shutters. The ancient pillows were flat, smelly and sloppy - hate to think how old they were. Shower perpetually dripping. Carpet old and terribly stained. All furniture was old, scuffed and worn. The walls are paper thin. I could hear my neighbours talking word for word. They were not particularly loud, it's just that the adjoining door (which was of course locked) was very flimsy. If someone has hard shoes upstairs, you will hear this very clearly too. I was woken at 5am most mornings as the guest in that room must've been an early riser. The Royal Lahaina (the grounds on which the Kaanapali Inn is located) runs a luau every night. The Inn is surrounded by it from sunset. Forget enjoying a quiet drink on your balcony to watch the sunset - every night we had people lining up under our apartment. If you want to sit on your balcony, you're on full display and can't hold a conversation for all the noise. Then the luau begins and it is incredibly loud. Impossible to relax in your room with the the music and MC blaring. Sure, the location is great - but it is no different to every other resort on the Kaanapali strip. I'm paying $210 per night here, all in. Last year I paid $220 a night for a beautiful modern condo at the Aston Whaler, rented from the owner (in my opinion a better location also). The staff were lovely, especially housekeeping who did a good job despite the state of the rooms. If only they would throw a bit of money at his place. Wouldn't take much to get it up to an acceptable level. I would suggest starting with new pillows....

    Beware. Not as nice as the photos!

    Reviewed by mboop2017(Vancouver, Canada) on Apr 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I was so excited to finish off our holiday here. I splurged on the Ocean Front room but was extremely disappointed. This place is very dated and looks like they are getting ready to demolish it. Our room was musty and we were only able to open one of the shutter doors which meant our view was cut in half. The palms are also extremely overgrown and not cared for which also impeded our view. If we had booked for longer than two nights I would have left and demanded a refund for misrepresentation. It is definitely the poor cousin to the Royal Lahaina who look after it. The only reason I gave it 2 stars was because of the location.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX