Occidental Papagayo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    T

    3*** at best!!! don't waste your money

    Reviewed by Traveler on Feb 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is not worth the money. In its day it may have been 4 star but not anymore. You have to wait in line for a half hour just to get to the buffet. The staff is doing a great job with the tools they have but the place is in need of a make over. The food is reheated from dinner to breakfast to lunch. The food is not bad but NOT 4-5 star. The whole place needs money bad. Deck chairs with worn out cloth, pealing paint, roof ties falling from the roof to Toilet paper holder falling off the wall in our room sliding door doesn't fully open. They all maybe small things but they should be charging 2 star rates for what they are offering. Go down the beach to Riu beach palace you will not be disappointed !! We booked with west jet travel, they are a great airline but they don't check up on the hotels they send you to. One last thing, when you get to the hotel they push hard to get you into a time share at the hotel. Looks like they are begging for cash to fix the place. This is the first revue I have done, so take my advice don't go, save your money!!!

    What to expect (based on 4546 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not Really All-Inclusive

    Reviewed by Rowan G() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The Occidental Papagayo isn't bad but it isn't great. Room service is extra and you only can eat at the nice restaurant with good food ONCE every three days. Otherwise, you are eating from the buffet for breakfast, lunch, dinner. Food was overall was not very good. CONS • Not truly all-inclusive • Check-in takes a long time • You have to walk on same roads to get around where they are driving vehicles • Room was very warm at first. You have to insert a room key into a slot on the wall before the AC will turn on. It took about 15-20 minutes for the room to be comfortable. • Some food on buffet was good, but some downright bad • Housekeeping left us without towels one day and it took 30 minutes to get new ones • Only allowed two bottles of water per day • Depending on where your room is, expect to walk a lot • Limited liquor selection • Room safe didn't work and beeped for 5 minutes straight PROS • Kayaking and snorkeling are free but you have to make reservation. • Beach is very good for snorkeling. Sea turtles, manta rays and all kinds of life to see. • Staff is courteous and speak english well • Drinks were fine • Room was decently sized with a big shower and comfortable bed • Activities for guests of all ages. Pool table, ping pong, giant chess, jenga, yoga, zumba, live violin/piano some evenings, etc • Food in the 'Oriental' restaurant was excellent but reservations fill up fast and you can only go every three days IF you reserve before it fills up. OVERVIEW Costa Rica is beautiful and the Occidental Papagayo puts you in a great region of the country. If you're looking for a comfortable place to sleep, with a pool, good beach and drinks included, it might be for you. But if good food is important to you, I wouldn't stay here at all. Shell out the extra $$ and stay at Secrets. We got to visit there for a day and it was a world of difference.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Stunning views, great snorkeling, wonderful beach!

    Reviewed by tka4493039(Spring Branch, Texas) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The facility is very nice; somewhat outdated, but definitely worth going to. We had a few issues, but the staff was extremely helpful, understanding, and friendly. The monkeys, iguanas, birds, sea turtles, and fish were awesome! We saw three different sea turtles while snorkeling.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Expecting a lot more then what you really get.

    Reviewed by Fran A() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My family and I of 12 people were very disappointed on the first day. Another family member that was with us had been there 4 years ago and said it was nothing like what we experienced. Years ago there were monkeys and more staff to make it fun no problems with towel service. The first day they ran out of towels for the pool. We couldn't get any because we didn't have pool cards? They never gave us any cards. You only get 2 regular size towels and a hand towel in your room. I asked for 2 more towels I never got them. The hotel has all these different restaurants but we were told we couldn't get reservations for any of them just the buffet. ( mind you we had paid for premium status). My sister in law and I finally had enough and complained to Alex in the first club who was very understanding and tried to accommodate us for the restaurants. He did the best he could and we ate 2 times at Oriental 3 times Italian and 1 buffet and 1 Grill. There was hardly anyone people around. The point is that if you are paying top dollar then you should receive excellent service. The wi fi is really bad. I have to mention that all the staff is very courteous and the entire place is clean.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Occidental Papagayo

    Reviewed by dwbehm(Frisco, Texas) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    consider renting a car, getting around the area is expensive. If you purchase WiFi realize the service is very spotty and slow. Schedule excursions before your arrival. The outside Lobby pool is relaxing, but it closes early 5p.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Not good

    Reviewed by mkathy28(Marlton, New Jersey) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Incredibly poor. We went in low season there were every few people in the hotel which was nice but we still had to wait 30 mins in the buffet to eat even when the restaurant was empty. The fire alarm went off twice in our room for over any hour each time because of bad wiring. The included padding boarding and kayaking the guy in charge claimed they were closed for the day at 2 when he really just wanted a tip. The resort has a good location and is clean. But the workers and managers don’t seem to care about delivery good experience to visitors. They have what is needed to be a great place. But they just fail in so many different ways. The WiFi that cost extra is extremely bad and barely usable. The food isn’t bad and the place is clean.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX