Courtyard by Marriott Kauai Coconut Beach

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    H

    Love the 6pm check-out option!

    Reviewed by Hawaiigirl on Sep 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Fantastic location in Kapa‘a, next to Coconut Marketplace. Within a 2 minute walk to Longs Drugstore and Safeway/ Foodland are just up the street. Loved the option of purchasing the resort fee, not mandatory. Try Wailua Shave Ice - they use real fruit and real fruit juice. We booked the oceanfront room with 6pm checkout option, very convenient for our late flight! We highly recommend and stay again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2034 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Lovely room, nice staff, common areas dirty

    Reviewed by 602betsib(Weatherford, Texas) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We loved our ocean front room which was already renovated. Highlight was a sleeping seal right outside our window. Our room was renovated and lovely. No pool, although sharing with a resort down the road during construction. The Paddle Room where meals were served was filthy though and that is not excusable to construction. O. The plus side, great $3.50 Mai Tais and friendly staff.

    Awful, under construction

    Reviewed by MeaganWristen(Portland, Oregon) on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This place is a dump. In fact I’ve never stayed at a worse Courtyard. Usually courtyards are nice. The entire place is under construction. They should be open. I expect a nice hotel and this is not nice at all. No pool, no hot tub. They got a “restaurant” in a conference room. When I checked in there were no Marriott Gold member perks. She mentioned she was waiving the day fee, ummm hello, you shouldn’t be charging anyone a day fee to stay in a place that’s under this much construction. I ask her for a restaurant recommendation and she plugged the on site restaurant. I told her I didn’t want to eat at the hotel and she couldn’t come up with one single recommendation. When I got to my room I was greets by two things. #1 a luau with drumming and all kinds of crazy noise. This continued until 9 pm. #2 a lovely view of the parking lot. Hey gold members, no upgrades or rooms with views. Just FYI. The walls are thin. From my room I can hear screaming, laughing, confesses drunk people, and other unidentifiable noises. To be perfectly honest, the whole place sucks. Thank goodness I only booked one night. If I hadn’t paid $200 to stay here I probably would have left and not even stayed.

    Under construction

    Reviewed by Extraordinary235652() on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The web page was not updated, thus we were surprised by the construction and the lack of amenities that were supposed to be available according to website. No pool, no tennis courts, no swimming beach access, and no serenity due to construction. The staff were very nice and helpful.

    Nice place, even with construction.

    Reviewed by Sharon S(Nashville, Tennessee) on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our room was already renovated, and very nicely. There were some minor inconveniences due to the construction, but we didn't spend much time at the hotel, except to sleep. For some reason, our room was not cleaned until late afternoon, usually when we were trying to get ready to go out for the evening. They waived the $20 resort fee because of construction. It was noisy at times outside, and dusty. Looks like it will be really nice when renovations are completed. Convenient location. We enjoyed sitting outside near the beach at night. Rough surf, great views. They do have a luau, but we did not go to it.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Good stay - despite the construction.

    Reviewed by gocaligirl(Campbell, California) on May 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First of all, I find it interesting that I am unable to leave a review on the Marriott site. Apparently you have to receive a survey in order to do so. So, I'm leaving the review here. Like many others, I booked this stay without being aware of the construction. I was informed of the construction via a email confirmation a week before our trip. There is major construction and the entire pool area is closed. I wouldn't have chosen this hotel had I been aware of the construction. Shame on Marriott for not having it posted clearly on their website for the hotel. Once I knew about the construction, I called the hotel and requested a newly renovated room away from the construction noise. I will say that our room was nice with a good view of the ocean. We were on the very south side and never heard construction noise in our room. The hotel is trying to a good job despite the construction. Positives: $3.50 Mai Tai's until 6 pm. Chairs & Lounges set up along the beach (it's a lovely beach to look at, but not good for swimming). Pool access at the neighbor hotel, we didn't use it, but it was not crowded and looked nice. The resort fee of $20.00 a day was a bit of stretch, but it included free bikes, beach towels, chairs, etc. In summary, if you are able to get a great deal on this hotel, and just need a place to sleep, I would say to go for it (being fully aware of the construction). We enjoyed sitting on the beach in the evenings and were out and about on the island during the days. Plenty of nice restaurants in walking distance and very conveniently located to Kapaa town and both sides of the Island. If there is no cost savings, pick another property. Once the construction is done, I think it will be a nice property.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX