Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa at the Islands of Loreto

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Loreto
    5. Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa at the Islands of Loreto
    6. Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa at the Islands of Loreto review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    N

    Beautiful resort with lots to do

    Reviewed by Natalie on Apr 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Villa del Palmar is in a beautiful isolated location with lots of surrounding wildlife. There is lots to do from hiking, kayaking, paddle board, golf, swimming, island touring, etc. The staff were very friendly and the resort is very clean. We had amazing weather with blue skies everyday.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    Perfect!

    Reviewed by mcceplis on Mar 24, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Just what the doctor ordered.... My husband had a broken leg and needed a change in scenery - WOW! Outstanding location and service from all at the hotel - everyone was genuinely happy to greet you and make sure everything was perfect. The golf course manager even took his personal time to drive us to the 17th hole for a spectacular view of the ocean. Would highly recommend as a safe and relaxing get away!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1456 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great family vacation

    Reviewed by Marlie M(Caronport) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Villa del Palmar Loreto is our favourite vacation spot. We have been here many times and were glad to be able to bring all our kids and grandkids for a Family Vacation. The location is perfect for those who want a quiet, beautiful holiday. Beach is great for kids, and the hiking trails were well used by all. The best thing is the staff who know us and give us amazing service. Looking forward to going back again soon!

    Another wonderful stay @ VDP

    Reviewed by Gydarie(Cooper Landing, Alaska) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I really love coming "home" to the Villa del Palmar everytime. I came with 4 friends who've never been here and we were blown away by the service! Our first encounter was with Gualberto who recently received a well deserved promotion. He is always the utmost professional but also treats you as a friend. He got us seats for the show before dinner and is always a friendly face that's lovely to see around the resort. Eduardo at Dansante Restaurant made us some awesome Irish coffees. Julio and Rafael made sure the margaritas were flowing for us poolside! Our final night were had an incredible dinner at Casa Mia and Benjamin helped me pick out a fantastic Mexican wine, it was delicious! Alma at the concierge was the sweetest and helped us arrange our airport transfer. I cannot say enough about the staff and their service here at VDP. It's always a joy to come here and so fun to bring friends who were also extremely impressed. Thank you so much VDP and I'll be back again and again!

    The Love Boat without the seasickness!

    Reviewed by Laura K(Seattle, Washington) on Apr 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wow! What a wonderful week we spent here. It completely exceeded our expectations, never have I been at a resort that was so welcoming and put so much thought into every detail. All the staff and employees are so friendly, it really feels like you are part of their family. There are so many activities offered during the day - Mexican bingo, water aerobics, paddle boarding. Nightly entertainment. Santiago is a gifted guitar player and the evening shows were so fun and enjoyable. The resort goes above and beyond. We did the all inclusive and the food was wonderful - the green juice in the morning was fresh squeezed and delicious, fresh seafood, ceviche, and baked goods. The spa is top notch - definitely take advantage of the water ritual - so relaxing. There are two well maintained tennis courts. We were completely safe at the resort and everything was so very clean and pristine. We can't wait to come back next year!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great service in a beautiful location

    Reviewed by Keith C(Victoria, Canada) on Apr 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The people who work at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all of the restaurant wait staff. The evening themed dinners were fun and well done. The breakfast buffet was always excellent. On the whole, restaurant prices are on the very high side for Mexico. Worth paying for the all inclusive since there are no other food options nearby. Only real complaint is the beds were not really comfortable- mattresses were not of high quality and pillows were terrible. A resort like this should have much much better quality bedding.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Beautiful Scenery, Annoying Time Share Pitch

    Reviewed by BillHill_8(Northern California) on Apr 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The two-hour-plus, high pressure, time-share sales pitch left a big ugly scar on what should have been a flawless trip. More on that later. It would be hard to find a more beautiful and secluded spot. Villa del Palmar is tucked into striking desert mountains, miles from town,where the bluest sky meets the bluest sea. Due to its position, well into the Gulf of California (Cortez if you prefer), the ocean is usually as calm as a lake and free from the big waves and some of the wind common across the peninsula on the Pacific Coast. The resort is within Bahia de Loreto National Park, a marine reserve drawn around a group of islands, that offers great fishing, snorkelling, kayaking, diving, whale watching, wildlife, swimming and virtually anything else you like to do on the water. We saw blue whales, the largest animal to ever inhabit the earth, including dinosaurs, a couple of types of dolphins and a variety of fish and sea birds. A couple of strenuous hikes into the surrounding hills were rewarded with solitude and breathtaking views. There is also what we were told is a professional level golf course. The units are nice condominiums. I am the wrong person to ask if they are fashionable or not. I don’t know and don’t care. The place is clean , the beds very comfortable, the kitchens well-appointed and everything worked. The staff is friendly, well trained and English speaking. They seem happy and well treated. Because of its isolated location and resort policy, there are none of the annoying vendors you find at other resorts and no worry for safety. It’s a great place for families with young children. Teenagers might get a little bored depending on the kid. The food is decent if not very creative, which is normal for a place that must cater to a wide variety of appetites. . Prices are high for Mexico. A plate of pasta is $15-$20+. Depending on how much you eat and drink, the all-inclusive option, which also includes kayak and paddleboard rentals and a discount on some other goods and services, might be worth it. During our visit, it went for about $100 per person per day and must include your entire group. If you want an authentic Mexican experience, this is not the place. You will not be exposed to the poverty up the road or much if any, Mexican culture. Unless you leave the compound, The Mexican people you encounter will probably be wearing a uniform and serving you, though we did run into a few well-off nationals staying there. It is definitely geared toward providing a worry-free place for well to do North Americans, mostly older, and international tourists to golf and drink. Some of it seemed silly, like an "Elite" swimming pool and an "Elite" beach area. It must have something to do with the timeshares. Neither the pool or the beach area was any better than the adjoining non-elite areas. A big downside for us, one we could have and should have avoided, was the timeshare sales presentation. The corporation that owns Villa del Palmar markets their timeshares and other products very aggressively. They enticed us with a nice package of discounts. All we had to do was listen to a 90-minute presentation. We made it clear at the time we were not interested and we were assured there was no pressure and they simply wanted a chance to acquaint us with their products. In reality, it took most of a precious vacation morning, including an uncomfortable and very aggressive hard sell at the end. In retrospect, I would have paid whatever the discounts were worth just to not have to go through such an unpleasant experience on an already short vacation. High-pressure meetings and stress is what I had hoped to get away from. It cast a long shadow on what should have been almost perfect trip.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX