Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Mazatlan
    5. Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Resort
    6. Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    b

    Some old world charm but not quite as represented so won't return.

    Reviewed by betham54 on Mar 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked this hotel based on reviews and a travel company recommendation and were disappointed as it isn't what we expected at all. However it did have some redeeming qualities so will start there. The room though dated and in need of sprucing up was clean and the view of the ocean from our balcony was amazing. The food was very good and the waiters work hard to get your meals to you in a timely fashion. Overall the resort and grounds are very clean and most staff do try to their best to help you. But there are major issues that should be dealt with. It was our first visit to Mazatlán though we have been to numerous resorts in Mexico and had never run into these problems. Check in was difficult, very few staff and very limited English skills. Before they will give you your room key, they tell you must see the lady at the side desk. Of course its to plug their timeshares at the sister resort Emerald Bay. There was little info in the room to tell you where to go and really the biggest problem is that some of the staff spoke no English at all or very limited English. This is so weird for a hotel catering to mostly americans. The beach is lovely and sandy. But the red flag for danger was up every day for our 14 day visit. The waves are at times so huge that local people surf there and there is an undertow as well. There is no lifeguard so swimming can be dangerous. There is no nightly entertainment at all. After dinner your choices are to go to your room or venture outside to Mazatlán on your own. The bars are swim up bars basically with no music etc., not at all what you would envision. The resort itself is in dire need of renovations. It is charming and very old Mexico style but the lounge chairs at the beach and pool are so old and uncomfortable. There weren't enough of them especially on the beach. Some dining chairs had cushions, most didn't. Some things in the room itself didn't work well eg phone, toilet, sink. They charge $14/day for Wifi with no free zones.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    E

    Always a fun time from check in to check out.Staff smiling & friendly.

    Reviewed by Edward (Eduardo) Oliver on Jan 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location is perfect as close to golden zone by taxi, and away from bad areas.Staff are the best experienced anywhere in past 25 years.Enjoyed many months vacations there over the years.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1947 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great place to stay

    Reviewed by Canuck500(Calgary) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here June 8 to 15, 2019. While the hotel is undergoing renovations, it was still a wonderful place to stay. What made it special was the staff, who are welcoming and friendly. A special thanks to Carlos at the front desk who gave us a wonderful room, to the servers at Cilantro's and Angelo's, who we had nice conversations and laughs with. The manager at Angelo's always greeted us as old friends and the servers were the best. We were always well looked after for breakfast in the morning at Cilantro's. We didn't hear much noise from the construction at all, so don't let that deter you. You only hear some when walking on the way to Cilantro's or very faintly if sitting by the pool and close to the building being renovated. Our room was new, clean, and modern. A fridge would have been nice; nonetheless, it was a beautiful room. The food was very good at the restaurants. Make sure to order the bacon wrapped shrimp at Cilantro's. One earlier poster said that the timeshare presentations are mandatory - they definitely are not. Just make it clear that you don't want to attend and they will respect your request. The only downside was the loud and untalented band that played for about two to three hours in the afternoon on the beach. They play polka music (yes, polka, which apparently is popular in Mazatlan due to the Germans who settled there earlier on). One guy comes with a big tuba. They sound terrible and were the only thing I would change. All in all, we will be back as we really enjoyed our stay. The showers had lots of force, although one guest said his didn't. The West Jet rep was also great and helped us with tours.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    My only place to stay in Mazatlan forever

    Reviewed by Carrielazzar(Bellevue, Washington) on Jun 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have been going to Mazatlán for over 20 years and this is the only hotel I will ever stay at. All the employees are like family and customer service is outstanding. From the moment I arrive to the time I leave I feel at home. The following staff are behind the best: from Patty the manager never get rid of her her smile alone wants you to come back and she is extra efficient handling any situation, the staff at bell hop Manuel and Francisco, the pool staff Mateo, Juan, patty’s husband Oscar, Noah, both Miguel’s at Cilantros, the staff cleaning and fixing Antonio maintenance and Ramona the maid. All I say is be patient during the remodel as it will soon end and things will go back to the way they were. The best thing is the customer service has never changed and I and my daughters and families look forward to going back for many more years. Veronica B and Carrie W

    My Spring Puero Bonito Vacation

    Reviewed by Victor F(Burnaby) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Pretty nice resort overall, though the rooms illustrated on their webpage are completely different to the actual rooms. The biggest disappointment was in fact the rooms, as rather than having the wonderful Mexican style they use to have, they are now very minimalistic without drawers in the bedroom and most importantly without a fridge! The second disappointment; a nuisance really, was the mandatory timeshare introduction after checkup, and a very pushy timeshare salesman on our very first dinner!! The highlights were the super-courteous and friendly staff (the entire staff that is) and the fabulous cuisine at Cilantro's. ~ Pescados wasn't bad, particularly if you're in the mood fusion-style sushi;-) Finding a good promotion we would gladly go back, but a the regular advertised price we would look for a more "Mexican Style" hotel. Four at of five stars!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Great place

    Reviewed by sbfrench1(Dana Point, California) on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We’ve been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan numerous times, I feel it’s the best place to stay in the Golden Zone. Nice rooms with ocean views. Hotel is situated right on the beach. What makes this place also special is all the people working there. They’re so friendly that you become friends with them. I just had a problem with a reservation that was very upsetting to me, Moises Vazquez, guest services, quickly worked on this and straightened everything out. He made sure I received all the information in writing. Thank you so much to Moises.

    Mr.

    Reviewed by avaloscar(San Diego, California) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I just returned from a trip to Mazatlán my. To celebrate my Wife birthday,we stayed at Pueblo bonito hotel we had stayed there before and decided to go again as our previous Times were enjoyable.but this time was the other way around it all started in the front desk where a clerk named Carlos took care of my reservation made two months in advance,my Reservation was for a luxury suite for which we paid right there,but we were assigned to an inferior type room even do We were charged for the luxury suite.when I went down to complain I was told that the hotel was full and if we wanted a (bigger) room we would have to wait until 3p.m we agreed In order to get what we had paid for,it wasn’t until 4p.m that the room was ready,this room didn’t have any place to put your clothes the tables had no room for them and the closet was very small,I did had a good time by the pool the attendants were friendly especially Jesus,Fernando,&alfredo I think it’s a good idea to check that you are getting what you Requested before you pay in full,I wanted to change hotel the Next day but we were told that we had to forfeit one night cause cancellations had to be done 3 days before so had no choice but to stay. Other wise the city is very well kept,the food is great, and the locals are very friendly I recommend going to los pinitos beach,and eat at el muchacho alegre restaurant I think they have the best seafood in town,and live music.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX