Hilton Rose Hall Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    Fun vacation with family

    Reviewed by JJ on Dec 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We booked the Hilton Rose Hall as a family with a 10-month old daughter. The interactions that I had via email with the staff was prompt and I always received a detailed response to my questions. We really enjoyed our stay at the resort. The highlights were fantastic food and amazing staff. I cannot stress enough how friendly and accomodating the staff were. Everyone across the resort always said hello, asked if you were enjoying your stay or if they could offer any help. Whether the restaurants were open or closed, the cooks and wait staff would help us in heating up food for our daughter. The food was great. The buffet had a lot of variety day-to-day and everything was fresh and tasty. The Leg of Lamb one night at dinner was exceptional. The beach dinner was a really nice touch with a lot of great choice. Our meal at Three Palms was good, but nothing exceptional. Luna di Mare's food was great. The Seaside Grille had good food for lunch and some great dishes at dinner, like the NY striploin and seared Swordfish. We didn't take part in many of the resort activities, but we did use the water park multiple times per day. The beach was nice and kept clean. The rooms were clean and equipped well. Our partial oceanview room on the top 7th floor had a beautiful view of the sea while overlooking the waterpark. Some issues: Intermittent power outages for a 24-hour period. This was after rain and a lot of wind. The toilet in our room always had water running and we weren't able to get hot water in the evening I never brought these issues to the attention of the staff but left a note on departure . It would be nice if the buffet dinner hours were earlier than 6/6:30pm Overall, if we were to return to Jamaica and Montego Bay, we would consider returning to the Hilton Rose Hall.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4806 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great family resort!

    Reviewed by Navigator547296() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great time with family and friends. The lazy river and water slides were perfect for kids, as were the water activities. Jerk chicken hut was fabulous and the food in general was very good with many options and Jamaican flavors. Only complaint was the WiFi connection.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Fab family holiday

    Reviewed by cathw1970(Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went back end July for 2 weeks. It was amazing. You certainly won’t go hungry. The coffee bar was open 6am till 2am which had cakes and cookies. Italian restaurant more a la carte (no pizza, that was available in the day at the outside bar. The moonstone bar had the most amazing staff, Allison and Lloyd were a great team. The lazy river was good fun and the sea was lovely and warm. Place was spotless. The staff could not do enough for you. It was mainly American guests which suited us - travelling from the Uk we love meeting people from other countries. The restaurant which you go to on a mini bus was just superb again staff and food we could not fault. I could go on and on it was the best holiday we have ever had far better than Mexico the previous year. Well done Hilton

    HRH Hotel - My experience

    Reviewed by MsDes1979(Amherst, New York) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Here’s my take on HRH...mind you third time in Jamaica...first time at this resort and Montego Bay (Heads up, long detailed post) Traveled from 8/11-16 and this was by far the closest I have been the airport of all the times I have been to Jamaica. I traveled with 4 others, including another adult and three teenager ranging 14,16, 17. We arrived 9am, knowing it was early expecting to wait for a room. HRH did try and accommodate the party as soon as possible. We were told to go ahead and have breakfast while they figured out the room situation. Upon arrival we did not receive a war towel or complimentary beverage as I have in the past at so many other resorts. Room experience: 1. I was charged an additional $75 a night for my daughter (14) and there is a charge for kids between 6-14. When asked what is the charge for NO ONE had an explanation. When asked if everyone pays this charge, I was told the hotel makes deals with certain bookers and Expedia is not one of them. So I had to pay $375 up front before getting my room. I asked multiple people what the charge was for and no one had an answer 2. Room was large compared to my friends. Apparently I had the only expanded partial ocean room view in the hotel. It appears to be the size of two regular rooms with a couch, “dining room table” with four chairs and a server... no complaints here. It was more than enough space for myself and my daughter. Room came with a fridge fully stocked and ample bottled water. Bathroom had everything we needed, including multiple towels and washcloths. 3. My friend asked for an ocean view and was given a regular size room ocean view room. When asked for a larger room because she had two teenagers with her, the manager Ingrid suggested she asks me to swap rooms. Who does that? We have two different classes, where she paid more and they were not able to adjust the price. Mind you we requested to be on the same floor and my friend was placed on the “dated” side of the hotel, but that’s her story to tell. They eventually moved her after an hour of complaining. 4. Room was kept very clean and serviced occasionally. My only comment is the pillow smelt musty and moldy...can’t seem to get that smell out my head. 5. Water in the entire hotel went out on day two from about 5am-8am. While I was most sleeping during that time, I could imagine this being an inconvenience or guests. When I called the front desk there was no explanation. Many guest handled their business in the communal bathrooms in the lobby and by the pool. Resort experience 1. Main pool was a decent size and we were always able to find chairs with umbrellas. Bartenders do not service the pool area regularly. They service primarily guests with cabanas. Getting their attention was a bit challenging 2. Activities in the pool area were scarce depending on the day. A few days we brought our own portable speaker to the pool for music. 3. Entertainment staff Kevon and Alton made the trip for our group. They kept us entertained throughout our stay 4. Night entertainment was decent. We saw two shows. One was on the beach - dinner (really good) and an audience participation show. The other was on the main stage and was a variety show. 5. Lazy river was filthy and not enough floating devices. Wish I would have know to buy my own prior to going. Beach was cool...water was warm, but murky. Not the clearest beach I’ve been to. 6. Biggest downfall for me personally, was the BUGS! Bees and flies EVERYWHERE. Mind you third time to Jamaica and I’ve stayed elsewhere. I definitely think they could have done a better job at controlling this Highlights 1. Book excursions. You will be bored if you stay on the property your whole vacation. We did zip lining and ATV in Negril - has a great time 2. Went to Pier 1 restaurant - if you are a seafood lover you should go there (35 minutes off property) Although the excursion table will tell you they do not provide transportation; I called the restaurant and they provided a shuttle to the restaurant and back 3. Tipping is highly appreciated...some will ask and some won’t. I took $50 in singles and it lasted the entire trip. Overall, I love the island of Jamaica - people and food. While I WILL NOT return to this resort, I will return to the island.

    3rd time visiting -family fun vacation with great Kidz Club

    Reviewed by RebeccaStPete() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great place to come using Hilton Points. Friendly staff, relaxing environment, good amenities and a wonderful Kidz Club. Melanie, Latoya and Tonie-Ann provide fun, quality kids activities and cool prizes. Our 5yo son had a blast and won a t-shirt and drum playing activities with other kids his age. Would like to see the bars and restaurants open a bit earlier and twice as many innertubes in the lazy river.

    Lovely resort and holiday

    Reviewed by wcws(england) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    If I could I would rate this 4.5 - the half mark deduction would be that the rooms and bathrooms could be a bit more luxurious with better storage facilities when there are 4 in the room. The rooms are nice and clean. Resort is not too big, and just a nice size to get away from one area but only a short walk to get somewhere else. There was plenty of sun lounger space and restaurant seating - none of the usual getting up at crack of dawn for a place to lay all day. Food was great, so many options and well cooked with lots of effort to make it interesting with BBQ’s and beach parties. Service was good and much better than we have experienced at European all inclusive, with full drinks service at every sitting and a wide variety available. Got to eat at a la cartes easily. If things did go wrong, the hotel staff would put things right quickly. As a runner it was great to have somewhere safe to run around the golf course in the mornings. The gym did get very busy in the morning and I can imagine in peak season it would be overly crowded - could definitely do with a bigger gym. The catamarans and kayaks are free but we only realised towards the end of our holiday. The kids club was great - lovely area and lots of activities.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX