Secrets St. James Montego Bay

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    Very clean. Lovely grounds. Great service. Bad wine.

    Reviewed by Cathy on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very nice place. Beach is small but sandy. Loved that you did not need dinner reservations. Food better than most all inclusives. Booze typically weak or poor quality.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7775 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by Maps566008() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful time. This was by far one of the best vacation spot, everything was excellent. The rooms were very clean. The staffs were very friendly and helpful in any situation that were presented.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    An Awesome Vacation!

    Reviewed by spedTeacher1976(Connecticut) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 4th Secrets resorts and our third vacation in Jamaica. Upon arrival we were promised that the St. James would be one of our best experiences. They did not prove it wrong! The St. James staff is what makes this resort stand out. All so friendly! We were constantly asked how our day was going. Being greeted each morning by the staff at the World Cafe is such a lovely memory of our stay. The restaurants were outstanding! Our favorites were the French and Italian. The portions were generous and we always left full. We love that reservations were not needed. This added to the stress free vacation of not worrying you need to get somewhere at a certain time! The beaches were gorgeous! Unfortunately there were jellyfish in the water the last few days so we sat on the beach and just jumped in the pool when we needed to cool off! When deciding where to stay, St. James or the Wild Orchid, we read in previous reviews that the St. James was a quieter resort and we found that true. The restaurants are located in the Wild Orchid resort. We saw this as advantage because we ate so much and walked it off going back to our room! Our room was gorgeous overlooking the water. So glad we upgraded to ocean view! Housekeeping did an outstanding job! Remember to bring to bring singles and fives for tipping. We contacted Ameristar prior to our vacation for private transfers. So worth it as we are not stopping at each resort to drop off and pick up. We cannot wait for our next St. James vacation!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great escape!

    Reviewed by MIA0911(McDonough, Georgia) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Secrets is a fabulous destination! We had a superb time with a number of couples that joined with us to this location. The adults only atmosphere makes it so exclusive, private, and tranquil. The amenities were great. The staff were excellent. The views of the ocean were great. We had an awesome time. This will become one of our go-to locations in going back to Montego Bay. This was our 4th time in MoBay. Each time that we’ve gone to Jamaica it has been a different resort. Secrets will be our spot for just hubby and and me...not the kids. The drinks were plentiful and the servers greeted you any and everywhere you were on the resort. We really enjoyed the late night jerk chicken grill. The hibachi restaurant was a fabulous time as well. The cooks entertained us immensely with their song and dance. I’d recommend bring singles of US dollars so that you can tip easily the servers. Outside of the humidity which you can get used to, all was excellent. As they say when you enter...”welcome home”.

    Wonderful

    Reviewed by HeideOdom(Florida) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    WE had a wonderful time in Montego Bay, Jamaica. We were there with three other couples celebrating a friend's 50th birthday. The resort is gorgeous and the staff was very friendly. The resort was very well maintained. The rooms were very comfortable and the views were incredible. There was a nice variety of restaurants to choose from.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    St. James, Montego Bay, Jamaica

    Reviewed by Linda K() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent staff and accommodations. Daily events were fun! Use of other areas such as Wild Orchid and Breathless made it eventful. Excursions were well done through Sun Wing~Dunn’s Falls and River Tubing~ amazing. Just wished we could have shopped a little right there in the premises. Guide was amazing from excursion(bus) and transfer of guides for each event were awesome. Bike excursion through facility staff and tennis pro lessons~both men were very friendly & amazing. Gym facilities a little tight, but overall good. Towels, fruit flavored water & Gatorade drink available. Rooms were cleaned and replenished and bed turned down~very nice! View was phenomenal! Restaurants~food was great and staff very accommodating & friendly and courteous. Nightly entertainment was great fun! Last day, we checked out early, but flight was very late and the staff made sure we were able to get a quick meal, yet amazing, and a shower, before departing, in the beautiful spa area. So nice. Overall experience was fabulous! Thank you!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX