BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    We loved our stay! Will definitely be back!!

    Reviewed by Kelly McK on Mar 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    First time at this resort, and took down 7 ladies who have never been to DR before. We all loved it. Check-in was a bit of a nightmare, as we requested ground-floor rooms, and none were available, but they straightened everything out the next day. From that day on the resort was very accommodating. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they seem to love their jobs. The food was delicious; everything was fresh, and all buffet items were named in english and spanish. The snack bar at the beach wasn't great, so we mainly stuck to the main buffet. The ala cartes were very good - all 3 of them: meat, seafood, oriental. The swim-up bar was awesome; shallow pool, just 3 ft deep; just had to remember to keep our shoes at the top of the stairs, as the tiles were slippery when wet. The bathrooms were close by, and were well-used (and clean). Most afternoons this was the pool with the most action and activities, and right near the night time theatre. Our rooms were by the "quiet pool", which also has the spa, fitness centre, and a juice/coffee bar w/freshly baked cookies. Great place to go to get away for some quiet time. Resort is a short, 5-minute walk to the Mall, which has all the shopping needs taken care of, including a well-stocked pharmacy. At the rum, cigar, clothing, and souvenir stores, If paying cash, you can negotiate prices to get a better deal.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    I would come back nor recommend this resort. I was so disappointed. This resort lists as a 4 star. In reality it's more of a 2.

    Reviewed by Ken on Feb 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    It sucked! Everybody was trying to get into your pocket. Food was over salted on everything, poor variety, fruits were very limited unless you want to eat pineapples everyday, absence of healthy options. Even their Ala Carte restaurants suck. Lots of communication problem with ordering especially relating to my diet restrictions. Bathroom was moldy, no exhaust. Room looks old and cheap, furniture were peeling, does not look clean. Beach was clean. That's the most we enjoyed except that we were hounded by vendors. Reception checking in was confusing. They saw that I have mobility issue but tried to book us in 3rd floor without elevator. We find it hard to request what we need. It is also difficult to communicate my special needs as it relate to my health issues. No free WiFi. Another thing to spend on. Check out was smooth.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    We did not love our stay. I won't go back to this resort. It's not how it appeared online.

    Reviewed by Bev on Jan 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had a very stressful 1st day. I booked a premium room and we were given a worn sad dirty room. The paint was peeling, the room phone was not working, it was dirty, there was mould in the washroom. I did not use the washroom except to quickly pee during the 1st day. The coffee maker wasn't cleaned still had old coffee in there. The cups and spoon were sticky. It was a sore site from a supposedly 4 star resort. We need boiled water for my husband's CPAP machine and it was such an ordeal to get that I had to go myself to the kitchen and insist to have it. The front desk person Ana was difficult to talk to. Thankfully the following day Johnny helped us to mover to a better room. It was not an updated room and the furniture were old but at least it was cleaner and more acceptable. And this was a premium room. I cannot imagine how a standard room look. The beach was the highlight of that resort because we had an amazing weather. Although the vendors were a nuisance because even if you're napping they wake you up to sell their wares. The food was salty. There's a limited amount of fruits and almost absence of healthy choices because they were salty or fried . It's hard to stay healthy in the resort if you have some diet restrictions. When I asked a chef he told me they cannot accommodate. Even the restaurant offers limited menu. Another thing is the tips. Everybody expects a tip every time you engage them anywhere. The servers and staff give preferential treatment to people who tip and appear to ignore guests that do not often tip. Hence the standard service is lacking.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Returning to BlueBay is Always a Pleasure

    Reviewed by Sylvia on Mar 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I have been going to BlueBay at least once a year since 2006. Located in the Playa Dorada Complex, BlueBay is well located with the shopping centre minutes away and Puerto Plata is easily accessed by taxi or guagua. We love that it is adult only and because of my mobility issues all venues are easily accessible for me. The food is good; there are many options even for the fussiest of eaters. The speciality restaurants could use a new menu though. The staff is always more than accommodating. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The Resident Manager, Ines Pichardo makes herself available to guests and tries to solve problems quickly. Our room was perfect: quiet and handy to the spa area with its terrific and very popular coffee machine. For us, BlueBay is our home away from home. WestJet is our carrier of choice. We can always be sure to have enough legroom on the plane. And, WestJetters always provide us with excellent service whether it's at the airport, on the plane, at the resort or by phone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    L

    Disappointed overall. Many things that were "included" actually weren't Wouldn't restock our fridge even when we requested.

    Reviewed by Lindsay M on Jan 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Had much higher expectations for this place and was pretty disappointed. Refused to restock our fridge. First off, when we arrived we didn't not have our reservation printed off, I had saved it on my phone. Granted, I guess I should have known this, but we were treated so rudely by the staff and made to feel like we totally inconvenienced them. A few others that arrived at the same time as us and made the same mistake said the same thing. The beach was really dirty, tons of cigarette butts in the sand as well as other gross items tampon, condom, etc ...definitely wasn't comfortable walking around in bare feet. I wanted to try some wind surfing but was told they were all broken and would not be useable the whole week we were there. I was then told I could pay for wind surface provided by an outside source. I chose a resort that supposedly had this included, so why would I then pay extra? The room was ok, defnitely not as modern as the website would have you believe. It was very frustrating that they would only give us one key card, even after several requests they refused. The fridge in our room was NEVER stocked with drinks, even after we left a tip and requested that it be restocked daily. IT was supposed to be all booze included, but definitely wasn't. Half the time the maids didn't even clean our room, several times I had to seek them out to request towels because they didn't leave any clean ones. We tipped WELL each day in the hopes that it would improve, but it didn't. The food was ok, I wasn't expecting too much and there was plenty of fresh fruit available. What was disappointing was the "snack bars"...very limited options and always greasy. My boyfriend doesn't drink so was looking forward to snacking lots, but there were many times that food wasn't available. Overall I found that many staff members seemed inconveniences to help us with anything. They wouldn't give us wifi even though the website said it was free in the lobby. Disappointed overall.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    This resort's greatest asset is its management and staff

    Reviewed by Sherpa07 on Mar 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 3rd trip to this resort and we would definitely return. The management and staff are its greatest asset. Management is very proactive and present and the staff in all areas of the resort are genuinely friendly and accommodating. The animation team are very friendly to all the guests and work hard to include all who are interested in participating in the activities offered. We found the food to be good and while the resort is by no means new, maintenance is ongoing and we found that any issues that we presented were dealt with swiftly and completely to our satisfaction. Our room was well maintained and well cleaned daily. Our flights and transfers were on time and without incident and all personnel we encountered were professional and friendly .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6622 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Veronica is amazing!!

    Reviewed by vickyselfe(Wasaga Beach, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had an amazing trip, really nice resort and 2 min walk to the beach. Staff are so much fun, Veronica was always amazing by the pool! The seafood restaurant was by far my favourite, but the nightly buffet was amazing.

    Veronica is the Best!

    Reviewed by carlymM6653PF() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My friends and I spent a week here and had a great time! The staff is amazing, especially Veronica! Always smiling and having a great time with everyone on the resort. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone!

    Blue Bay Villas Dorades, Puerto Plata, D.R

    Reviewed by penny544(Embrun, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was the first time that we've been to adults only. It needs some renovations the rooms are outdated. Now for the fun part. We met amazing people. First there was Johnny at reception. He was fantastic he help with everything right away. We also met this beautiful young lady, Anna Maria and she worked Life Cycle. Again was very helpful through our entire holiday. Then we have the buffet. The food was Ok, we met Antonio. He took care of us right away he even went out of his way. they had theme nights such as Mexican, Canadian, Chinese and others. They had a foam party, they had a bubble makes. It was like a huge bubble bath, we had lots of fun. Now we have the pool bar where we met amazing people. The staff took care of you right away. They entertain us and made it lots of fun, everybody was having a great time. This is the pool bar staff, Maria, Leyni, Emmanuel and Lorelei. Now at the pool bar here we met Severo. Again he took great car of us. The beach was very clean and they had lots of chairs. Probably the only complaint I'd have is that the beach front was very small. When all is said and done we had a great time for 2 weeks. The staff was amazing and the animation staff sure kept us busy with games, dancing and much more. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Wonderful Vacation # 3 at Blue Bay

    Reviewed by enyoy(Riverview, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My friend and I have just returned from another wonderful vacation at Blue Bay. We just can't say enough about how the staff at this resort make us feel...they welcome us "home" on arrival. The weather was perfect, the beach was perfect, the service was perfect, the room was perfect....need I continue??? Everyone there goes out of their way to make you feel at home, safe and comfortable at this cozy adult only piece of Paradise. From the manager, Ines ; Guest services Manager, Francisco and Assistant, Katharine; Liliana who ensured we had our favourite room; all the front desk team; Aracelis and her amazing dining room staff, who knew our coffee and beverage preferences by the end of the first day; George and the entertainment staff, especially Veronica who was so kind and sweet to us even if we didn't take part in stretching and volleyball :) the a la carte staff who remembered us and treated us to great food, excellent service and special hugs, we couldn't ask for better treatment! Even the security staff remembered us and made us feel safe and comfortable at this cozy resort. The housekeeping staff was excellent. We give the Blue Bay 4.75/5 only because some of the buildings are a bit tired and could use a little TLC, but the lush vegetation and the world class staff are second to none. See you in November Team Blue Bay!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Blue bay resort

    Reviewed by The Strongs A() on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had amazing time at bluebay, Veronica, Waldo, George, Alfredo are all amazing full of life and happiness. The resort was easy to navigate and quite to be on , with amazing beach front. Everyone is so happy to be there and to help serve you at the very best they can.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX