Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    K

    Absolutely wonderful vacation. A gem of a place.

    Reviewed by Kelly on Mar 11, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Single

    Senator was a wonderful place. I would definitely go back again. Everything was done up just right. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The food was really good and I highly recommend both a la carts, Italian and the the steak house. Cute little coffee hut where they make splendid coffee and have nice little treats. Te beach was very windy when I was there and hardly spent any time on it. Otherwise it would have been nice too. My room was lovely and cleaned very well each day. I traveled by myself and felt extremely safe. I would go back here in a heart beat. Beautiful place.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 122 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-3.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Go with low expectations, for now

    Reviewed by Gail B() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Hide quoted text ---------- Forwarded message --------- From: Carole Oliver <coliver76@gmail.com> Date: Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 1:16 PM Subject: Review for senator Puerto Plata To: <Cindy.coombes@visiontravel.ca> We stayed at the senator Puerto Plata from Feb 25th to March 7th 2019. Check in and check out went well. The bell hop took us to our room and told us a little bit about the resort. The front desk staff were really good. The room was quite big with a king size bed. There was a big TV on wall but it really had no English stations available. The bathroom is small but adequate. The outlets were not usable unless you had an adapter which they supplied if asked, but were hard to come by. The grounds are huge and very beautiful. They are very well kept by the staff there. The beach and area is raked daily. They could use more umbrellas and loungers as the pool area didn't have many trees for shade and be sure to get up early to save your loungers as they're were not enough. There was many palm trees for the beach , but yet again not enough loungers. They do have a nice gym for those if you who want to keep up with your workouts. The food at the buffet was okay, but only okay. There were only two ala carte restaurants open. The Italian place, it was really good with a nice antipasto bar for appetizers. The other place was the steakhouse and it was okay but we preferred the Italian. If you walked down to the other resort, to which we had full access, you can try the food there too. The food didn't seem to differ much there but the service was better. We found out later that the staff at the other Resort, Playabackatcha?, was the previous staff at the Senator. They had fired the staff before the renovation. The new staff was not equipped to deal with the guests or they were just really slow. Often we would ask for water and often we would not get it. This was mostly at the buffet. The service at the ala cartes was very good. Be prepared to go at least a half hour early to get the first seating, of two. This is for both ala cartes until the others are finished. The entertainment crew, Barbie, Mosquito Bite, Superman and Yoga Guy were amazing. They really got people involved in their games or their dancing or whatever it was that they were doing that day. Cannot say enough good about the entertainment crew. The facilities were clean. They had a really big area in which they could put nightly shows on but they only used it twice while we were there (10 days), once for a kids thing and the last night they put on a big dance show. The show was okay but definitely could be improved. There were shows at the other resort and a disco on site. The disco opened around 11, a little too late for us. There were several shops on site and they were clean and well staffed with nice friendly people. The sports bar, was okay, really good if you wanted to watch a different variety of sporting events. The service there was very slow and if you were lucky you would get your order of food in a half an hour and then it looked like it had been sitting for half that time. Very slow "island time" service all around at Senator. The maids did a great job but seemed to be lacking in some supplies, like they were not given enough for all the rooms. Especially toilet paper! The pool was very large and maintained very well with a swim up bar. It took a while to get your drink here as most of the bars. It's unfortunate that the staff didn't have a little better command of the English language so they would have done better all around if they did. Once again entertainment staff all communicated well, with many languages. The day that we got there they had set the dump on fire, because they burn all garbage and recycling, the fire had gotten out of hand and as a result the air quality was not good. It smelled like plastic for a couple of days. There were not many water activities on site but there were plenty of excursions, with something for all. If you want pretty location but slow service book now or wait a couple years until they work out the kinks. We definitely felt like Guinea pigs while they worked out the new resort, I would recommend this resort, maybe given a little time this place will be worth going!

    Ok but not amazing

    Reviewed by marcel613(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the resort for 1 week, family of 4 leaving today. We’ve stayed in many Caribbean resorts over the last 10-15 years mostly 4 or 5 star. My goal is to be fair with my review based on past travel experience outlining the good and areas of improvement. I’d categorize this resort just short of a 4 star and here’s why. The beach by the hotel leaves plenty to be desired. At any given time you might find 4 or 5 in the water, that should tell you something it’s rocky wear water shoes. The sand beach leading into water is not smooth sand if you expect that you will be disappointed. The resort common areas have all been redone foyer entrance, buffet and 3 new restaurants, these areas look great! The resort has mainly older buildings room furniture is basic with 2 or 3 English channels rest are in Spanish, they could do better in that area. The hotel has 3 new buildings unless you pay for the upgrade at booking you won’t get into one of these rooms they are excellent if price isn’t an issue look at staying there. I see a big issue on the horizon at this resort, i was told the resort was running about 80% occupancy. Looking around almost every chair was taken maybe 4 or 5 chairs were not being used. It’s difficult to see how this hotel can be fully booked and offer the type of service needed if they were near full occupancy. The AC in the older buildings I would say is mildly cool not what you’d expect you will need to use the room fan to help circulate the air...I did hear others complain about the same issue in other buildings. Others have said the Italian and steak house are good, maybe we caught them on a bad day it was just ok. The beef tenderloin we asked for medium rare it showed up well over cooked. At the Italian restaurant I ordered penne with seafood, the dish had plenty of fish but the sauce had no flavour disappointing, that dish with a good tomato base should be fantastic. The service at the coffee shop seems understaffed with 1 person making coffee with a regular lineup of 7 or 8 people almost every time we went by. The ice cream shop was really good with 7 or 8 varieties..my son enjoyed it several times every day. Food quality I’d rate a 4 star service in general 3.5 star.. they need more staff in the sports bar and coffee shop as a bare minimum. The sports bar service was painfully slow. Sadly mid way through our trip an older gentleman died at the pool area, possible heart attack. It took about 25 minutes for the ambulance to show up completely unacceptable, tourists we performing CPR, the hotel seemed unprepared with no defibrillator that’s also unacceptable. Anyhow this hotel has a long way to go if they plan to be a 5 star. Yes you are on vacation so expect a slower pace that also means it’s no 5 star resort.

    If you like quiet...this is the resort for you!

    Reviewed by peelsdr(Saint John, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Like many others have said, this resort has a lot of potential. It's still under a lot of renovation, so there are some parts that aren't yet up and running (such as a la carte restaurants and shops along the avenue). For us, this resort had so much...yet so little and by little I mean...there really was NOTHING to do on the resort. There was some daily activity, such as yoga and aquasize, but forget about anything fun like beach parties and foam parties in the pool. Nightly entertainment is non-existent. That said, at the Senator, you stay at one and play at 3. The neighbour resort, literally a 5 minute walk away (if that) has all you can ask for if you are a night hawk who likes to be entertained. We went over one evening around 730pm and the music had started with a kids party and then a DJ set up and the entertainment staff got the audience up for some dancing. The show that night was some kind of dancing thing. We didn't stick around for the entire thing. This really is my biggest complaint about the resort...boredom can overtake you! We were in buildings 11 and 13. My room was fine. I had no issues whatsoever. My mom's room, however, had a safe that didn't really work and a light fixture that was falling off the wall. Otherwise, all was good. Housekeeping kept our rooms clean but there was no extras (don't look for towel animals) and the mini-bar guys were always around to restock the mini bar. BUT...there was no canned beer the entire week we were there. Not sure why. It was weird! But there was always scotch whiskey and rum in the rooms, along with lots of pop and water. The pool was great...the service at the pool bar was...slow. I have no idea why this was. We tipped all the time and I saw others tipping, as well. Not sure if this is hotel policy or what. There was one really fantastic server there - Wanda. She always had a smile and was quicker than any of the others to serve us. Ask for her "special" drink. The buffet was good...the desserts really good! We only went to the Italian restaurant and it was...not so good. Honestly, I would have enjoyed the pasta station at the buffet much more than the pesto ravioli I had at the Italian restaurant. Not to mention the bread. It was downright gross. They need to take the lovely buns they serve in the buffet and put those on their tables instead! The pool restaurant always had something good every day and they have a menu to order off if you don't want what they are serving. The sports bar has a good menu. We really enjoyed the nachos, chicken fingers and hamburgers (the nachos and chicken fingers were never prepared the same way twice, so that kept things interesting). But again, like the pool bar, service tended to be somewhat slow. The Avenue is going to be really, really great once all of the shops are filled. The coffee shop and ice cream shop are both great. The pizza shop...no so much. You don't get to choose your toppings and there is nothing to drink. Literally. There's not a beverage to be had in the place. So odd... The wifi is fantastic. Never had an issue anywhere on resort. So there's a bonus. You can keep entertained with social media updates! LOL All-in-all, the resort wasn't so terrible. It's very modern, so don't go here if you are looking for a tropical rain forest feel. My biggest complain all week - the wrist bands. They're horrible!!! You have to cut the ends off them in order to avoid them hanging down and getting into everything - your drinks, your food, etc. I think their goal is a more luxurious feel than the hospital bracelet but it's a major miss in my opinion. I'd go back...but not for a couple of years...when everything is open, their servers have more experience and they've amped up their entertainment some.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Our Honeymoon at Senator Puerto Plata! ??

    Reviewed by Jenny_Benny_Schmidt(Berlin, Germany) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We choosed this resort for our honeymoon and it was the best choice for us! The resort did everything to make our honeymoon as wonderful as possible! We were spending the birthday of my wife there too. I talked to to Paola from the hotel and she set up a surprise for her in our room. She even made her a cake, what a great service! The property is very large and there are many restaurants and bars, so you can choose between many different types of meals every day. If you have any special wishes for drinks, the Barkeeper will always try to make your drink like you want to have it. We had a senator junior suite, it was one of the older rooms but it was very nice and we didn't have any kind of problems! Everything inside of the room worked very well. WiFi is working all over the resort. Inside of your room you always have perfect wifi no matter what time of day it is. There is a large pool where you can spend the day but if you like it calm you'll always find a place to relax at the beach. The beach was so amazing. You also have a mini bar inside of your room which gets filled up every day and the guy's from the mini bar service are always asking you what you would like to have. We were very sad that we had to leave this paradise and we are looking forward to return to this place soon!

    Getting better, not there yet

    Reviewed by TravelingMark38(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    All in all it’s an average resort that is taking steps to improve and seems to be quick to react to feedback. Some of the reviews I read ahead of time mentioned issues getting towels and issues with check in not having a bar for welcome drinks (to name a couple). Our experience was they brought out a snack bar and welcome drinks to the lobby when check in buses were expected. And towels were constantly replenished at the pool and someone was there. So it seems to be improving but as it is now, it’s just so so. The good: We travelled as a family of 4 with 2 young kids over “March Break” which is typically a busy travel time. However there was so many chairs and spots along the beach that we didn’t ever have an issue finding a nice spot, whether we wanted shade or sun. Clean towels were always available, they didn’t seem to ever run out and someone was always there. The pools and sitting areas never felt over crowded due to the layout, even with a lot of people around. The main pool is pretty shallow, so was good for our young still-learning swimmers. The kids pool was also only 1 foot or 2 feet deep and was never busy. The location is very scenic, with the hills behind and on one side, a point with the little chapel on the other. Amber cove cruise port on the other side of the point, so cruise ships coming and going most days. Lots of trees along the beach and a clean modern feel throughout the new areas of the resort. Check in was very accommodating and helpful (especially Scarlett, who was amazingly helpful all week). The not as good: Dining options. While there the Italian, sports bar, steak house and buffett were the only dinner options. The Japanese one opened our last day, and the fine dining option (Pure) was a few weeks away and I think at an additional cost. The a la carte’s had a few options each, but nothing was really that great. The best steak we had was not at the steakhouse, but the Tenderloin at the Italian. The buffet really seemed to lack and was more or less the same thing for every lunch and dinner. They had a feature that changed each day but otherwise seemed to be the same day in and day out. It did have the usual pasta/grill/omelet stations which were good. The restaurants at the sister resort were exact same. Which we felt a bit misled about. It’s not 4 unique a la cartes that were open, it was 2 Italian and 2 Steakhouse each having the same menu. For lunch and snacks you could also go to the pizza shop, coffee shop or snack bar. The ice cream shop was great, but damn near impossible to screw up an ice cream shop. The Pizza shop was ok, would be so much better if you could order pizza with toppings you wanted, or order whole pizzas. Instead it was slice by slice and limited to the specific topping combos they used. The coffee shop was ok, with assortment of snacks that each day looked suspiciously like the left over deserts from the buffet each day. Worst part of the coffee shop was you couldn’t actually get normal black coffee.. we were limited to things made with the espresso/cappuccino machine thing and told to go to the bars for coffee. The service on average was really lacking. There was a few great people of course, but wasn’t uncommon to wait 10 minutes or so for a simple drink at a bar (like beer simple) or 10 -15 minutes for service then 30-40 minutes for food to arrive at the dinners. (and we are tippers). Drinks were pretty basic and no real high quality brands or selection. Which was surprising. The rooms: We started in a normal room. It was so small that we literally could barely fit our 3 suitcases anywhere without blocking the door or beds. It was in one of the older buildings. It was dark and dreary. The bathroom was also cramped and the shower was cracked moldy and like a cave. So we paid to upgrade to a new building with a beach view. All but one electrical outlet was the non North American types. The safe was a key safe, which you had to keep on you, which is annoying. New room (in new building). Amazing views and nice bright clean rooms with a lot more space. Only problem we had was the showers leaked out everywhere. ( glass stand up shower central in the room). We had to move rooms at one point due to a pipe bursting in the wall. And both rooms had the same problem with the showers. All plugs were standard NA plugs in these rooms. Digital safes in these rooms. The kids club was non existent. The one at the playa bachata side was very lacking too. It consisted of a play house with a few crafts and a swing set. Staffed by a few people that had zero interest in interacting with kids or helping to get anything for them to play with. All in all, it was sunny and hot and a great week of relaxing. But nothing really excellent about the resort itself.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX