Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    If you don?t go to the timeshare meeting don?t expect to get into the theme restaurants.

    Reviewed by John on Oct 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Overall I enjoyed the stay and the facilities, but trying to get a reservation to any of the restaurants was a nightmare. I had no interest in spending 6 hours in a timeshare/vacation club meeting and because of that the restaurants all became fully booked. You must have a reservation to eat at any of the restaurants other than the buffet (which was small with limited choices, ? of the salad bar were trays of sliced onions) Every time I tried to get a reservation I got a different story, from ?the computers are down?, ?the chef hasn?t released any tables?, ?we only book 24 hours in advance? to ?fully reserved?. The small buffet looks over the steak house and never once was it ever full, it holds 50 people and often there were 8 or fewer people in there and they would not allow anyone else in. I expressed my concern to many people who kept trying to turn it around to ?come to our presentation and then you can get whatever reservation you like?. Had I known this going in that there was only 1 small buffet restaurant I would have been ok, but I was disappointed that I never had the chance to eat at the Brazilian steakhouse that was advertised.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    We would never go back to the Grand Sirenus

    Reviewed by DLW on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We would never go back there even though the location up in the Hills was great. The staff were accommodating with what they had to work with. The Beach Club was nothing less than disgusting especially the washrooms. All the furniture was dated, stained and in many cases broken. We are composing a letter defining what we found, we are seasoned travelers in Mexico and this resort did not live up to its rating. Westjet most certainly did look after us in our travels and in the tours we went on, that we did appreciate greatly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    N

    Grand Sirenis not so Grand

    Reviewed by Nicky on Jan 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only thing grand about the Grand Sirenis is the property. Food quality is poor. Some staff try to be accommodating, while others just are not interested. Cleanliness standards are low. We would not recommend this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    I would not recommend or go back.

    Reviewed by Marie on Dec 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    Pros:Overall rooms and resort layout is great. Nice to be in the jungle looking at the wild life. It doesn?t feel crowded. Spa is the best thing about this resort. The staff is attentive and really cares. One of the best facial I ever had. Good products and good services. Pools are nice. Japanese restaurant and the breakfast at the Italian restaurant were really good. Chef at the beach is excellent. Cons: Adjoining rooms can be noisy. No shampoo/conditionner. Asked for refill of containers - never came. Hotel is miles from everything, they have no onsite store for necessities. I got bored really quickly. Hot water takes a long time to come. Once it does, you had to be quick or step aside as it got freezing again. I know Mexico has water quality issue, but your eyes and nose shouldn?t burn while showering. Service: I wasn?t impressed. I spoke to several others customers and they all said the same: we are not feeling it? we are disappointed in services.. I asked for some basics & was told no. I involved Westjet and then efforts were made. Steakhouse: my tenderloin tasted as if it was dipped in a salt bath for days. The buffet is not great. I went to an all inclusive and lost 2lbs. The wine (Marbella) is undrinkable. a 4.5 start resort should offer a decent house wine. There are cats begging for food as you eat. The beach is not private and you will be hassled to buy knick gnats. At the beach, the Chef cooked Paella. I could see langoustines. Sorry, can?t have it, you?re not a member. So you are treated according to your bracelet colour. Tips are included in the fare but the staff expects more. I gave out $65 US on top of what was in the fare. I arrived late due to weather. I called Room service (24 hrs) as all was closed. I was hung up on 4 times. I had to work for everything. I?m not a difficult guest nor were all the families I met. None of us felt we have value for money. I?m used to 3 stars. This was going to be my taste of a 4.5 stars. Not even close.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    Exceeded our expectations! Beautiful resort with wonderful staff!

    Reviewed by Kate on Apr 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just back from a wonderful week at the Matlali Hills Resort in La Cruz Mexico! We absolutely loved this resort, the location, the staff, the food, the suites - all awesome! The resort is not on the beach - it has a wonderful location hillside with lovely views. The vegetation is beautiful - grounds are immaculate! There is a shuttle that runs you to a private beach club every half hour if you so wish. Once at the beach everything is provided - chairs, umbrellas, food, and of course a bar - all included with your package! We thought the mix of being at the beach if you wanted - or just relaxing at the resort in their spectacular infinity pools or the "relaxing hot springs pool" was perfect! The resort is set on the hillside - so their is a fair bit of walking up and down, but shuttles are provided if needed. The staff at the resort are wonderful - so hard working and willing to please! Carla from the entertainment team was great - kept me in shape with aqua-fit and yoga on the beach! Alberto was excellent in Raixe's buffet - always remembered our tea and orange juice in the morning! Thankyou for the wonderful vacation - we shall return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    Relaxing Oasis, what a wonderful vacation!

    Reviewed by Erika on Mar 02, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    My friend and I stay at this resort February 16th to the 22nd. Our trip was everything we had hoped for, a relaxing getaway from our hectic lives. I think this resort is ideal for people looking for a quiet, relaxing and beautiful place to stay. It's certainly felt like I was at a spa for a week. There are three pool areas. One GORGEOUS infinity pool area, where we stayed the majority of our trip. A 'relaxation pool" that has a fresh juice bar and an adult only pool area. All three pools are lovely, but the view from that infinity pool, nothing really beats that.I am not really a big beach fan, i've always preferred to be poolside on vacation, but there is a beach available. It is a short, ten minute shuttle ride away, to a small sectioned off beach area that has it's own snack&bar area. The service is EXCEPTIONAL. I have never felt more valued with excellent service from the servers at the amazing a la carte restaurants, the bar and poolside and the customer service/front desk staff. Although i can not give a personal mention to every one of the helpful staff that improved our stay, I would be remiss if I did not mention Alexi. He worked at the front desk and went above and beyond, ensuring our health and safety needs were met. He was always cheerful and beyond helpful. He certainly is an incredible person and made our trip that much more special, thank you so much Alexi : The restaurants were a great mix of food steakhouse, brazil, italian and Japanese . All a wonderful experience with exceptional and friendly service, what incredibly lovely staff! Overal, we had a lovely time, and if I had the money or vacation time to allow for it, i'd go again at any opportunity I had. For those people who enjoy loud atmospheres, blaring music, disco/dance bar night life and wild/loud entertainment staff and amenities, this place likely isn't for you. But for those people, looking for a relaxing, beautiful, romantic getaway- this is your place!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 926 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Where do I begin .

    Reviewed by Q478FImarieb(Prince George, Canada) on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My sister and I spent an amazing week at The Grand Sirenis ( Feb 28-March 7). The resort is beautiful! A bit of walking to get around but there's also shuttles to taxi you back to your room after a few too many margaritas :) the rooms were well appointed and the jungle surroundings amazing. The beach club is really nice , good drinks and food. Take a walk around La Cruz if you get a chance ,there's lots to see. Food at the hotel is good , we had a la carte twice ( Brazilian and Italian) both were delicious. All in all , the staff make this place , from the super friendly reception staff to housekeeping, all wonderful people. A special shout out to the guys working the pool bar Alejandro, Leo & Miguel :) I would definitely stay there again .

    superb site and very friendly employees, but....

    Reviewed by Jacques D(Montreal, Canada) on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My wife, a friend and I have just spent a week there. The positive aspects are as follows: - Efficient airport shuttle service; - The hotel site is magnificent, even if we were during the dry season (the wetter season, so with tropical greenery, begins in August); nature is still pretty and lives there a multitude of tropical birds with captivating songs; the bougainvilleas and other tropical flowers abound and are maintained to perfection; - The staff is very friendly, smiling, eager and endearing, with one (notable) exception; I will come back to this later; The negative aspects are as follows: - Even if the cleaning staff does an excellent job, the rooms are a little old: sofas and armchairs stained, scratched wooden furniture, complicated shower (to get hot water, you have to run it for a good ten minutes; patience, it will finally arrive!); furniture from the private terrace old and stained; at the "Piscina Adultos", at least one parasol was inoperative (broken lift wiring); at the entrance to our building (number 5), the mosaic pavement of small stones was very damaged; the mosaic of the above-mentioned pool was defective or totally absent in several places; but the outdoor toilets are always clean; - Rates for the spa, massages, etc. are surreal; - The quality of the food is poor, even in theme restaurants; for example, at El Rancho Steakhouse, we had a "T-Bone" with no t-shaped bone in it and that was barely a quarter inch thick... On another evening, the lamb shanks were raw, like roast beef; however, the Mexican evening buffet was good (good tacos); the breakfast buffet of the "Restaurante Italiano" is quite acceptable; the meal of the "Ikebana Japanese Restaurant" (on the evening of April 4) was poor (although it should be noted that it was the young Mexican chef's first evening); - Wine... the house wine, red or white, in addition to being served hot, is awful; be warned! But cava is acceptable. What was very special, however, was the diplomatic ballet that had to be done to get wines from the wine list. First of all, we've never seen it before! We had to ask the waiter, who then referred to a mysterious superior, to bring us a "good" red wine, which we had to pay him in cash, more or less out of sight. We were given a good Casa Madero 3V that was sold to us for $25 US, whereas it normally sells for $369 MXN ($19.35 US). Why all this secrecy? At least we were luckier than other customers, who were simply told that there were no wines other than the house wine... - But this atmosphere of secrecy, a little gloomy, did not stop there! To go to a theme restaurant, it is necessary to book, which is normal. What was less so was that the concierge told us that our preferred time of reservation was unfortunately already full and that we had to be satisfied with a reservation at, say, 9 p.m., which we found a little late. Except that at the time we wanted to start, we noticed that the theme restaurant was often half empty. So we understood that to have the desired time, it was necessary to pay a small bribe to all these guys... Given that we had already paid our tour operator Air Transat for everything it needed for this trip, this approach proved to be deeply detestable. - One last aspect that, without being negative, must be highlighted: it is not possible to reach the beach on foot. You have to cross a kind of highway to get there and the distance to travel under the hot Mexican sun is too long. It is absolutely necessary to use the hotel's shuttle service, a little rustic but efficient. The hotel's beach club is pleasant, but it is difficult to swim there and the beach is not very large; however, the small restaurant there serves very good "cevice" and the cocktails are excellent. Finally, one employee deserves a little time to think about it: she is the concierge Lilia, who worked in Building 5 on the morning of April 5: this is the exchange I had with her: - Me: Hola! How are you? - Lilia: Hola! Good. - Me: Can you tell me what time the shuttle leaves for the airport tomorrow morning? - Lilia: I don't know. Ask your travel agent. - Me: … - Lilia: ... - Me: Can you get this information for me, please? - Lilia: What is the name of your travel agency? - Me: Air Transat. - Lilia: So contact Air Transat! I finally got the information from the reception quickly. I remind you that Lilia is a "concierge": it was written on her badge. I do not know if it is worth mentioning that in addition to his total uselessness, this person never smiles and is perfectly unpleasant. Other customers told me that they had complicated and inefficient exchanges with her, such as totally failed restaurant reservations, etc. Great Sirenis: I'm telling you: this employee should be your nightmare! In conclusion, this stay made it possible to soften the end of our Quebec winter in a warmer place, but to which we will not return.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Laid Back and a Little Different

    Reviewed by Dadejole(St. Charles, Illinois) on Apr 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We aren't fans of huge all-inclusives with thirty-something bro's partying all night long so this looked like a great choice. It is out of the way, located up in the hills and not on the beach (there is a beach club and a regular shuttle to take you there). The grounds are beautiful, well-maintained and very spread out. The view is fabulous. However, it is extremely hilly and walking the property to do simple things like going to eat could be a challenge for someone in not-so-great shape. (If walking the property is not enough, there is a challenging hiking trail that goes up a hill to a great view overlooking the water.) There are frequent shuttles to take you around the property, but due to the hilliness of the property, even they can't drop you off right at your destination, so someone with a walking disability might want to pass on this hotel. The rooms are well-appointed, fairly spacious and clean and most have good views from their balconies. There are a number of pools to choose from and all feature bar and restaurant service. The "adults only" pool at the top of the property seems to be the most popular (though never truly crowded), perhaps because unlike the other pools, the guest rooms are right next door. (Speaking of "adults only" areas, there were very few children at the property during our stay so the fact that kids are around should not be a deterrent.) The beach club is charming. It is very swimmable and most afternoons windsurfers launch from there, which is neat to watch. There are shaded chairs as well as some with no cover. They have a full bar and a lunch menu, served either at your chair or at the bar or at a table. The beach club is right next door to the marina and the Sunday market along the marina is not to be missed. You can buy a host of Mexican items and foods, listen to musicians and watch the fishermen bring in their daily catch. We found the staff to be very friendly, professional and responsive in every aspect of the property, from the restaurant staff to the front desk, shuttle drivers and concierge. If we have any complaint, it is with the food. It wasn't awful, and I have had worse at some of the big name all-inclusive chains. Indeed the breakfasts are wonderful - made to order omelettes and eggs, pancakes, french toast, cereal, yoghurt as well as meats and cheeses and a variety of breads - clearly the best meal of the day. Even the lunches at the pool or beach bars were pretty good notwithstanding the limited menu. However, the dinners left a lot to be desired. The buffet had way too many choices, perhaps trying to cater to the very diverse customer base, but nothing was prepared that well, and the food quality didn't improve as it sat out under lukewarm heatlamps. There were some made to order options in the buffet dining room, and I would definitely suggest them over the buffet items. The theme restaurants were a little better (especially the Japanese) but when we were there only one was open each night (perhaps because the hotel was only half-full) and in a week we could only go to a theme restaurant three times and it had to be reserved in advance (preferably soon after arrival). The liquor selection was fairly limited and not top-shelf. If you like white wines, do yourself a favor and bring a few bottles with you because the Argentinian Savignon Blanc they serve is gasoline and it is the only white they have other than an OK prosecco. If you like beer, get used to Dos Equis (though one of the bars does offer both amber and lager) because that is your only choice. If we had it to do over, we would probably return, but we might spend a little more time off property, especially for dinner, and we'd definitely bring our own wine. And better walking shoes.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Relax vacation

    Reviewed by Ginette M() on Apr 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Very beautiful property with relaxing pools. Nice views. Johann was very kind and helpful. The staff are very nice! The beach club is very relaxing with gorgeous mountain views!!!! Lots of pretty birds and hiking trails .

    WORST SERVICE IN MEXICO

    Reviewed by Jorgelozanoh() on Mar 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We came to the Grand Sirenis Matlali for a 4 day vacation and had the worst experience service-wise. Starting from the fact we had No hot water on the shower for the first two days, check-in experience was terrible, the lady on the front desk had the worst attitude. Not to mention internal transport. Hotel property is huge and you depend on vans that take half an hour to get to you. Don’t try calling the front desk, no one will answer. We had our hopes on the food and drinks, huge disappointment and the waiters who are supposed to be friendly make you feel like you’re begging for a beer. Don’t try calling for room service or getting any type of food after 10:30 PM, eventhough it’s supposed to be an all-inclusive there’s literally NO FOOD on the hotel after-hours. You can’t even purchase it. Had to end up eading late night at a nearby convenience store. If you’re coming here to rest, look elsewhere. Our vacation was nothing but a hassle.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX