Villas Vallarta by Canto Del Sol

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    G

    Great deal for the money!

    Reviewed by Glenn Wilson on Mar 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Stayed here many times. Great staff, rooms are 3 star but clean and comfortable. You get the best of both worlds. Pool is usually quiet and has a bar if you want to relax but if you want more action you have access to the facilities at the upscale Canto del Sol 50 yards away with its pool, beach and restaurants. Only complaint this time was Westjet rep put us in a taxi back to airport and driver said he didn't get a voucher from her and wanted to be paid. By the time it got straightened out my wife and I could not get seats together.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    d

    they also push time shares, so all in all I would choose another resort to stay at.

    Reviewed by debra on Feb 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I like the staff, but had to argue to get water as they make you buy it at this resort. excuse me but everyone should be supplied water!!! i will try to find a hotel that gives you water. they finally did but said only two small bottles a day for two people. I do not want to go t a place where you get steressed out...its suppose to be a holiday and stress free.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    s

    We always enjoy our stay

    Reviewed by scarpino on Dec 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I enjoy always my stay at the Villas,staff is great service also my stay always is awesome thank you Villas Vallarta see u in January again..................

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 359 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great stay for the money

    Reviewed by HadRick() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The wife and I booked a week through Westjet travel so we had complete access to Canto Del Sol as well. Although we spent the majority of our time at the beach and around Canto, if we needed a break or just wanted quiet we would retreat to the Villas. The pool at Villas was always quiet with an open bar as well. For breakfast there was traditional Mexican fare or bacon& eggs, fresh fruit, or omelettes made to order. This is an older hotel but clean with a friendly staff. We would definitely stay there again.

    No Smoking Allowed - Anywhere! Yea! Free Wi-Fi

    Reviewed by Etortanc(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I booked this as a last minute trip from Air Canada Vacations. I traveled alone had had to pay a single supplement. It is still a good deal. Air Canada was excellent with lots of leg room on the 767. It took 2 hours clear through the Puerto Vallarta terminal. The baggage was waiting for me when I got to the baggage place but then there was a long line at the customs clearance. I have been to Puerto Vallarta before and knew that the people waiting outside customs with the signs there for the various hotels were timeshare scams but they still managed to talk me into getting briefed on how to catch my bus to the hotel. Once I realized I was with the timeshare guys and moved on outside, I found in the Air Canada guy (Jerry) with his red shirt and he gave me a coupon to give the taxi driver to take me to my hotel. That went very smoothly. Jerry met me the next day and gave me my coupon for the trip back to the airport. He is an excellent representative. Check in at the hotel was fast and easy. The fellow at the counter was helpful and friendly. The door porter carried my bags to the room for me and explained where the restaurant was. The room is a bit larger than most hotel rooms I have been in. It is clean and the AC Works. The shower and has one of those dinner plate sized shower heads in the ceiling and there is lots of hot water with good pressure. The hotels supplys shampoo, hair conditioner, and soap. There are lots of towels and wash cloths. It has a safe (free), hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The TV gets two English channels, NBC and Fox News. No fridge. Two bottles of water. There are free re-fill stations around both hotels. The bed is comfortable with lots of pillows. Canto del Sol owns two properties. I’m in the Villas Vallarta, what I would call a good 3-star hotel. It has a good restaurant, a small swimming pool with a bar. Across the street is a larger four-star resort hotel, the Plaza Vallarta, with all the bells and whistles. If you want all the activities, the other hotel would be a better choice. If you want a quiet place the Villas is excellent. The front lobbies are about 2 minutes apart, so It is easy to use both. I have been eating at the Plaza and getting drinks to take to my room at the Villas pool bar. I came down here to work. I am spending 12 hours a day in my room, studying legal files and writing a report. So my needs are simple. I met a computer programmer at breakfast who commented that he was here to work too, and found it easy to get a lot done without distractions. Free wi-fi in the room! I get 5 bars from this hotel and 2 bars from the sister hotel across the street. It is very fast, too. I watched some You-Tube on my laptop. My room does not have a desk. I needed a place to set up my computer and papers. I asked at the front desk and they said they would look around for a table. An hour later there was a knock on the door and I had a table. Every hotel staff person I have met has shown quiet competence. Probably because of good management and leadership. I have tipped a few times (like to the fellow who brought me the table). He was not expecting a tip and was very pleased to get one. For breakfast, I went next door to the Plaza Vallarta. They had an omelet station which I took advantage of and followed that up with cottage cheese with fresh fruit and yogurt. I left with my 20 oz travel mug full of coffee (choice of milk, cream or Coffee Mate for the coffee.). Service and food were excellent. Check in gave me 3 coupons for a la carte meals. Guest Services at the Plaza then traded the coupons for reservation at the restaurants. I booked a sitting for each second day. Service the 3 restaurants (Mexican, Italian and steak) was excellent. Food was good, not outstanding. The meat lasagna was very good and the T-bone steak at the Mexican was quite good. I was there to work, so never got in the ocean or pool. Pools looked good, complete with a swim-up bar at the Plaza. I noticed two things on the pool deck. NO Smoking signs and a sign asking guests not to reserve lounge chairs. There were lots of chairs available, and a stack more in reserve. From what I can see there are very few smokers here. In fact, I have not seen a single one. I mentioned this to a staff member and he said it is a non-smoking hotel. Smokers go to other hotels. The day I left I saw my first smoker. She was outside the hotel at an ashtray on the sidewalk. The hotel is immaculately clean and well groomed. Non-smoking guests probably make their job easier. Out the front door, turn left for a pharmacy about 100 feet away. Or turn right 100 feet for a liquor store. A big Office Depot is one block away. I could have booked the Plaza for about $100 (for the week) more. For most people, this would be a good idea. But I came down here to work, hidden away in a room. For that, the Villas is perfect.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great time. Amazing stay

    Reviewed by NJ R() on Mar 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My partner and I just got back from a week at the Villas. We booked a last minute trip all inclusive trip and absolutely loved every second of our stay. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. checking in and checking out was a breeze! We had full access to Canto next door but when it got busy and a bit overwhelming we could retreat to Villas which was defiantly more low-key and quiet. The pool was never full, there was tons of lounge chairs and although the bar only opens at noon (opens at 10 am at Canto) you never had to wait any time to get a drink. Overall we loved our stay and plan on returning next year!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    A perfect week in at the Villas

    Reviewed by RobandLaura_10(Ajax, Canada) on Mar 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We returned from the Villas Vallarta on March 12 after a 1 week stay that we booked rather last minute. We had been at the Canto del Sol, the sister hotel across the street last year and loved it. Our all inclusive package at the Villas included full access to the Canto including a la carte restaurants, buffet, pool, beach, etc. We were delighted with the Villas. Our room was a studio that had a king size bed, a balcony and kitchenette with fridge, microwave and 2 burner stove top. The pool was lovely and quiet, the bar is literally 4 steps from the pool and there were always loungers available. The staff is very friendly and helpful and this resort is pristinely clean. There is a buffet breakfast included at the Canto that has a great variety, including custom made omelettes. We had the opportunity to talk to many people there during our week and many of them were there for long stays (3 months) and did not use the all inclusive feature. There are many restaurants and grocery stores nearby so eat in or eat out options are available. The hotel is about at 30 minute walk to the Malecon and the Walmart (both accessible by local bus if you prefer) and there is even a Costco a short distance away. It is about a 15 minute ride from the airport. The beach is lovely...water is rough on the Pacific so we did our swimming in the pool. If you are going to eat at an a la carte, do not miss the Surf and Turf. We had an amazing steak dinner right by the beach at sunset...just incredible. Would I return to the Villas? Absolutely!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Perfect place to stay for vacation

    Reviewed by KumarPranesh(Prince George, Canada) on Mar 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Room was quite spacious as well dining and bath; Property, in affiliation with Conto del Sol with beach and several restaurants located in front, is huge having attractive structure; located in the down town and shopping area; easy beach access. Food services, daily activities, evening programs were excellent. A perfect place to have a great vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX